Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus

FaithWords Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus

Jesus was accused of breaking the law, keeping bad company, and drinking. He had a sense of humor; his generosity was scandalous; his anger was fearsome; and he said outrageous things. Eldredge replaces our 2-dimensional picture of the Savior with a brilliant portrait---and invites you to experience an intimate relationship with a colorful Christ! 240 pages, softcover from Faithwords.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 out of 45100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Review 1 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The impact is immense

Date:May 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Peter Oluwaseun Ajayi
Location:Nigeria
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I smile because I feel I see Jesus smiling to me in my room. Though, he is my Lord but he prefers I see him more of a friend because in that the intimacy is more expressed. Like this book a lot because John Eldredge has shown me more sides of Jesus that I was never conscious of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brings the Personhood of Jesus Alive

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Eldredge describes Jesus in a way that brings to life the personhood of Jesus. He becomes more than just words on a page, but rather a real flesh-and-bones person. The way he describes the personality of Jesus is story-like yet convicting. Though I do not personally agree with some of Eldredge's interpretations of Jesus character. One example is from Chapter 11 on Trueness. Eldredge presents Jesus as being "true to Himself" and then goes on to imply that we be true as well, but he is very vague in describing what it means to be true as Jesus was. If we are indeed to be our true selves, we would be constantly sinning. I don't think Eldredge means this, but this is just one issue. This chapter is, in my opinion, his weakest. Also, the way Eldredge presents those who hold to any traditions, even if they practice them for noble reasons, fit into the "religious" mold. The way he presents traditions is that they are inherently bad and that anyone who carries on these traditions over time are modern day Pharisees. But I would venture that the traditions practiced by a large percentage of Christians do it for godly reasons. Eldredge defaults to the conclusion that if a person does not like what he has to say about traditions, then they are "religious" in the radically conservative and legalistic sense of the word. The way he comes across some of the time is, "If you get offended, you are legalistic and need to lighten up." But other than this, the book is very insightful and it would be a dis-service to pass it off as not beneficial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-opening book

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lou D
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Outlaw is a wonderful book for opening your eyes of faith to see more of who Jesus really is. The author has a thriving, intimate relationship with his Savior and shares his thoughts on how to achieve the same in your life. This is a must-read for those who long to deepen their faith and have moment-by-moment communication with the living Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What was Jesus really like?

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
rwarrender
Location:Bristol, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many times has the tone of an e-mail or text message been misinterpreted? For most of us it is too often. Yet, viewing Jesus through the often dry 2-dimensional view often presented, the personality of Jesus has been lost. John Eldrege masterfully brings into view much of what is actually evident in Scripture. Jesus suddenly becomes far more than that hazy mystical figure. How the situation changes when a sly smile or raised eyebrow is added. This is a wonderful work that can be appreciated by those both very familiar with the Bible or with none at all. Many people know of Jesus. This helps reveal someone we can know personally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sparky
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gently reintroduces Jesus to readers who may be rejecting Christianity because they can't abide dogmatic Christians. It is a joyful, fresh revelation of Jesus as He truly is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debby
Location:New Mexico
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant puts such a personel light into who Christ is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweetness
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those wanting a deeper and more intimate look at who Jesus was during his life on this planet, this is a must read! I have found it curious, intriguing, heartwarming and wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:Largo, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended by someone in my Bible study. It's an excellent book for a new Christian as it portrays Jesus as someone real with feelings and emotions, someone who is easier to relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing insights into the personality of Jesus.

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
PamT
Location:St. Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this book to my husband and each of my three children after reading it myself. After reading Beautiful Outlaw I felt that I had seen the true character and personality of Jesus for the first time. John Eldredge makes Jesus come alive as no one I've read before has been able to do. I can't imagine anyone reading this book and not wanting Jesus to be their best friend. I'm now reading the Bible and looking at the world differently, seeing Jesus more vividly in each and appreciating him so much more. Jesus is more real to me now than ever and someone I want to spend my life getting to know even better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so awesome. It is one I will re-read over and over. It took away the "religious" binders I have worn for many many years. It opened my eyes on so many levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful!

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadySilverFox
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, the writer challenges the "religious" beliefs about Jesus and offers glimpses of the personable Teacher. Good reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting perspective

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
revlor
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this book in a study in my church. I was introduced to it by my church secretary. The author takes a very human approach to the person of Jesus, working through all the stereotypes and false notions that sometimes religion has provided about Him. It was refreshing and enlightening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Created in His Image

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
OldBadPilot
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our small group has not finished reading this book yet, but it does bring forth great conversation, especially if you consider "we are created in His image." Each chapter presents a single idea, draws from multiple sources in the Bible, and from multiple versions. So far we love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book. A joy to read.

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caroline
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes Jesus more personal as the author explores the many aspects of his personality. Makes you want to know Him more intimately. I can't wait until I see Him face to face!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book.

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Hixson, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to know Jesus more intimately, I strongly recommend that you read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Two thumbs up

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane G
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent book! I particularly liked the chapter about Jesus' playfulness and how he is very personable with us as well. God bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jesus has a since of humor!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Manny
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying my walk with Jesus in this book. I never knew my Savoir was so cool. He is amazing to read about, I want to be just like Him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:WHITMIRE,SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this book. It has presented so many chances for me to tell others how much He loves us and truly understands us. He wants us o be ourselves- not what others think we should be. god created us to be us! Why would we want to ne anybody else. Jesus wants us to laugh, play, cry, get angry sometimes, and stand strong for what is right, but He mostly wants us to love Him and LOVE OTHERS FOR HIM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
4JESUS
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for all! Really gets to the heart of who Jesus really was/is! Made me love Him all the more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beautiful Outlaw: Experiencing the Playful, Disruptive, Extravagant Personality of Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
diesel
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great book, highly recommended reading. very informative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.