Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design

Larger print—easy on the eyes!

The ESV Study Bible includes more than 20,000 notes, written specifically for the ESV Study Bible. These notes focus especially on understanding the meaning of the text, giving answers to frequently raised questions, and providing theological, historical, and archaeological background—all for the purpose of helping readers to understand the Bible in a deeper way.

The ESV Study Bible also provides a wealth of additional resources. Thus the introductions to each book include essential information about the author, date, and place of writing; an extensive chart of key themes; a summary of how the book fits in with the rest of the biblical storyline; a description of literary features; an outline of the book; and a large full-color map showing the setting of the book.

Another unique feature is the inclusion of over 50 helpful articles on topics such as the authority and truthfulness of the Bible, reading the Bible for application, the Bible in worship and prayer, the reliability of the biblical manuscripts, the relationship between archaeology and the Bible, an overview of biblical theology, and many more.

Other key resources include a system of 80,000 cross references and a concordance (which together facilitate easy location of important words, passages, and biblical themes). In addition, over 200 color charts, located throughout the Bible, provide clear, concise presentations of essential information.

Free—includes free access to the ESV Online Study Bible

Features
  • Readable single-column Bible text in larger 10.6-point type; double-column notes in 8.55-point type
  • Section summaries are highlighted for easy location throughout the notes. Summaries provide an overview of each main section and correspond to the outline shown in the introduction for each book.
  • Over 200 full-color maps printed throughout make events and places in the Bible come to life.
  • Over 25,000 notes focus especially on understanding the Bible text and providing answers to frequently raised issues. Words from the Bible text are printed in bold for easy reference.
  • Over 80,000 cross-references provide easy access to key words, passages, and themes throughout the Bible.
  • Numerous diagrams bring fresh understanding to key places and events in the Bible, based on the best, most recent historical and archaeological research.
  • Over 200 charts provide concise, "at a glance" summaries of important themes and teaching.
  • Free ESV Online Study Bible available with purchase
  • Finest quality European Bible paper
  • Durable Smyth-sewn binding
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record pages
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Review 1 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleased with the quality. I use it in my Seminary classes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for in a study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love print size, thumb index red letters!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
naplescarolyn
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So many great features on this Bible. Great size to carry to church or Bible study and with the larger print, thumb index and red letters, this Bible has it all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read.

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Millington, Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach an adult sunday school class of senior citizens, the large print is a real asset.The study notes make text much more understandable. I use my ESV study bible daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superlative Bible

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Douglas,GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the larger print ESV Study Bible and I must say that it is an extremely LARGE Bible. This is more of a home or desk bible because it extremely large and weighty bible to carry. The larger print has made it easier for my tired old eyes to read. All in all this is a well made bible that should last for many years. This one of the most feature rich bible that is currently on the market. All the provided explanations and additional information makes it easier to read and study the bible and all that information is in the bible. You should not have to purchase any further books to understand the bible. This has become my number one bible to use and I have many others to choose from. All in all Crossway has a winner.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Book and excellent Study Bible!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Until He Comes
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted a red-letter edition in a study Bible, but the ESV doesn't have that yet (at least as far as I could find). So, I read the reviews on this study Bible, as well as the details about it, and decided to buy it. I will admit that it is a monster of a Bible! My family even poked fun of me a bit. But, it's easy to read the words not only in the scripture portion, but in the helps, too.
I plan on using it at home as an addition to my other Bible resources for preparing my lessons that I teach. Plus, I told my kids and their spouses that it will be passed down to one of their kids since it is such a beautiful book. I plan on copying to it some of the notes I've taken through the years from my other Bibles. That will make it even more special to my grandchildren.
The study helps are fantastic! Very thorough, interesting, helpful, etc. The ESV reads very similarly to the NIV84, but is apparently even more true to the original language than most other versions.
The ONLY reason I gave it 4 stars was due to the immense size of this Bible and the fact that it is not red-letter. Otherwise, if you don't mind a large Bible that you don't plan on toting around, this is an excellent buy!! It has the softest cover on any Bible I've ever had! It is a beautiful Book, both inside and out!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
James S
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use as a home study Bible for our family. The large print is great to work from even if you don't us reading glasses! Great notes and commentary and the cover / binding are beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doc EG Graham
Location:Jamaica
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very large Bible, bigger than I thought it would be, maybe too large in fact. I bought it for one of my elders, and he seems to like it. Overall not bad at all. The quality is really good, it's just that it's too big for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The ESV Bible is just great.

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
CARIAD
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was somewhat surprised by the elegant edition of the ESV Bible. It is beautiful and I can hardly wait to start reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yellowstone
Location:WAshington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great study bible for those of us to hate to wear glasses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Orange, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only found two down sides to this Bible. 1. I miss the Red Letters.
2. I really miss the Capitalized pronouns which refer to God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible is BIG & full of exciting stuff

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carl
Location:Buford, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the Walnut Frame because it had the largest font. I couldn't wait to get it. When it arrived, it did not disappoint. Its BIG. Its full of pictures, maps, charts, history, timelines, interesting articles and more. It comes with a one piece box that opens up like a book. This box comes in handy on trips because it helps support this big bible while you read and helps protect it as well.
The Walnut Frame Study Bible is not a real carry around bible. It is a BIG bad real study bible. The book introductions are long and comprehensive. The outlines are detailed. Its a bible to be read while sitting at the table, or for the end table beside daddy's big chair.
I read it a little at a time. Using it to help with my studies or to help with my daily bible reading. At this rate it'll take me years to finish it and the Spirit and I are enjoying it. When I first got this bible I skimmed through it, looking at all the features. It was so exciting. There is so much to look forward to in the ESV Study Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is an EXCELLENT resource in every way.

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dell
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
My review overall is EXCELLENT. However, because it is large print, it is large and somewhat awkward to handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible was what I had been looking for.

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gene
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible that I purchased had the giant print which is very beneficial for the individual who has decreased vision. I love the ESV version which has references that most do not have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
pnut
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a little on the heavy side and I'm not sure the binding and civer will hold up over time. However, I like the bigger print and especially the references are readable. I have bifocals but the smaller print Bibles are difficult for me.
I would encourage the Bible publishers to make a large print Bible for children in Grade School in ESV for them to be able to read. There are Bible story books but most children's Bibles are small print. My son is dyslexic and reads a giant print Bible that is NIV--no pictures or charts/graphs etc. The print is very readable to him. (He reads on the 4th grade level).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Study Bible, Larger Print, TruTone, Walnut, Frame Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible is great!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arva
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this translation. The large print is awesome. The study notes are unbelievable. This has become my bible of choice. The only downside, it is a little heavy. With that said the good outweighs the bad. This is an excellent study bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.