Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6

Multnomah Books Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6

At a fifteenth-century palace in Venice, best friends/sisters-in-law Jenna and Sue welcome the gondola-paced Italian lifestyle! And over boiling pots of pasta, they dare each other to dream again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Review 1 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Travel to Venice!

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best of the Sisterchicks! Funny, tender, and deeply spiritual, this was a sisterchick book like none other. You will feel you are there with the ladies - walking the cobblestone streets, tasting gelato, riding the gondola. Don't want to say too much about this as you should experience all the surprises for yourself, but you will NOT be disappointed. This is the last one of the series that I've read - but I think it is my favorite for so many reasons. Read it and see if you don't feel the same. The spiritual quality of this one is deeper than the rest - or so it seemed to me. I hated to put it down, and looked forward to the next reading time. ☺ Whether you are a fan of Sisterchicks or not, you should try this one. It's price is unbeatable - go for it - you will not be sorry. I promise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
chewie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good story about sisterhood with a little humor mixed in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ciao bella!
SISTERCHICK n.: a friend who shares the deepest wonders of your heart, loves you like a sister, and provides a reality check when you’re being a brat.
When Jenna is invited to Venice for a week of cooking for a small retreat group, she knows just who to take along: her sister-in-law Sue. With her Dallas drawl and wild tangle of red hair, Sue desperately needs her own retreat from the pressures of the past two years…and blessedly for their guests, Sue actually knows how to cook (unlike Jenna)!
With about six words of Italian between them, a map, and a keen appetite for gelato, they puzzle out the lovely city together. During their stay, Jenna and Sue become victims of grace in ways they never expected—starting with their accommodations: a restored fifteenth-century palace on a quiet canal complete with a stairwell perfect for mattress sledding!
Coming out of a time of dark shadows in their lives, these two friends dive into a new season of refreshing and realize that sometimes when serving God, the most important thing to do is just show up…and watch for goodness and mercy to follow close behind. Come join Jenna and Sue over boiling pots of pasta in this lilting gondola-paced adventure!
Story Behind the Book
Sisterchicks in Gondolas was birthed after Robin experienced Italy for herself. “In the summer of 2004, I went to Venice with my lifetime fellow Sisterchick from Ireland , Ruby,” she says. “We explored the city with our daughters and discovered the joys of Italian living.” With a splash of humor, grace, and a few zany antics, this latest Sisterchicks release continues to celebrate the unique and timeless bond between women friends. Entertaining and delightful, the story also challenges readers to examine their relationships with one another and with God.
My Review:
This was a laugh-out-loud chick lit that had me in stitches almost every other page. It is written in the first person perspective, and that being a favorite viewpoint for me, I enjoyed that aspect of the novel very much. Of course, it's always hard to go back to the third person, but it's worth the extra work!
Something that really stuck out to me in Gunn's writing, is that she conveys how God will always answer our prayers. Even though He may have another plan, He always answers. Jenna and Sue have lived with many hurts and disappointments, and they both learn to listen to His voice even when it seems He isn't there.
Last, but not least, the story's premise itself was hilarious.These gals really have no idea what they're getting into, but they most certainly have a lot of expectations of what they think it will be like. Needless to say, what they expect, and what is never quite reconcile. I invite you to crack open a copy of this novel and prepare to laugh a lot, (maybe even cry a little, from laughing, of course) and just plain, clean fun.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great message and fun read

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cora
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all Robin Jones Gunn's SISTERCHICKS novels, this one spoke to me the most...the situation these two women found themselves dealing with, the male guests and how they related to them, the fun and the scary side trips the ladies took.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart-warming story

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Jones Gunn’s story about a woman who thinks the most important part of her life is over until she is invited to Venice to cook for a small retreat group is enchanting and heart-warming. If you aren’t careful, you might learn something about God and His goodness and mercy.
A one-time single parent it wasn’t hard for me to relate to Jenna, a divorced mother whose daughter had since grown up and moved out on her own. Now Jenna feels useless like a part of her life is over. Having moved back to Dallas to help her sister-in-law, Sue, take care of her brother after an accident which left him paralyzed, she knew that Sue, too, needed a respite and invited her to come along on her trip to Venice.
This is a love story but not the typical love story between a man and a woman. This is a love story between God and two women who desperately need to find Him again. Jenna knows God isn’t finished with her yet, but she has no clue what she should do with the second half of her life. Sue is tired and exhausted from taking care of her husband and needs to know that God still cares about her life.
Between the laughter and the tears, I found myself identifying with the emotions of both women. It was exciting to see how God provided for them and how the romance that drew them in to God’s goodness and mercy is alive and well in my life as well.
Robin Jones Gunn has written more than 85 books, including many Sisterchicks books. She lives in Hawaii with her husband. A reader’s guide is included and makes a perfect read for any book club.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Blogging for Books as part of Waterbrook Multnomah’s Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Experience the Grace of God

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I don't think I had ever felt I had been shown grace before. Now I knew grace was being extended to me. What made it different this time was that I was ready to reach out and take hold of the grace being offered."-Jenna in Sisterchicks in Gondolas

This is my second time reading this book. I am not sure if I have ever read one of the books in the Sisterchicks series more than once, but I am so glad I chose to do it with this one. Sisterchicks in Gondolas is another in the Sisterchicks series by author Robin Jones Gunn. This particular novel is set in Venice, Italy and is the story of Jenna and her sister-in-law Sue and the adventures of God's grace they experience while on a trip to Italy. Given the opportunity to work as chefs for a men's retreat, the ladies experience the riches of Venice while experiences some of the riches God has in Him.
I alway love reading the Sisterchicks novels. I have read them all but one, and they always bless me. I come away feeling refreshed, just like I had been on the adventure with them. The novels feel like the breath of God warming the soul. Author Robin Jones Gunn is one of those writers that God has so blessed with the ability to be able to convey His presence, love, and empowering grace in the form of fiction.
I recommend Sisterchicks in Gondolas to all women who want to be refreshed by the presence of God and go on an adventure. This book reinforces the importance of the bonds between women and the beauty of how God works in friendships. You will be blessed each time you pick up a novel in the Sisterchicks series.
Many blesses to you as you read!
~Beth
"He restores my soul."-Psalm 23:3
Disclosure Statement: I received this book free of charge as part of a free books for bloggers program from Waterbrook Multnomah. I was not required to give a favorable review. The thoughts and opinions expressed here are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sisterchicks in Gondolas

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisterchicks in Gondolas by Robin Jones Gunn is a very entertaining, fast read about two women, (Jenna and Sue) sisters-in-law, who accept an invitation to Venice to cook for some missionaries who are on a retreat. In exchange they get a place to stay and some extra days in which to take in the sights. Jenna is a divorced Mom and Sue is the wife of her brother, who has been going through a long-term illness. Jenna is confused as to why they would ask her to do this as she cannot cook, but she invites her sister-in-law (who can) and goes on the adventure. Only Jenna speaks Italian, and not much at that; they have some comical encounters: one at a fruit stand, and another with some pigeons, to name just two. They fall in love with Venice and develop some new sides of themselves that they never could have expected.
You find out that nothing happens without reason. Jenna was meant to be on this trip, as she meets someone from her past and an amazing story unfolds – this meeting could not have happened by accident. There are many phrases in the book that make you think about your own life, for instance: “Was my life characterized by ‘offerings’ or ‘sacrifices’? – which I found to be a great question for myself; “90 percent of what we should be doing as believers is just to show up”; and, “you’re not done yet”. Each one of these phrases made me think about my relationship with the Lord and whether or not I was doing my part. This book by no means dwells on pounding your job as a Christian into you – it is merely a very light and enjoyable tale about two women on an adventure and just happens to throw out some thoughts which very well may change your life as well – while it keeps you laughing. There are many funny moments, including bobsledding on mattresses, which you’ll have to read about for yourself. I do not doubt that you will find this story very enjoyable and perhaps, eye-opening.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, gelato, and faith-renewing all included

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of all of the books in this series, but this one touched me even more than some of the others. I have never been to Venice, so I enjoyed reading more about it. The descriptions and information about the city and surrounding areas was fascinating. There is also a lot of humor in this story, as well as moments that caused me to pause and consider my own life. However, the 2 Sisterchicks in this story both had traits that reminded me of myself. Jenna had been divorced for many years, and felt like she couldn't me as much use to God and that family looked down on her for it. (Me too.) She was also invited to cook for some missionaries on a retreat, but is not a good cook. (I can relate to being a bad cook!) She only knows a few words of Italian, but that doesn't stop her for trying. (You should hear my Spanglish! LOL!)
Sue is adjusting to a new normal since her husband's accident...and is wanting to break out of her old patterns of legalism and being fearful. Also, she can cook! I can identify with the ways she has become a bit fearful of life and is wanting to LIVE rather than just continuing to EXIST. The way Sue and Jenna lean on one another and lift up one when the other is down is such a perfect portrait of unselfish love for a friend. They each want to help the other be the person God intended, plus walk closer with Him. This is both a book that makes a valid point of trusting God and His Grace, but also wrapped in pure joy. I loved it! Would like to give it 4.5 stars.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally fun book! I love it!

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally fun book! I love it!
SisterChicks In Gondolas by Robin Jones Gunn took me totally by surprise, in a very good way. I was hooked from page two of the Prologue. At times it could have been written about me. (mid-life crisis, memory loss) Sue tells Jenna to keep a notepad by her bed and one in her purse at all times,
so she can write down things as she thinks or dreams about them so she won't forget. I laughed out load so many times it put a smile on my face. Oh to be able to go on a real SisterChick retreat.
I was also blown away by how much this book also "talked" to my soul.
Here is an example from the book. All the new experiences, tastes, encounters and small challenges were displays of how God could care for Sue more than I ever could. My job wasn't to diagnose her or counsel her or try to teach her anything. We were students together. Equals in every way. Sue and I were victims of grace.
I felt as if I'd just been shown my place---a clarification of my role in our friendship. I had places deep inside me that I needed to examine and that needed healing, too, but Sue was not trying to fix those in me. All I had to do was be here and receive the grace that fell on me.
Wow, that says it all.
I give this book a 5+ out of 5. SisterChick In Gondolas is book full of truth that I won't forget.
I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah and Blogging for Book for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SisterChicks in Gondolas, Just Show Up!!!! Love it

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
cscott9
Location:Vale, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisterchicks in Gondolas!!! Wonderful Book!!!
Let me begin by saying that this is the first Sisterchicks book that I have read. I was blown away by the messages that she puts into her work and how this book is based on her own travels and experiences from Venice.
Jenna is awakened at 3am with one phrase “your not done yet.” She had no clue what she wasn’t done with and yet the next morning she was awakened by the phrase. Then she received a letter from her friend Sam asking her to come to Venice and cook for the men’s Mission Leader Retreat that would be taking place in July. She agrees to go and she asks her sister-in-law, Sue to accompany her.
As they embark on their journey to Venice, they encounter God’s grace and mercy everywhere they go. From the beautiful view from the rooftop of the palace they were staying at to the gondola ride they took their last day there. From the injured bird to the gift of the coffee, they learned that gifts could come in all shapes and sizes.
Jenna and Sue go on an amazing journey that includes a very funny moment and some serious moments as well. They laugh, they cry, and they learn how to live again. Jenna tells Sue that “I believe it could be well with our souls even when it might never be well with our circumstances.” At that moment Jenna knew that their season of refreshing had came.
I highly recommend this book, I took a lot from the messages and realized that I need to just show up and let God handle the rest. If you have never read any of the Sisterchicks books, please pick up one today. I promise you will not regret the decision.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
http://www.robingunn.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light-hearted with Deep Meaning

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve been meaning to get to the "Sisterchicks" series by Robin Jones Gunn for some time now, so I was thankful when Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers sent a complimentary copy of "Sisterchicks in Gondolas" for my review. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this series, but I like what I found. "Sisterchicks in Gondolas" is actually the sixth book in the series, but each book stands alone, telling the story of two women travelling together. In the book I read, sisters-in-law Jenna and Sue travel to Venice, Italy to cook for a men-in-ministry retreat. They live in a refurbished palace, sleep on the roof, become acquainted with several townspeople, and sample gelato all over the place.
The story has a simple and light-hearted feel, yet Jenna and Sue both carry deep pain. The message of healing, forgiveness, and starting anew is subtle, but profound. I loved the way Gunn delivered it.
I also loved reading about Jenna and Sue’s adventure through the historic town, their daily discoveries, communication struggles, and means of finding fun. I plan to soon read some of the other books to learn what Gunn has other Sisterchicks up to. I'm happy to recommend "Sisterchicks in Gondolas" to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet friendship

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Sisterchicks book to read. It was a very sweet story full of friendship and travels. Very great details on Venice. It made you feel like you were there with them. I appreciated the friendship between Jenna & Sue. This is a great uplifting read that is refreshing "chick lit". Great read!
I received this free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful book! I felt as if I were there with Jenna and Sue...as least I sure wanted to be.
We are there to cook for for a small retreat group. Besides experiencing Venice through their eyes, we are also privy to listening to Malachi's bible reading. Another gentlemen is from Kiev, and Jenna and his wife have a connection, yes a small world.
Can you just picture these two slaughtering the Italian language? Way to funny when they end up with a bunch of nectarines, instead of 2. Watch what they do with the mattresses....besides bringing them up onto the roof and sleeping there. Ah sleeping outside...now I hope there aren't any bugs out at night there. Didn't read anything about bug lotion. The idea is marvelous!
Turns out Jenna really knew what she was doing bringing her SIL Sue....Jenna couldn't cook, and Sue can! Also so loved the relationships they established with the locals at the Bakery...ah Lucia, and Paolo's.
This is a really great feel good read.
I received this book from the publisher Multnomah, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bella Italy!! Lovely read!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Bella Italy!! I couldn't resist choosing this book to read and review! I've never been to Venice, but I've been to Sicily several times. This book just makes me want to go again--and maybe get to see a few other places in Italy, including Venice!
Robin Jones Gunn's descriptions are spot on. Sue's reaction to her first bite of gelato cracked me up! I may not have said exactly what she did, but the reactions were about the same. Once you've had the real stuff, nothing else compares. Ummmmm, my mouth is watering for some baci (chocolate and hazelnuts) or pistachio right now just thinking about it! Most of the interactions with Italians were right on, and the ones that might be different could be because of the different are of Italy.
Jenna and Sue have a sweet relationship. I loved that Sue was the first person Jenna thought of to take to Venice with her, because she knew that life had been so hard on Sue for the past couple of years and she wanted to giver her a little break. I enjoyed them interacting and drawing even closer together.
The scene with Sergei late in the book was beautiful. The wonder of how God orchestrates things and the blessings we get from it. Wow! The epilogue was sweet and a fitting ending to the book. To top it off, Robin wrote at the end of her times in Venice and included some (b&w) photos to go with it!
This was a well-written book that I thoroughly enoyed. It makes me want to get some of her other "Sisterchicks" books to read! :-)
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=74963
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Kerns
I got my order and had to start reading right away. Robin Jones Gunn does not disappoint. Her books are so fun and light hearted yet make you think about your every day relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
Robin is definitely back on top of her game with this one. I loved her references to Venice as a big, warm Italian mama, and the Italian location in general was great. I also enjoyed the interplay between Sue and Jenna, especially how Jenna was able to function as Sue's grace-giver, because I confess that I am usually the Sue in such pairings. I especially enjoyed the incident with Pesca Netareena, and the gelato project was indeed fun, especially after all the weight talk in Sisterchicks in Paris. I also enjoyed the descriptions of the princess room and the mattress-surfing--funny, made me want to try that. :) Can't wait for the next one, especially since I love, love, LOVE London. Bravissimo, Robin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sisterchicks in Gondolas, Sisterchicks Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kristen
This was one of the best books that I've read in a long time. I really enjoyed it. It was fun to read how Sue and Jenna made a gelato project and how they slept in the roof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.