Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance

Multnomah Books Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance

Is "Russian roulette" romance failing you? Dr. Don Raunikar, who worked extensively with singles seeking relief from the dark side of dating, shows you a better, biblical way. Choosing God's Best delves into the issues Christian singles face today and offers sound advice for creating deeply satisfying godly relationships.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Review 1 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wellspoken
Location:Omaha, NE
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book which opened my eyes to all the mistakes I made in the past and gave me a new outlook on how I should govern myself in accordance with God's word and relationships. It has been such a great blessing to me I recommended and purchased the book as a gift for every young lady I knew would benefit from it. I highly recommend this book to every single's ministry. It will enlighten each reader to be more committed to their relationship with God and His ability to provide you with the mate He desires for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
sandra
This book is the best. God talked to me while i was reading this book. The book clarified what He(God) had told me before.I thank Him for inspiring the author of this book.May is soul R.I.P. It is a must read for all the singles who want to follow God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sis. Jenise
Thoroughly enjoying the book. Full of sound teaching. I enjoy the prayers at the end of each chapter too. It's a good read. Probably best to read it before you get into anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
G2010
This book has been a tremendous blessing for myself, I wish all Christian singles would read it. God has used Dr. Raunikar in a beautiful way to teach and reveal Gods purpose in marriage, marriage preparation and singleness. If you want a life (married or single) that will bless not only yourself but your family, friends, possible future spouse and future family and most importantly honor God, this book is filled with much wisdom and knowledge we all are in great need of. "My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children" Hosea 4:6 KJV God is inviting us all to "Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD.." Isaiah 1:18 KJV. Don't worry if you don't understand it all now, know if you seek Him diligently and with all your heart you WILL find Him and His will and kindness, be assured He want's to be found by you and reveal His plans for you step by step.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
K18
My youth group did a group book discussion on this book this year. Although not everyone agreed with everything the book said, we did agree that it was well written and a must-read for teens seeking God's will for their relationships. Personally, this book has been the most helpful resouce I've found so far, as I consider courtship. I have learned a lot from reading this book; it has so much wisdom to share. I'm really glad I read it, and I hope you will too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lavonya
This is the best book on courtship I have ever read. I have recommended this book to several friends and I have read it several times. Dr. Rauniker gives a clear guideline on how to prepare yourself for marriage, but he also makes it clear that we are to seek God's order for our relationships and use his principles as a guide not as a step by step manual. I personally used the principles from this book and I am now happily married to my best friend and man of my dreams. We have even been told by older couples that our marriage is a breath of fresh air to them and I always tell them it's because we sought God and prepared for marriage. I recommend this book to anyone who truly wants God's best for their marriage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melvin J Paredes
I came across this book and all I can say it concealed my belief in my heart as not just a belief but as the truth. This book isn't for everyone it's for someone that is in search of doing God's will and remaining pure for him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Moses Jun
I have recommended this book to friends who are single. I've read it several times. It clearly explains the difference between dating & biblical courtship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eric
I thought this book was excellent! What a wonderful reminder that although I might make a "good" choice, the Lord's choice is truly the "best" and the guidelines for male/female relationships in the meantime were so eye-opening to me. As Christians we are to be "set apart"--read this book if you want to enjoy your singleness while the Lord prepares you for your future bride/groom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nelson L. Garcia
I didn't find this book helpful at all, this book is by far the most legalistic book ever written for Christian singles. We must not kiss dating goodbye when things go wrong in a relationship. However we must seek God earnestly & also do our part to meet people & develop friendships with other Godly Christian singles who are looking for the right mate. Remember Collosians 2:20-23 "Since you died with Christ to the basic principles of this world, why, as though you still belonged to it, do you submit to its rules: 'Do not handle! Do not taste! Do not touch!'? These are all destined to perish with use, because they are based on human commands and teachings. Such regulations indeed have an appearance of wisdom, with their self-imposed worship, their false humility and their harsh treatment of the body, but they lack any value in restraining sensual indulgence".
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
"Choosing God's Best" is the worst book ever for Christian singles. Case in point: This is an entirely nonbiblical teaching:"The chief enemy you fight in choosing Gods best will be your own strong inclination to make a good choice instead of a God choice".This is also an entirely nonbiblical teaching: "Before you can determine whom to marry, you must first answer an preliminary question: Does God want you to marry anyone, ever? Or is His plan for you to remain single?"The Bible NEVER says anywhere that we must find out from God whether or not He wants us to stay single or get married, and if so, to whom. And there are no examples anywhere in the New Testament where someone sought God's personal opinion on these questions and got answers. No generation of Christians EVER considered singleness to be a gift, or marriage for that matter. It's one thing to believe in the sovereignty of God and to take everything to the Lord in prayer as the old hymn goes. But it's quite another when you presume to get an unmistakable answer or clear path in response to every question you ask him, particularly when it comes to mate-finding, which is the most human decision you will ever make. Truth be told, Christians get married the same way as everyone else: a mix of "man (or woman) with a mission" and "how'd that happen?!". Fortunately, teachings to Christian singles are currently under reform. Better, newer books include "Getting Serious about Getting Married: Rethinking the Gift of Singleness" by Debbie Maken; Get Married: What Women Can Do to Help it Happen, by Candice Watters; The Freedom to Marry, by Ellen Varughese.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Timothy
This book is great medicine for the symptoms that plague Christian dating today. Dr. Rauniikar lays out a tough but workable plan for how to interact with the opposite sex in a way that avoids the emotional and physical pitfalls of dating. If you're tired of dating pains, try this other way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Choosing God's Best: Wisdom for Lifelong Romance
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nelson L. Garcia
I didn't find this book helpful at all But I do agree with the fact that we should wait on The Lord for the right mate but we must not sit on the side lines & have a pity party. However We must do our part to meet people & develop Friendships with other believers that how the Lord leads us to the right mate. If you are looking for books on Dating or courtship I would highly recommend these following books. For Teens 14-17: I Kissed Dating Goodbye By Joshua Harris, Don't Date Naked By Michael & Amy Smalley, The Ten Commandments of Dating: Student Edition By Ben Young, Going out with Freaking out By Tim Baker, For Young Singles 18-25 & Single Adults 30 & over I recommend Boundaries In Dating By Henry Cloud & John Townsend, The Ten Commandements of Dating By Ben Young, God's Design For Christian Dating By Greg Laurie, & Boy Meets Girl By Joshua Harris.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.