Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GT Media No Place Like Home, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

GT Media No Place Like Home, DVD

When an alien crash-lands on Earth, two teen siblings must work together to get him safely back home! Fleeing a bumbling deputy and a government agent, they try to understand what the visitor wants---but it's a Navajo friend who discovers his true secret. An out-of-this-world family adventure! Stars Judge Reinhold, Richard Moll, and Joanna Pacula. 88 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Place Like Home, DVD
Review 1 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyed the movie

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dibble
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a good family movie. i t shared good values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features w/one exception.

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Majea
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved the story of No Place Like Home But as a Children's Church Leader, I was very disappointed. There were two places in the story that had cursing so I could not show the movie to the children nor can I show it at church. I always trust the rating when it says Dove Approved, but in this instance I can't use the DVD. It is a good thing that I preview every movie I show to the children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Had potential, good actors, but poor plot& writing

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mert
Location:Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The movie had some potential at first and does have some good actors. However the plot goes south quickly and the writing just isn't there. No spiritual value either.
Sorry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

didnt realise the alien content when i purchased

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peter Lim
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
didnt realise alien content when i purchased dvd. I didnt read 'blurb' correctly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Madden
I purchased this video for "family time". Since we do not have cable in our home, we like to watch movies together from time to time. The main reason I purchased this was the price. Sometimes, though, you do get what you pay for! The lack of respect between the older sister and brother bothered me; the lack of parental presence and adult-worthy adults bothered me; the language that was used by Richard Moll and other adults was both unnecessary and offensive; there were other issues within the movie that crossed over our Christian principles as well. The plot had some merit and could have been better developed, but it appeared thrown together and well-known names were what drove the sale of the movie along with the price.Over-all, I would not recommend this movie.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Mikie Henderson
I was disappointed and offended by this movie. First, the "alien" shows up naked, and a teenage girl is in a few "passionate kisses" with the alien. Totally inappropriate. I was NOT expecting to get this from a "Christian Book Store".
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cris Young
I am truly a Sci-Fi fan and love it when a family Scai-Fi movie is made. No ugly aliens that are out to destroy the earth in this film. Only wholesome family entertainment.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Samuel Snider
I have only seen the first half but my kids loved it form the 7yr old to the 15 yr. That is an accomplishment in my book as they are in totally different realms when it comes to movies I would definetely recommend this as a family movie
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Place Like Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
LYDIA
Purchased this item simply by the title and price. Didn't read the description. Beside the fact that this movie isn't realistic the acting of the deputy is pathetic and other clips come across to be very poorly done-FAKE. Children (10-12)younger teens may enjoy this movie over all. One part though maybe parent discretion because the alien comes across as being naked though he stands behind a fallen tree. To me it's not worth watching.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.