Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook

Thomas Nelson Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook

Discover the complete truth behind the capture and imprisonment of 8 Western aid workers and their 16 Muslim co-workers in Afghanistan by the Taliban for three months in 2001. Kabul 24 draws from interviews with each of these former hostages to give a more complete understanding of the truth behind this news story that garnered international attention. A documentary film based on this book is being produced by Michael W. Smith and will be released in 2010.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Review 1 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, true story

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
stef
Location:Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited to start this book after receiving it from Tommy Nelson Publishers as part of an early reader program, and I wasn't disappointed. This non-fiction work by Arnold & Pearson tells the story of 8 western aid workers who had made lives in Afghanistan prior to 9/11. Although the workers, both men & women, were very involved in community development and education, they were glad to engage the Afghan nationals on matters of Christian faith when interest was shown. It was through this sort of relationship with a family that the foreigners were trapped when they showed the Jesus film - a betrayal that resulted in their arrest by the Taliban.
Although this book wasn't necessarily a dramatic page-turner; I found it hard to put down as I read the personal accounts of how these men and women sought to honor the Lord and wait patiently during their weeks of captivity. It was fascinating to read about the ways the workers would encourage one another and seek the Lord for courage and strength while under the watchful eye of a harsh regime. I have always been drawn to missionary biographies and autobiographies, and while this book was focused more on a short window of experience, rather than a life story, it had the same effect of building my own faith.
I don't think I'd recommend this book if you're just looking for a fun, easy read or if you're wanting something that will really get your adrenalin flowing; but if you have an interest in missions or learning more about this part of the world, you'll be pleased with what you glean from Kabul 24.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bern
I was surprised when I read this book, as I hadn't really understood and realized the persecution that goes on around the world with regard to those of us that profess Christianity. Being in America often allows me to more easily forget the privileges that we have to share the gospel with fear or hesitation.Kabul 24 was reminder of the present day struggle of Christians even now. The aid workers for Shelter Now International were held hostage while the world watched anxiously. The authors share with the reader, not only the experience of the Americans that were held hostage, but their Muslim partners who were treated significantly worse. For me, the book was a challenge to read, because of how close to home it was - rather than being a biography of a Christian martyr from the 1800's this particular situation happened a mere 9 years ago in August 2001, right before the 9/11 Attacks that would change our world forever.As is often the case, despite the threat of arrest and continued harassment, several of the aid workers that had been arrested or narrowly escaped arrest, made plans to return to Afghanistan. They believed that they "could not abandon this call from God" and would return to continue their work. Even as I type this, I'm amazed at their faithfulness to obey God's call whatever the circumstance and even more, to bring their families with them - entrusting God with their safety.As is the case with books that share the experience of Christians, this is one that was both challenging and encouraging. It was wonderful to see how God provided help and protection throughout the situation and how faith on the solid rock of Christ gives strength and hope.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christopher Bowman
I thought this might be one of those movies that was made into a book and that the book might be short in the number of pages. I was totally wrong. The movie was definitely made from the book. I would recommend it to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Reddoch
This is the most amazing story of innocent people being falsely accused, imprisoned (Kidnapped really) - all in a 3rd world country. This story is just captivating. But it's more than just a story. The words on these pages really happened. Once I picked up this book I couldn't hardly put it down!When everything looked dim and hopeless...hope would come alive through different ones that I'm sure God placed in their paths. Read how this real life adventure unfolds from the beginning...the days BEFORE 9/11 and through to their escape and rescue. God truly works in mysterious and amazing ways!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi
This is a riveting and well written story. The time taken to gather thorough accounts resulted in a superb re-telling of the account. I only wish they had included more photos.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terrance Henry
Kabul24 by Henry O. Arnold and Ben PearsonImprisoned for doing good. Accused of a crime that was not committed. Betrayed by the people you have spent so much time loving, giving to, and caring for. No, this is not a retelling of the life of Christ. Rather Kabul24 is account of 8 Shelter Now International humanitarian workers in Kabul who are betrayed by those they are helping, arrested for a crime they did not commit and wrongly held as prisoners. Arrested just days before 9/11 and held for months, Kabul24 gives a detailed account of the faith of these 8 SNI workers.As I read this text, my mind took me back to the Lions Den, to the Fiery Furnace, to a prison that was opened at night. Biblical faith lived out in modern times. The servants faithfulness and Gods grace are displayed in the service of these 8 SNI workers. However, the faithfulness is seen in the lives of those who work for the enemy as it were, but yet, still loved Jesus. The passing of notes and verses, the prayers offered up, the information shared. This book shows the beauty of Christian brotherhood even in the midst of despair.Highly recommended.Reviewed for: Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Program http://brb.thomasnelson.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jodi
I had read the book Prisoners Of Hope, by Dayna Curry and Heather Mercer, several years ago. Kabul24 is the same story but relayed to us from the understanding of authors, Henry O. Arnold and Ben Pearson, as told to them. (Note: Ben Pearson is a key character in Donald Millers book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.) A large portion of the content is on the thoughts and experiences of Georg Taubmann, the current Shelter Now International (SNI) Director, and Peter Bunch, a former SNI worker. The prisoners were held captive under the Taliban regime for 105 days.The book documents the faith and perseverance of the SNI workers. It clearly depicts their steadfast efforts to honor God and be respectful of the customs and people in the land of Afghanistan. It resembles a modern day account that mirrors the miraculous escapes that we read about in the New Testament.The book is enjoyable. That seems rather trite of me to say. What these people experienced for the cause of Christ is commendable. They relied on the Word that they had memorized, used praise and worship, were united in the fellowship of believers, had relatively little personal artifacts, and yet still retained a steadfast hope in the Living God. Truly it makes me ponder and consider, What am I willing to die for?I recommend that you ask for this book at Christmas, visit your local library, or find it at PaperBackSwap.Please know that Thomas Nelson did not pay me to write this blog post. All thoughts and comments are written using my brain and two little hands. BUT I received this book for free.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Harvill
This incredible book takes you on the journey of the kidnapping and imprisonment of 8 brave Western aid Christians who were working and pouring their hearts and lives out to the people in Afghanistan through Shelter Now International. Each time I picked up this book, I sat mesmerized as I read about this group of people who were so dedicated and faithful for "the sake of the call." Through horrendous conditions, deprivation of all sorts, lonliness and separation, these 8 endured as soldiers of Christ. There were also 16 Afghan workers who were also treated horribly along with the 8. Their story of the daily battle of holding on to their faith was awe inspiring. These men and women were moved from one site to another during three long months in 2001. Their daily battles must have been nearly impossible to hurdle, but they did it through their deep faith in God, daily prayer and bible study and their unbelieveable love for these people.I was entralled and encouraged by this wonderful book. It brought me hope and opened up such a bigger picture of this world and the millions who strive to bless and serve others as well as share the Gospel. I reccomend this book to everyone. You will never forget their story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Oldham
The story of the capture and imprisonment of eight Western aid workers in Afghanistan by the Taliban.For three months in 2001, the desperate plight of aid workers kidnapped by the Taliban in Afghanistan, captured the attention of the world. With the growing specter of U.S. retaliation for 9/11, the Taliban and Osama bin Laden attempted to use their Western hostages as bargaining tools. What the captors did not count on, was coming face-to-face with the enduring faith, of people who knew their only hope was in Christ.Kabul 24 revisits their grueling interrogations, their sham trials before the Taliban Supreme Court, their peril during the bombing of Kabul, and the crushing sense, that the world had abandoned them. It reveals not only the eight Westerners 105 days in captivity, but also the gauntlet endured by their 16 Muslim coworkers who, after being taken to the notorious Pulicharki Prison, were beaten and tortured, having been accused by the Taliban of converting to Christianity. This book will renew your hope. I highly reccommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy
I recently finished 'Kabul 24' by Ben Pearson and Henry O. Arnold. This book chronicles the saga of eight Western SNI aid workers who are falsely accused of proliferating in the country of Afghanistan, while doing relief work, shortly before 9-11. In a mind-boggling series of real life twists, the eight are shuffled from prison to prison in the midst of the Taliban's collapse. Their prison conditions are horrible, their court trial is ridiculous as far as justice goes but their hope and faith in God never wavers. These eight have experienced the fire and lived to come through the other side. If the story itself is not amazing enough, what is even more intriguing are the "miracles" that happen within the story. Example after example of God showing up in even the darkest, most frightening of circumstances. I will admit, I don't fully understand the Taliban, Northern Alliance and all of the different regime fighting and changing in the middle east. This book did a good job in helping me to piece together a little bit of what was happening on that side of the world before the World Trade Center Towers were attacked. If eight Christians can persevere against a sect such as the Taliban who are quite 'anti-Christian', at times showing fear but always trusting God, then their ordeal was not in vain and their story is a beacon of hope to us all. Check this book out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leicester
I just read KABUL24 by Henry O. Arnold and Ben Pearson. The book recounts the 2001 Taliban kidnapping of eight Shelter Now International aid workers. The prologue is one of the most compelling chapters, beginning as it does by telling the story from the perspective of an Afghani woman being stoned. The struggle to reach Afghanistan for God is intense and real, and makes an interesting read for believers and not-yet-believers alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Safford
"Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen." Hebrews 11:1 KJV This verse from the Bible describes faith and "Kabul 24" tells the stories of people who lived their faith in modern times. Imagine this: suddenly, the semi-hostile country around you (a people you have come to help) becomes filled with fanatics and spies wishing you harm. Families you thought of as friends betray you. You are taken from your home, unable to convey to others what is happening, then transported to, and left in, filthy and unsanitary conditions. It is enough for most people to blame God and beg for mercy. But, this group of eight people from SNI relied on their faith in God to get them through. Times were frightening and no help seemed to be around, but they knew God never left them. Did they wonder why they were chosen to face this trial? How did the assassination of Ahmad Shah Massoud, the rise of the Taliban and Mullah Omar, the constant changes in Sharia Law, and the 911 bombings in America affect them and their conditions? What made it possible for this group of eight to carry on when nothing seemed possible?Henry O. Arnold and Ben Pearson wrote a book that transported me to Kabul. I could remember praying for these hostages. I could see the community before and after the arrests, and the changes were astounding. It was enlightening and uplifting to read their story. If you have ever needed strength, ever had a time of testing or a lapse of faith, pick up this book. You will be stronger and more encouraged for doing so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Richards
As a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson I recently read Kabul 24 by Henry O. Arnold and Ben Pearson. As one who only faintly recollected stories of the Taliban kidnapping of 24 humanitarian aid workers in Afghanistan in 2001, I wanted to learn more of their experiences at the hands of the Taliban. Here in the West it is hard to conceive of what life in a country under seige by the Taliban would be like. It is beyond our ability to even imagine. In this book we are taken on a journey that will open our eyes and educate many of us. We see the differences between various factions active in Afghanistan and how they impact each other. We learn much about the antiquated prisons and the squalid conditions which many innocents have lived in for years without hope of a fair hearing or freedom. A sad picture of what one group of humans can do to another.Through the eyes of eight Shelter Now International workers we see what it is like to be kidnapped by the Taliban, not knowing why, and knowing that they could be killed by the Taliban or some other group looking for a way to get the world's attention.These eight people are not portrayed as heroes, but frail and human like us all. We're shown the horrible conditions in which they lived and the fears they were tormented with. We also see how they grow in their dependency on God. How they turn prison cells into prayer closets and write songs of praise in spite of the nightmare surrounding them.My heart was warmed toward the Afghani people as the story was told of the 16 Afghan SNI workers, who were not Christians, but who were willing to endure extreme torture to protect their Christian friends. The Afghan tradition of hospitality and protection toward their friends was an inspiration.This book is truly an education.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
misseslavigne
Everything they did was to help the people of Afghanistan. The work Shelter Now accomplished was greatly received by the Afghanistan people so why did eight Shelter Now workers and their 16 Afghan helpers find themselves arrested and in prison?In Kabul 24, Ben Pearson and Henry Arnold recount the arrest, interrogation, and trial of these Shelter Now workers in 2001. These people did nothing but help the Afghan people they loved, and now the Taliban has arrested them for reasons that are never revealed to the prisoners or anyone else.Yet, somehow, these people find a way to worship the Lord God in spite of their harrowing circumstances. They sing songs praising Jesus, study scripture, and pray. They remember that God put them in their predicament to bring glory to Him, and show His might and power. Through their imprisonment, they remember that God cares and loves them and has not forgotten them.This book reveals that Christians should look to God and depend on Him no matter what the circumstances. Believers can look at these people and say, hey they endured all of this and never lost their faith? I can, too! This is the message I received from this book. This book allowed me to see that truly, through God ALL things are possible. I highly recommend this book to readers everywhere. You will see Biblical truths fleshed out in a concrete and profound way. This is truly an unforgettable book.I review books for Thomas Nelson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen
In August 2001 the Taliban kidnapped Dayna Curry and Heather Mercer after a gathering in an Afghan home where theyd been invited as guests, then betrayed by their hosts.Forthe next 48 hours, the Taliban unleashed their fury on the offices of Shelter Now International (SNI) imprisoning a total of eight western aid workers and sixteen of their Afghan colleagues. The harrowing 105-day ordeal of the Kabul24 was just beginning.Henry O. Arnold and Ben Pearson present the real story behind the CNN headlines. Told primarily through the experiences of Georg Taubmann, director of the Kabul branch of SNI, the authors recount the hostages betrayal, increasingly hellish imprisonment, and miraculous escape. I stayed up reading Kabul24 late into the night. This story fascinates with its details regarding the cultural and political climate in Afghanistan during the dictatorship of the Taliban and their al-Qaeda allies. It inspires as the hostages support each other and live out their faith: sharing food and medicine with their fellow prisoners, refusing to harm anyone to gain their release, composing songs of praise in the midst of deplorable conditions.I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kabul 24: The Story of a Taliban Kidnapping and Unwavering Faith in the Face of True Terror - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Janes
Kabul24, is the true life story of the hostages whose only crimes were their selfless humanitarian efforts accomplished via the Shelter Now International (SNI) humanitarian efforts. These courageous hostages were guilty of no crimes and deprived of basic human dignities and rights, simply because they were a perceived threat of the evil and corrupt Taliban Regime. Betrayed by the very people they sought to help, in a world where the threat of arrest, coercion, blackmail, torture and death loom, these men and women of the SNI were deprived of their rights, and thrown into jail cells. Fear of torture and death as well as the on-going inhumane conditions of filth, squalor and deprivation, was their reward for dedicating their lives to humanitarian efforts to improve the lives and conditions of men, women and children. Despite the months of imprisonment, and the phony charges and mock trials, their faith in God did not waiver. This is the day to day, behind the scenes story that was not depicted on TV or in the newspaper. From the dramatic and ominous unfolding of events prior to their arrest, to the imprisonment and ongoing fears of facing an uncertain future, to the abrupt and joyful release, the reader can follow the unfolding of events from start to finish! Arnold and Pearson vividly capture the rush of emotions experienced by these captives as well as the heroism. As a member of the Thomas Nelson Blogger Program, http://brb.thomasnelson.com/ I recommend this book to anyone who wish to get more insight and inspiration and to see the real live people behind the story of the Taliban Kidnapping of the SNI hostages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.