Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harpercollins Publishing The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD

Harpercollins Publishing The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD

Whether it's your first journey to Narnia or a return visit, you'll marvel at the faith-building wonders you'll encounter there! Here all seven unabridged audiobooks get the "royal treatment"---beautifully packaged with artwork by Pauline Baynes and narrated by legendary British actors including Kenneth Branagh, Lynn Redgrave, Derek Jacobi, Jeremy Northam, and Patrick Stewart. Ages 8 and up. 31 CDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Review 1 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lauri
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have enjoyed this set very much. They are wonderful for long trips in a vehicle. Sometimes I think the voices are a little overdone, particularly when a man is reading a girls voice. They really don't have to be quite that high! But still we find them well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good But Doesn't Have A Full Cast Of Voice Actors

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thankfully I took note of who produced this... This is Not the Focus on the Family Version. I prefer Radio/Audio Drama with a full cast.
This product is simply 1 person reading the book - good for most people I suppose - but not the exciting full cast of actors one would expect that brings C.S. Lewis's books to greater heights of realism that pulls one into Narnia.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Opened the door for my child.

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Percy Smerek
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We started with The Last Battle, but my son went back and has read the first three books while listening to the CD's. Really wonderful job by the readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL! Keeps my children entertained for hours

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michele
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this collection. Each book on cd is read by a different person, and the voices they use are wonderful. It captures the attention of children! We like to take it with us wherever we go. Its perfect for long trips in the car, when the kids get bored just pop it in and instantly their hooked! I have also found for my youngest learning to read its fun for her to follow along with the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Schmidt
This cd set is wonderful! We were really thankful to find the full, unabridged Chronicles of Narnia on CD, and we were additionally pleased to find it narrated so well. We appreciate the focus on narration rather than additional "dramatic" effects. This allows Lewis' stories to shine without distraction, and it means that young children can listen without becoming scared. My 7 year old son sits for hours, book in hand, listening to the CDs, and we expect that they will be very good for long car-rides as well!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Johnson
We have read the entire series to my grandson since he was 6. He is a happy camper since he received this well-done series almost two weeks ago and has heard all seven books again. I am very pleased with this audio version and recommend it highly, especially as a follow-up to books with illustrations and a dictionary for less familiar expressions used by C.S. Lewis for children this young. A wonderful experience for my grandson and us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauren K.
I agree with Jodi's review! The actors are superb and they give voices to each character. It is so fun to listen to them (I'm 25, no kids, but I grew up reading the Narnia books). I've listened to these at least four times all the way through in the last few years and I know I'll do it again. They make long work days doing mindless clerical work go by in a flash, I actually look forward to house chores (I listen to them on my MP3 player) and car trips are much more exciting; we don't want to get out of the car when we get to our destination! I would highly recommend this audio publication of the Chronicles of Narnia to anyone. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenell Potucek
The excellent use of expression brings the characters to life. Very nice gift idea! Good for all ages and great for long trips in the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Chronicles of Narnia Unabridged Boxed Set - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jodi C.
These unabridged recordings of C.S. Lewis' "The Chronicles of Narnia" make the stories come alive. The British actors chosen to read, but also dramatize, these recordings are so talented that they give each character a recognizable voice. So even though it is one reader, you know who is speaking, due to the consistency of their portrayal of that character's voice.I am spoiled. I do not want to listen to "The Horse and His Boy" on any other recording. Now, in my mind, that is how the character's sound. I can see the pictures in my head because there is a dedication to the original text. It is not someone else's imagination superimposed upon mine with a dramatization of how it might have sounded, or decisions on which part is not expedient to dramatize. These tapes include every word Lewis wrote.I have found some of the deeper spiritual concepts Lewis wove into the stories because I could listen and focus on the story, instead of the reading. I could hear it in my mind, replay scenes or chapters until my conscious mind grasp the spiritual signifigance of what was being portrayed.I (and my children, ages four to 11) highly recommend these tapes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.