Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black

The ESV New Classic Reference Bible is a new edition of the first ESV Bible edition ever published in 2001—the ESV Classic Reference Bible. This practical and popular format combines the ESV text with a robust concordance and one of the most comprehensive and useful cross-reference systems available today—more than 80,000 references conveniently located in the center column on each page. This new edition adds 32 pages of full-color maps of Bible lands and illustrations of historic biblical sites, structures, and objects for ready reference and insight. The ESV New Classic Reference Bible’s balance of helpful reference features and convenient size make it an ideal Bible for everyday use—at home, at church, at school, and on the road.

Features
  • Double-column, paragraph format
  • Red letter text
  • More than 80,000 center-column cross-references
  • 32 full-color pages of maps and illustrations
  • Introductions to each Bible book
  • Extensive concordance
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • Publisher's lifetime quality guarantee
  • Presentation pages
  • 9.0-point type
  • Gold page edges
  • 2 Ribbon markers
  • Size: 9.00" x 6.00" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3294%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Review 1 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Bible.

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coach
Location:Cherry Valley, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this Bible. It is just the right size to hold. Very comfortable. Compared to my ESV Study Bible, it is very light weight. I like the introductions to each book. The font is easy to read and the color maps and illiustrations in the back are really great. Also, the cover is very attractive. I give it my highest recommendtion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent.

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reagan Marsh
Location:Albany, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a pastor, so I tend to wear out my Bibles. After 1-2 years of normal use, most of my Bibles barely hold together well enough to sit on my bookshelf.
I purchased the genuine leather New Classic Reference about 1 1/2 years ago and have used it as my "everyday" Bible for study, research, teaching, and preaching. It has held up wonderfully and has really "broken in" well.
The ESV is an excellent translation, and this particular NCR edition has been very well-done; it is a beautiful workhorse of a Bible. I'm looking forward to using it for years to come. Highly recommended.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible.

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiny G
Location:Lubbock, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really sweet Bible. At first I wasn’t sure if it would be worth the somewhat hefty price tag, but soon after it arrived I decided it was totally worth it. To begin with, the premium calfskin is luxurious. It is wonderfully soft, and looks top-notch. Just feeling my Bible makes me happy (is that weird?). This Bible is also refreshingly light, so I don’t get tired carrying it around to church, Bible studies, et cetera. Although my Bible didn’t lay completely flat at first whenever it was open, I’ve found that the more I read and work with it, the more flexible the binding gets. And, speaking of binding, that’s top-class too; I highly doubt any pages will be coming out for years and years to come. Although the margins in this Bible are not huge, I’ve found them to be sufficient for my personal note-taking, and the font is crisp and readable. So, overall, this is a delightful edition of the Bible, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a durable, reading/reference Bible.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall Excellence!

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raymond
Location:East Stroudsburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This new ESV reference bible is what I've been waiting for!
It has it all: quality printing, massive reference system, and practical to use and take anywhere. I truly enjoy the covers real leather antique look. Not disappointed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Bible

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bible translation, highly recommended :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vero
Location:Oakville, Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift for church staff, elders and pastors. Priced right. Received shipment right away. Great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not bad for the price...

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this ESV New Classic Reference Bible because it is one of the very few ESV bibles that offers the words of Christ in red. Having an older (no longer available) ESV giant print, which also has the Savior's words in red, I wanted to have a newer reference bible that also had that feature. Well, this new bible does not disappoint. Crisp, clean print, in a much less bulky (smaller and lighter) package than other reference or study bibles I've seen, and the paper quality is different as well. A good, somewhat thicker paper with no bleed through from print on opposite side of the page. Not that thin, flimsy paper that you're afraid to write on for fear for messing up your bible. Overall, a good purchase, and I will use it often in my study of the Text. I would definitely recommend it to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dennis Cox
Location:uniontown, pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent translation , readable print, nice features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
DanB
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets my expectations in all, but the font is still too small for these aging eyes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, but..

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Tennessee
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Allow me to begin by saying this is a great Bible. The sewn binding seems sturdy, the ribbon is thick, the pages are nice, the print is perfect, and the Bible itself is rather small and easily portable.
I've owned this Bible about 4 months, and the only complaint I have is that the genuine leather cover shows white cracks within 2 weeks of using it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like my new Bible!

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
pumpkin49042
Location:Three Rivers, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the way this version speaks to me and the red letters are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, durable and high-quality ESV edition

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
jdsimcoe
Location:Portland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many people talk about the benefits of a single column setting for readability and daily use, especially for reading, and I do enjoy Crossway's ESV Personal Size bibles, but this edition stands out as my favorite of their line. The 2011 text edition has been updated with an entirely new typesetting and the type is set in Lexicon which is outstanding, very readable, easy on the eyes and just gives a great reading experience. The top-grain calfskin is outstanding and looks great. All around, this is in my opinion the epitome of a perfect Bible, one that I will treasure and read and enjoy for years.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ESV New Classic Reference Bible

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
TJMouser
Location:Roseburg, ORegon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good Bible; however, when I received it, the first thing I noticed was that both bottom leather corners were not glued under the inside paper binding; just sticking straight up! I did manage to glue them down in place with Super Glue, but I doubt my fix will last in the long-term.
This is good, carry-around, all around Bible. Light, fairly compact and very easy to read; packed with cross-references and detailed maps and color illustrations of the both Solomon's and Herod's temples, the old and growing city of Jerusalem, etc.
For me, though, as more or less an avid student of Scripture, I am unable to write down detailed notes, particularly when doing exegetical work. Another thing I've recently discovered about the ESV is that there is little supporting study materials particular to the ESV, which is why I must use my NASB as a companion text in order to glean the depths of Truth in G-d's word.
Otherwise, I would recommend this Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great purchase

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
jmgbeat
Location:Newark, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy this bible very much, not too big, not to small.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible I've Ever Owned

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
mcrowe
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for! This Bible will last a long time, outstanding quality. The one downside is, it is a little bigger than expected. I take this Bible to Church, besides that it remains in the house. I have a travel Bible that is a little bit smaller, which is the perfect size for carrying around. I know they have this type of quality in a smaller Bible, if you plan on traveling with this, it would be better to search for a smaller version. Besides that, amazing Bible, at an amazing price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality Product!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
JKE2
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with my purchase. The bible met and exceeded all of my expectations! This should last a lifetime. The customer service and communication form Christianbook.com was outstanding!
Thank you,
J. Edwards
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The product is good with many features

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
lanningsplace
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible has many good features but was larger and heavier than I anticipated. I have a similar Bible with the same features but it is nearly half the thickness and weight of this one. I will attempt to find a ESV thinline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very satisfied with this Bible

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
VideoNana
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the quality and feel of the leather. The size of the Bible is perfect. My only wish is that each verse was started on a new line because that makes it much easier to find a verse quickly. I knew before I ordered the Bible that it didn't have this feature, but I could not find a Bible of this quality and size with that feature.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Version In Excellent Binding

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arisen777
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I simply love this Bible, the ESV translation is clear and concise without compromising to politically correct yet biblically incorrect modern trends. The paper is rather nice, it feels good between my fingers. The binding seems quite solid and I expect this bible to last a lifetime. The calfskin leather cover itself is soft and supple and has a smooth buttery feel to it. All in all this is a great bible.
I do however have one complaint that I would hope is an exception rather than a rule. The copy I received had a few scuffs on the back cover towards the edge. This does not bother me all that much personally. But I am sure some may be put off by that, considering the price.
Again, I would recommend this bible to anyone, it is wonderful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV New Classic Reference Bible, Premium Calfskin, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not quite to the level of great.

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Keith
Location:Ks.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First I am a fan of the tru-tone imitation leather, the best being my ESV Trimline in cordovan/brown portfolio style. This bible's outer cover however doesn't seem to be of as good quality, however the lining is improved. The dark brown areas early on began fading to a lighter color at the corners with minimal use indicating the dying process is not consistent (tru-tone is actually polyurethane hot dyed). The picture shows the spine imprinted with gold lettering but mine has no gold at all and the lettering is merely indented. As another reviewer stated, and I agree, the red lettering is light in certain areas and not even up to the standard of my original "Classic Edition." The print is however larger than the original, which is nice and much easier to read, and the paper is more opaque, thus less ghosting. I also wish that Crossway would have left more than a 7/8 inch margins for those of us who write notes in our bibles. Overall though this is a nice Bible with it's stated imitations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>