Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint

FaithWords I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint

Are you speaking defeat into your future by talking negatively? Before you utter another word, reach for this book! Assuring you that positive verbalization can foster a victorious attitude, Joel Osteen offers 31 daily "declarations" affirming God's providence in family matters, health, decision making, and more. Transform your future by blessing it - one day at a time! Largeprint edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Review 1 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrzE
Location:Kingstree, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book on October 1, 2013. I have found that each day's declaration has matched my need for the day. I am really feeling empowered. I am on day 23, and I declare that I will read it daily & will start over at day 1 on November 1, 2013. I would reccommend this book to every believer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
terry
Location:U.S.Virgin Islands
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reading for each day helps me through the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
anne
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book,,, love his way of explaining and teaching in his writing. Makes you think the time we waste time on believing lies and start declaring and believing what God has great plans for oneself
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawnb
Location:Belhaven, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boyfriend's mother is a huge fan of Joel Osteen. I bought this book for her and she loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dyheema
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about this text! it was exactly what I was looking for!! motivating... inspiring!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unbiblical and unhelpful

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
James Rouse
Location:Auckland, NZ
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Joel Osteen's book, "I Declare" is sorely based on an unbiblical teaching that is seeping into the church today - the Word of Faith teaching.
Word of Faith (often called "blab it and grab it") tends to have 3 main tenants: Healing, Prosperity, and Positive Confession.(The "Word of Faith" teaching is closely related to the "Prosperity Gospel", though they aren't the same thing.)
This book, "I Declare" is based most squarely to Positive Confession. Positive Confession states that because God created the universe simply by speaking it into existence, therefore that must mean humans are also endowed with the ability (power) to speak things into existence. You need money? Speak it into existence. You need better health? Speak it into existence.
This is plainly unbiblical and an obvious non-sequitar. Now, God clearly creates the universe in Genesis 1, and His creation is preceded by His speaking ("let there be light"). But just because God has the power to create things by any means He chooses (which would include by the mere utterance of a word) that doesn't mean that humans have that same power. God is omnipotent. Does that mean humans are? God is omniscient. Do you know everything there is to know? God is omnipresent. Are you present everywhere?
Thus, you see, by making a "Positive Confession" (by reciting a promise of scripture, for example) this generates the power which enables those things to come into fruition. Thus, your words have "power", analogous to the same creative power as God in Genesis 1. You are a "little god". You want something? Speak it into being.
Friends, only God has the power to speak things into existence.
Don't waste your time with this unbiblical book. Far better off reading Mere Chrisitanity or The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis, or Desiring God or Don't Waste Your Life by John Piper, or the Reason for God by Timothy Keller.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything you need

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debra Brown
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy, quick, accessible, and the book's content was great! Everyday I looked forward to reading this book. And the chapters were not long at all so it's great if you are a fast or slow reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book was shipped promptly & in good condition

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
AndreaB
Location:TEXAS y'all
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wold highly recommend this book as a quick meditative way to start your day in a positive perspective.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Revitalize your faith.

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lorena
Location:Mobile, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for tha christian aproach to the decrets that new age studies use. This book show me that the positive thinking that some new age groups chares is not really"new age", because those thoughts are already in the Bible. I love went I find this kind of discovers. Is the oportunity to look for the common porpuse and not for the differences.
I love it, I love it, I love it.
This kind of declarations change my life, again. Thanks God. Thanks, Joel Osteen.
Sorry for my english, I still learning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Promises from God - Life Impacting

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bird
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Years ago my husband and I began declaring the proclamations from God's word that Joel had authored in his book, "Your Best Life Now". Every morning we declared God's word over our lives and we began to see things change. We did it for about three years and we have changed from the inside out, and some amazing things happened in other areas of our lives! With, "I Declare" Joel has the promises penned in a 31 day format. It isn't so much about a "religious routine" but more about affirming what God says about us and who we are in Him!!! This is not a typical book but a tool handed down from heaven to help us get it! Get who we are and what He has for us! Amen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for everything you might be going through

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cris
Location:Foxboro, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book with the daily affirmations and stories is especially good at creating a positive perspective no matter what you're going through or addressing in your life. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
H Skinner
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things I like about the book is that it does address trials. He specifically mentions Joseph and how when Joseph went through his trial, he knew the current circumstance was not what God intended to be the final destiny. He states we need to realize even though we can't see the manifestation of our dreams, it does not mean God is not working in the unseen realm on our behalf. God will turn everything for our good. To me, that means God will use the lessons from the trails to help us grow (just like He did Joseph). This book has been a tremendous blessing for me and I've bought several to give as gifts. For me it has been the encouragement to not let go of the promises that God has given to me specifically but to trust that God is faithful to fulfill everything He has planned for my life. I've already told one friend and she was able to get hold of what God was trying to tell her about not look at the circumstance but looking toward the promise. Fortunately my order came in yesterday so I will be able to give her a copy tomorrow. There is life and death in the power of the tongue. It's your choice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Uplifting

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a very simple book with some simple saying to say when you are having a bad day. It is divided into 31 sections.
Overall this book was good. I did like the uplifting feel of the book. If you are feeling discouraged or sluggish in your day to day life, this book will be a great help to you. I have read most of Joel Osteen’s books and this book is just as good as the others. If you have not read any of his others this a great book to start with. He is a preacher that likes to stay positive and this book reflects his style.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought the words were all uplifting. I will be keeping this book on my shelf for those days when I need an extra boost of encouragement from the Lord! This would make a great book for anyone going through a difficult time.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Best
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was a great motivational book. reat ideas on speking positive about yourself & what you wish to accomplish in life. I continue to love reading Joel Osteen's books and do recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Declare: 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life , Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is phenomenal!

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teachable
Location:Thomaston GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard about this book when Pastor Osteen was a guest on the Oprah network. After Oprah read the first day declaration, I could not wait to get it. I have read some excerpts online and I was in tears, joyful tears. The book gives hope . It does not overlook trials or tribulations nor does it give false hope. Pastor Osteen sets you up to receive the greatness of God's favor. I ordered the book last night and I am already believing God to do great things for me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.