Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2

Multnomah Books From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2

Dr. Walter Simmons is a successful man. His books and tapes incorporate psychological principles with New Age spiritualism and are a hit on college campuses. But when his top students join him for an intensive training program, they are actually joining a dangerous cult. Florida Department of Law Enforcement Agent Tim Porter's daughter, Ruby, is lured in like the rest, the heights of a dream plummeting her to the depths of a living nightmare. To what lengths can they go to rescue her from Dr. Simmons' clutches?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Review 1 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
I read the first line: "I hope this knucklehead doesn't get himself killed before we move in." Well with a first line like that what mystery/suspense lover wouldn't keep reading? Not me. I kept reading and found this a page turner. Wished I hadn't lost it in my TBR (to be read) pile for so long.This book is proof you don't have to use a bunch of bad language to write a good thriller.I gotta take more writing lessons from this guy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
This was a very good book, showing how easily the mind can be tricked into accepting false teachings. We need to protect ourselves & especially our vulnerable children/grandchildren. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
I enjoyed this book because although fiction it brings cults to light. There are many out there and it will get worse. I like the characters in this series and I look forward to more books by this author. Enjoy the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Payne
Congratulations, what a terrific book. I could not put it down. I have read the first and second in the Truth Chasers series and I cannot wait to read the third. Thank you and keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth
Another fast, awesome read. The only part that disappoints is that it's over too soon! Mynheir draws his reader into the story so deeply you forget you're NOT there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Melodie
I thought this book was even better than the 1st one. The spiritual warfare aspect reminded me of Peretti's books. Of course, the fact that part of the story took place on Lake Okeechobee made it a part of home, however, where is that hill? Not too many of those around here! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story was fast paced and very, very interesting. The plot was well done and the scenery so vivid I felt like I was part of the group. Scary. Also, the spiritual warfare and truths that were brought into the light within the context of this story were compelling. Not preachy at all. And the way the people who were angry with God came to realize that they needed His help to succeed was done in a very convincing manner and did not feel contrived. I love fiction with such a realistic feel to it. Plus, this author used a variety of points of view, but it was done so seamlessly that I'm impressed with his technique. It wasn't at all obvious that there were multiple points of view. Every one of them seemed necessary to move the story along. Well done!Also, one unique aspect of this riveting novel was the close relations and interdependency between people from different ethnic backgrounds. Byron and Ruby were so close in their relationship that I forgot he was white. In fact, I had to look back and double check because he was so easily accepted into the family once he helped Ruby. But that also made sense because Ruby mentioned growing up in all white schools most of her life, so it wouldn't seem like a big deal to her. At any rate, I was enthralled with this story and the romance between Ruby and Byron as well. I hope they get married someday. Maybe in the next book (if there is one?) Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
This book is awesome!! Another great tale from this terrific author! I look forward to reading his work for years to come!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for From the Belly of the Dragon, The Truth Chasers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Angela
The storyline was muddled in places and I just didn't feel the storyline like I did in the first book. I was emotionally attached to the characters in the first book and I just didn't feel it in this one. The one character that did touch me was Ruby and she wasn't in the book that much. I could relate to her loneliness and frustration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.