Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2

Multnomah Books Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2

Fernanda Gracioli Viera is a twenty -three-year-old student in Panama City . When she joins a bioprospecting expedition, the team is taken captive by island pirates and only she escapes. Now she's on the run for help. Euripides Rip Rubio is a twenty-six-year-old staff sergeant with Task Force Valor. TFV's mission: Stop the middle man distributing the colorless, odorless, explosive liquid, ITEB. Rip's mission: Investigate the island of Coiba for modern-day pirates operating a transshipment point for stolen goods. One night, Rip's path literally collides with Fernanda's, and they find themselves caught in the middle of a turf war. Can they use the chaos to their advantage? Or will one false step set the entire island ablaze?
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Review 1 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Hollingshed
After reading Allah's Fire, I couldn't wait to read the next books in the series. So far, Island Inferno hasn't disappointed me. It's edge-of-the-seat exciting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darcia Lensen
An awesome read!!!! It really is a awesome book. I couldn't put it down until it was done!!!! You won't be let down!!!! :-D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alicia Wade
I can't wait to read some more books written by Chuck Holton. This is my 2nd book of his to read and it was great, just as I expected!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gayle
Reading Island Inferno was a joy. I was curious to see how Chuck would follow up Allah's Fire with its contemporary problems and politics, and he's done a great job. Chuck's a master at plot twists and turns, and Island Inferno is one adventure and misadventure after another. A great read for those who enjoy action/adventure with a military twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Becki Burr
Excellent! This is one of those "I couldn't put it down" books that would be great for the young men in your life or anyone that likes an action-packed, fast-paced read. I bought three of them, so I could share without letting loose of my own copy. My favorite book to date for this author had been "A More Elite Soldier", but this is every bit as good or better. Very well written! You WANT this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marianne Mulkey
Excellent read! Lots of action and unexpected turns in the plot, set in a tropical paradise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Island Inferno is a page-turning suspense novel that you don't want to miss. I had not read the first book in the series and didn't feel like I missed out, so I think this can be enjoyed as a stand-alone novel (though now that I've finished the story I'm dying to read the sequel).The author takes you to numerous settings and countries and puts you into the heads of the good guys and the bad. In some ways this book made me feel like I was in Jurassic Park, but minus the dinosaurs. Island Inferno even had college students exploring the island, totally unsuspecting what was going on behind the vegetation. And that bottled water was downright scary because you never knew when someone would take a swig and possible blow up. I couldn't stop reading this book! It contained enemies who were just as frightening and deadly as man-eating dinosaurs, and you never knew when they would appear and kill someone. Very exciting and nerve-wracking.I also totally loved the special forces and commando feel of the book. You can see that the author has experience because the details show that he knows what he's writing about, which makes it feel even more real. My favorite characters were Rip and Fernanda. The end of the story was fabulous and even a tad romantic, and while it wrapped up some details, it left just enough loose ends for a sequel.The spiritual thread in this story truly impressed me--how the circumstances opened up situations where people truly wanted to know God in a personal way. It came out very naturally through the plot, and in my opinion was one of the best things about the story. While packed with a variety of violent situations (I'm quite squeamish and the details were awesome), the story would be lifeless without the James Bond/Mission Impossible feel to it. I highly recommend this book! In fact, I think it would make an awesome movie, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Island Inferno, Task Force Valor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
ITEB, Task Force Valor and Phoenix are back in Island Inferno, the second installment of Chuck Holton's military suspense series.Staff Sergeant Rip Rubio and the team head down to Panama on a tip that the deadly explosive ITEB, which they discovered in their most recent tour of duty in Lebanon, has found its way on to the black market and will end up on the hands of terrorists of all persuasions.Their search for the deadly substance leads them to the mysterious and desolate island of Coiba, formerly host to political prisoners and violent criminals. Rip literally lands on the lap of biology student, Fernanda Lerida, stranded on the island when the research team she is with falls prey to unscrupulous men and a ghost-like warrior.Chuck Holton goes solo without Gayle Roper in this exciting sequel to the successful Allah's Fire and does it with finesse and an eye for detail. Rip Rubio takes over from John Cooper as the main protagonist, confronted not only by criminals bent on destroying peace but by his personal failings as he watches his young sister become enthralled by the gang culture in L.A. he was so much a part of. While the romance holds less significance in this sequel (the only way the reader might note Gayle's absence!), it does not detract from this high-octane tale that is fun to read, spiritually challenging and leaves you wanting to know more about the courageous Task Force Valor. A brilliant ending left me totally geared up for what Chuck has in store for the team in Book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.