Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2

Multnomah Books Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2

Some dreams take awhile before they come true. Best friends Hope and Laurie never made it to Hawaii during their college years. When they're about to turn forty, the islands still beckon, and off they go, with an unexpected stowaway on board. A little pineapple, a little sunshine, and a surprising little surfing lesson give these two sisterchicks all their crazy hearts could cope with, and more, as they enter the next season of their lives with a splash and a beautiful vision of what God has dreamed up for them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Review 1 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice escape

Date:January 28, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a fun read. I have only read a couple of Sisterchicks books and it's been years since I have read them.
You will be transported to Hawaii and feel like you are there with your BFF. Robin does a great job of painting a picture and taking you there. This book was especially fun to read this winter since it has been so cold in Michigan.
With that being said I find that I struggle with books that lack tension and this book really didn't have any. In my mind I kept thinking something would happen, Laurie would drop a bomb that her marriage wasn't as great as it seemed or something would happen with Hope's stowaway. But that never happened. Sure, they had some struggles but nothing major, it was all a bit too perfect.
However, the growth these women experience in becoming closer to God is a very strong element in this book and truly beautiful by the time the end rolls around.
If you want a nice relaxing read that will warm up your insides on these cold winter days you might want to pick this book up give it a read.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hula, friends, and fun!

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful surprise. I have seen many of Robin Jones Gunn's books, but never picked one up and wasn't sure what to expect. I was laughing, smiling, and thoroughly encouraged by this book!
Coming off of a trip from Hawaii myself, I was excited to read Sisterchicks Do the Hula. Hope and Laurie are introduced to us a college students that somehow lose touch over time and distance. As Hope reminisces and mourns the loss of her friendship - she struggles with the idea of reconnecting again, and ultimately decides against reaching out. But, as Hope shares in the book, "Then as only God, can He surprises me. I think He prompted Laurie to call me, only to prove that He knows me by heart." And thus, begins the reconnection and the friendship that bring Hope and Laurie to the islands.
Using the gorgeous islands as the backdrop to the ladies' adventures, they are brought to their knees as they see God's amazing creation. On one of her first mornings, Hope encounters a wonderful native Hawaiian woman worshiping the Lord in song. She is singing Psalm 104 in Hawaiian as they both relished in Pohuehue.
The book was a sweet reflection on the importance of God given friendships with one another, "Sister Chicks" - but I especially appreciated that the Lord, and Hope's faith are intricately woven into the story as she encourages Laurie with some major life decisions. What a wonderful book to curl up and read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jesinmt
Location:Lakeside, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You know what makes the long grey days of winter in the Rockies better? A book about two friends jetting off to Hawaii. "SisterChicks Do the Hula" , by Robin Jones Gunn was just the answer to those winter blues.
"SisterChicks Do the Hula", follows two lifelong friends, now in their 40's as they search for where they fit as life transitions. One is surprised by an unexpected pregnancy and the other struggles with embracing her natural gift of photography. As these two faith filled women spend time on the island, they find a renewed sense of purpose and faith in a good Father who gives good gifts.
The book is filled with laughter, sincerity and left me longing for a trip to Hawaii! It helped me appreciate the dear friendships I have and look forward to a time when I can meet up and celebrate the joy of friendship with my own bestie.
If you are looking for a light, fun, inspiring read, pick up a copy of "Sisterchicks Do the Hula", or any of the Sisterchicks books by Gunn. You won't be disappointed.
In partnership with the Blogging for Books program I was provided a free copy of Sisterchicks in return for my honest review. I promise, I really did like the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Light Chick-Lit Read

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hope and Laurie have been best friends since college - when they first made plans to travel to Hawaii together. That plan fell through, but now, as they approach their 40th birthdays, they have reconnected and decide that now is the time to do it. While enjoying the beautiful sites the islands have to offer, they also find themselves digging a little deeper into what they've been made for by the One who created such beauty for them to enjoy.
This was the first Sisterchicks book I've read. It was light, it was enjoyable; Hope and Laurie weren't especially deep characters, but that's what I was expecting when I started the book. I loved the idea of two friends turning 40 and taking a trip of a lifetime together to enjoy the trip their way. It didn't quite ring true that Hope would be concerned about the price of a "bargain" sun tanning lotion, versus the "expensive" one, but then order room service over and over again without blinking an eye, but if you suspend some disbelief and just enjoy the trip with them, then the book is a fun read. It certainly made me wish I could take a trip like this!
I give this book 3 stars. It didn't exceed any expectations, but it was a light, easy read. There's a time and a place for such a book, and this was a good time for one for me.
I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah, as part of their Blogging for Books program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this series!

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie in WA
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series was so good. Loved reading each of them. Will be ordering more as they are published.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun little book.
What I appreciate about Gunn is her ability to look beyond the moments in order to see the grace of God. This particular book is the second sisterchick novel I've read. They are very light hearted, easy going, and even a tad cheesy. Reading this book will feel like sitting around the dinner table hearing first hand about a trip one of your friends just enjoyed.
This particular book centered on grace. Yes, in fiction grace is often expressed in strange ways and that isn't very helpful...but, in the moments where Gunn wrote about grace in real ways, those were moments that made me reflect on the grace of God in my OWN life.
I read this book just as the summer was ending. It would make a great summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Libby
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book was cute. There was no romance, no mystery, just girlfriends having a fun vacation but it was entertaining. I did not want to put it down because I was curious to see what happened next. I have not read any of the other Sisterchick books but I will have to find them now!
I really enjoyed reading all of the fun facts about Hawaii! That is a state that is FAR away from where I live (Florida) and I will most likely never get there but who doesn't want to go and have that experience? LOL. In this book there were historical facts as well as fun facts. The Hawaiian language was an added bonus as well. I feel like I learned a little something while reading but it was not forced learning if that makes any sense.
The last few pages of this book have pictures and little tidbits about Robin Gunn's real life friends in Hawaii. That was a super cute personal touch that I DID enjoy a lot.
The cover is cute and a little catchy. The colors are eye catching. This book is written well and is an easy read. The back cover is colorful and eye catching as well. I thought there were a good number of pages, not too many and not too few. All in all, it was a good book!
***This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an open and honest review***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
This review is fromSisterchicks do the Hula.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

book

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
melissa
Location:nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed this book. great story, read while at the beach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing up around many fresh water lakes, I've always wondered what it would be like to visit the ocean somewhere like Hawaii. Hope, a pregnant almost 40 year old tea shop owner, and Laurie, a 40 year old wife of a famous artist, have an adventure visiting Hawaii. From the ocean to the rainforest to the luau, Hope & Laurie find the beauty of God's creation draws them closer to Him. I really loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Ellis
I have read all the sisterchicks books. I enjoyed all of them. This one is my favorite. Read it twice and gave a couple as gifts. A great reminder of His personal love for us,and to flow in His grace as He works out His perfect plan for us. Great stress buster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
No one has mentioned the "Unforced Rhythms of Grace" and that was the best part!! It is now my theme for the upcoming New Year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
I didn't think this one was as good as On the Loose, but that may just be because Hawaii is not my first location choice and I didn't really "click with" a lot of the plot based on that. However, I loved the dynamics between Hope and Laurie, and once again, I loved that I could identify with one Sisterchick. This time, it was creative-but-shy Laurie, who needed Hope to be a midwife and help her birth her artistic baby. As a woman in the process of birthing a novel, this was very special to me. I also enjoyed the concept of leis telling one's story, Laurie's Gidget moment, and of course, all that chocolate! Not my favorite, but worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2007
This is the first "Sister Chicks" book I read. I purchased on for myself and one for my friend right before our birthdays. This story is about two college friends who due to their busy lives drift apart. However by divine appointment they are reunited and the results are hilarious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kristen
To me, this Sisterchick book was a lot better than the first one. I especially liked how Hope and Laurie went to Hawaii when Hope was pregnant. I also liked how Robin Jones Gunn related a little bit of it to the 1st book. It was a great book and great for vacation time. It gets you in the mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Wren
I think this is my favorite Sisterchick novel thus far. I love the idea of Hope being pregnant; it adds a wonderful dimension to the story. I love all of the Hawaiian touches, and the spiritual themes were beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2004
Customer Avatar
Sue
I really loved this book. Living in Hawaii, I was anxious to see how Ms. Gunn saw our paradise. I absolutely loved how she wove local traditions & customs into a light hearted story for today. I could also tell that the author really has been here because her directions were correct. It's a great book to read if your planning a trip to our island or getting ready to leave. I also was touched by the story itself and it has inspired me to make some of my own dreams come true!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2004
Customer Avatar
Maggie
This book was wonderful! Made me laugh a lot and cry at the end (a good cry). Also made me think a lot about my priorities and dreams. It was a quick, fun read. I haven't read the first one, but look forward to receiving it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sisterchicks Do the Hula!, Sisterchicks Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Robyn
I loved the first book but thought that this one was kind of slow...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.