Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black

Larger print—easy on the eyes!

The ESV Study Bible includes more than 20,000 notes, written specifically for the ESV Study Bible. These notes focus especially on understanding the meaning of the text, giving answers to frequently raised questions, and providing theological, historical, and archaeological background—all for the purpose of helping readers to understand the Bible in a deeper way.

The ESV Study Bible also provides a wealth of additional resources. Thus the introductions to each book include essential information about the author, date, and place of writing; an extensive chart of key themes; a summary of how the book fits in with the rest of the biblical storyline; a description of literary features; an outline of the book; and a large full-color map showing the setting of the book.

Another unique feature is the inclusion of over 50 helpful articles on topics such as the authority and truthfulness of the Bible, reading the Bible for application, the Bible in worship and prayer, the reliability of the biblical manuscripts, the relationship between archaeology and the Bible, an overview of biblical theology, and many more.

Other key resources include a system of 80,000 cross references and a concordance (which together facilitate easy location of important words, passages, and biblical themes). In addition, over 200 color charts, located throughout the Bible, provide clear, concise presentations of essential information.

Free—includes free access to the ESV Online Study Bible

Features
  • Readable single-column Bible text in larger 10.6-point type; double-column notes in 8.55-point type
  • Section summaries are highlighted for easy location throughout the notes. Summaries provide an overview of each main section and correspond to the outline shown in the introduction for each book.
  • Over 200 full-color maps printed throughout make events and places in the Bible come to life.
  • Over 25,000 notes focus especially on understanding the Bible text and providing answers to frequently raised issues. Words from the Bible text are printed in bold for easy reference.
  • Over 80,000 cross-references provide easy access to key words, passages, and themes throughout the Bible.
  • Numerous diagrams bring fresh understanding to key places and events in the Bible, based on the best, most recent historical and archaeological research.
  • Over 200 charts provide concise, "at a glance" summaries of important themes and teaching.
  • Free ESV Online Study Bible available with purchase
  • Finest quality European Bible paper
  • Durable Smyth-sewn binding
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record pages
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 11.50" X 8.50" X 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 3093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Review 1 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Study Bible

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to see why this was rated the number one Bible in 2009. I like everything about it except that it doesn't have thumb reference tabs for the books. This was resolved by installing separately purchased Bible tabs, also bought from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I ordered this bible, I did not realize it was so large and heavy. I was looking for a study bible that I could use both at home and take to church. This bible is cumbersome and weighs too much to use daily for bible reading and to take to church. The product is excellent, but it does not meet my need.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A well-made Bible

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Hilo, HI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The large print study Bible is larger than I thought. It's definitely not a Bible to carry around with you on trips or even to church...it's just too big and heavy. But its size not withstanding, this Bible is a jewel and blessing to the people of God.
It's an incredible study aid for the serious Bible student or just someone who wants to understand the Word of God in a better way. There's so much to discover with a Bible of this kind. A Bible that offers such incredible scholarship.
The notes are so helpful in understanding passages that are not very easy to understand. The historical content and color maps are a joy to look at and study.
I would highly recommend this study Bible to anyone seking to know God better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bit heavy for daily use but excellent for study.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
sccminister
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is larger (bulky) than expected but it has a great readability and references, notes, etc. Really enjoy it for study and reading at my desk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Study Bible is deeply Exhaustive

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Godwin
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my best study bibles. I have almost ALL the study bibles in the market but I deeply appreciate the ESV Study Bible. This ESV study bible ranks first amongst others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
faith seeker
Location:Hermosa, SD
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is without a doubt the most fantastic bible I've ever read. Easy to read and understand with very well written study helps. The only thing I didn't like was it is not a red letter edition and they have yet to have a cover for this size bible just a brief case. If you want a complete study bible for college or theology or just a plain old bible study this is it and well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ettie
Location:Milledgeville, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Study Bible has excellent introductions to each book of the Bible and footnotes as well as column references. The explications are concise, clear and help to illuminate the verses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family heirloom quality

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot praise this bible enough, it has great notes and is very easy to read. I use this for a bible study course and it provides more information than any other study bible I have used. The quality is phenomenal, the book lays flat at ANY chapter which is very handy doing homework, the print is just the right size and I like the fact that it is single column, makes reading a lot easier. This is a must have for any serious student of the Lord's word.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Purchase!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
baroque1685
My husband wanted to update his Bible of 20 yrs; an RSV. He only made the request that it be larger print, black, and Jesus words in red letter. This Bible met all expectations with regard to appearance and especially the "extras" like the study notes, book introductions, charts and maps. The one feature we were not able to get was the red letter print, so that was a bit disappointing. Overall, we are very happy with the ESV. The large print makes our Bible reading much easier and the fact that it is the Study version makes it more enlightening. We would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

i am looking forward to an exciting in depth study

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
petra 84
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i am ciompletely satisfied with the infformation within but the large print i needed makes it too heavy. On a humerous note my daughter informed me that she new that an appropriate 89th birthday gift would be a cart to enable me to carry my bible to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful bible

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich from So Calif
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It meets or exceeds all my expectations. The print is a very comfortable size (especially the notes), the binding is perfect and all the study extras make this the one I go to for most of my questions. As others have mentioned it IS very large and most people will probably not want to carry it to church. So far I do, but I am looking for something close in content, but smaller in size, for that (without sacrificing print size). Unfortunately, the "personal size" version uses a much smaller print. I do want to point out that this is not huge print, it is just right. The bible is so big because there is so much extra in it. And given that it is for studying it's nice that the notes are readable. Good job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Large print is a great help.

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pat E
Location:NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The large print format is a great help as my husband gets older. It is disappointing that the store does not carry a bible cover to fit this very large book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful bible, however, it is very large!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very happy with my ESV Large print bible, but if I had know how large the actual book was I would not have ordered it. The study notes are fantastic and the scripture print in perfect but the bible is huge!! My husband says that he is going to buy me a dolly so that I can take my bible to church!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Illinois Christian
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large and heavy - but great print size - just have to find a carry case this size which is difficult because it is bigger than most bibles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an outstanding Study Bible

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brother Bob
Location:Thomasville, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a King James Version man, but the ESV Study Bible is a word for word translation of the King James, translating English Words no longer in use, and correcting the Greek meaning where needed. I use this Bible for study, and preparation of Bible Lessons. It has helped me considerably. I use the King James in Church, but I feel my studying with the ESV has given me a much clearer understanding of the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful study Bible

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
sandrarose
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I love this Bible! It's large, and not for carrying around with you. I have a small version for that. It has many great features and helps in it. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awfully big !

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arnie
Location:MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wish I had gotten the standard print size. The larger print isn't that large, but the bible rivals Noah's ark in size!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
dmcghee920
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Bible is well-made and easy to understand. The bible study is comprehensive. The large print is readable for those with vision problems. The only negative is the weight, which is like saying the bible has too much information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the bible was to big (physical size) & cover unrav

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
gary
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thecover began to unravel at the uper left corner. I had put super glue on it to keep it together. When I noticed the other cover corners were not real secure I returned the big bible and reordered a regural size bible. I am extremely pleased with the ESV Study Bible. I have used the ESV veersion almost since it was first published. I now have the study Bible and absolutely believe it is the best study bible I've ever seen!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was more than expected

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jim Cantrell
Location:Okla.
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible exceeded all expectations. Excellent leather quality. The large print is easy to read. The price was affordable. Should have bought several while they were marked down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>