Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books For Men Only

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Multnomah Books For Men Only

The bestselling author of For Women Only has joined with her husband to help men understand women better. Women can be very complicated at times, but by applying simple truths to your relationship, you might find they're actually quite simple to figure out. Don't keep guessing what makes your wife or girlfriend happy—read this insightful map and find the highway to her heart with a much less bumpy ride. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Men Only
Review 1 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Idea for Couples!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelsey
Location:North Carolina
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this book and the companion ("For Women Only") for my boyfriend for Christmas. I heard they were good, but I was nervous to give them as part of his gifts. He actually LOVED it!
I read "For Men Only" first and wrote out notes/thoughts throughout the book where things were important to me. He did the same in "For Women Only." The books explain so much in ways that I had not thought about explaining! We will now swap them and read the books with the personalized notes in them.
I would definitely purchase these books regardless of your relationship status or age. If anything, they are great conversation starters -- and easy to read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a must read for all men

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
jgvelez
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding insight into the women's way of thinking, rationalizing, feelings, and emotions. It was very succint, clear and direct. Easy reading book which I could not put down. Every man seeking to salvage, sustain, and/or improve his relationship with a woman should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You must be open minded to appreciate this book.

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
marlene0313
Location:Bardstown, KY.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this book for my husband. I also read it. It helped me see myself as well as it helped him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book & A Must Read!

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Restful Place
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book as it is filled with insightful details about the inner life (or might I say confusing life) of a woman. When my wife first showed me this book I knew it was a must. I have read many marriage books, so I thought to myself “I won’t learn much”, man was I WRONG! I learned so much that I am going to be reading it again & probably even visiting a few chapters a 3rd time (mainly the chapter on listening). I found that the area I thought I was an expert in; I was not even close to understanding (can you guess what I am thinking of?). Have you ever had your wife tell you that you aren’t listening when you have listened and are now trying to “solve” her “problem”? I sure have, but there is hope! I learned that she really doesn’t want me to fix the problem, she wants me to:
Give her my full physical attention
Give her my full mental attention
Listen for the right thing (most of us guys think: I should filter out all the emotion and listen to the facts. But we have it backwards. We need to filter out the facts and focus on how it makes her feel.)
Lastly acknowledge what her feeling is and affirm/sympathize with it (even if we disagree with her thoughts)
Here is a warning it contained:
Don’t Try These at Home!
“How not to listen”
Tell her she’s overreacting,
Question her version of the facts,
Wonder aloud about the time of the month
Ask her to quit crying, or
Offer spiritual correction (“are you sure you're not just envious?”)
Overall it was VERY worth reading (so much so, that I bought the companion book: For Women Only. for my wife). It even comes with a helpful quick start guide. I hope you take the time to invest in your marriage and read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What women think may surprise you!

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ddalebooks
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women. Who can understand them? Well.... according to "For Men Only" we all can. Turns out that authors Shaunti and Jeff Feldhahn believe we can finally begin to make sense of the maze known as women. With tons of research and difficult questions asked, this book strives to give men the road map they need to navigating that special someone in their life.
This is truly a book in which the authors don't rely upon their own point of views. They have done massive research and surveying in order to provide the most accurate information possible. At many times the results of the research and surveys were completely contradictory to what I would have believed. In fact, the responses of many women will most likely catch most guys off guard. All too many times we as guys think that women just naturally think and process in the same manner we do. Research proves otherwise.
For any guy out there desiring to better understand and relate to that special woman in his life this is a must read. With an unabashed desire to speak the truth and the research there to support it, "For Men Only" truly strives to provide the most accurate picture of the opposite sex possible.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of 4
Location:Montpelier, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm filling this out for my husband. He loved this book. And I was thrilled he read it! We've struggled for 10 years communicating some of these very topics but for some reason, be it where he now is spiritually, or how the books is written for a man to understand, he got exactly what was being said and was blown away by the reality of much of it! He actually asked numerous times "Is this true?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for single or married men.

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gracefaith
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gives you insight on why God told men to just love their wives not really understand her. But the book does an excellent job at describing how men can express the love they have for their wives in a way we, women, can receive it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Men Only: A Book Review

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For Men Only" by Shaunti and Jeff Feldhahn is not just another book on the male-female relationship, guys. It is a humorous, thoroughly researched book on understanding women, specifically the woman in your life. Many times along the way, I found myself breaking out into laughter.
Using a scientific survey method and hundreds of interviews, the Feldhahns seek to inform men as to how to improve their relationship. As an added plus, men, the book is a compact size and easy to read. Inside, you will find some things you knew but lots of other things that may be eye-opening.
The key to understanding your mate is as elementary as can be: men and women are different so stop projecting your likes and dislikes onto her guys!
Did you ever wonder . . .
1) Why she is so insecure and what you can do about it?
2) How you can help her clear those distractions from her mind so that she can relax with you?
3) What security means to her and how to help her feel it?
4) Why your trying to fix the problem doesn’t fix the problem and what will?
The book provides guidance to these mysteries and many more. There is even a quick-start guide that can serve as a reminder to you of the principles found within the book. And sure, ladies, you could take a peak or read through it too but your time may be better spent reading the companion book entitled, “For Women Only.”
I enthusiastically recommend this little volume which will be a wise investment of your time and money.
I received this book from Multnomah for free for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insightful & Helpful

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
preachinwildman
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While browsing through books to read, I saw one that said, “Finally. You can understand her!” I read those words and knew I had to read, For Men Only: A Straightforward Guide to the Inner lives of Women, by Shaunti and Jeff Feldhahn. Based off of survey results of thousands of women For Men Only does help men (at least it helped this man) have a better understanding of women.
Every chapter used survey results to help show what women really think, compared to what men think women think. With chapters ranging from her emotions, to how women really want men to listen, to the female brain and sex, and much more, For Men Only demonstrated how men and women are so very different. It was also helpful that it wasn’t just statistics but also quotes from women one each topic.
One thing I struggled with was the question, “What if my wife is part of the minority on this issue?” There were no suggestions to help men know whether or not their ladies fell into that category. I found this especially discouraging when the stats fell something like 70% and 30% because in my mind that 30% is a significant number.
However, I thought overall this was a great book. I am interested in reading the first book for women entitled, For Women Only, because if it is as good as this they would make great counseling books. I will definitely be recommending this to several men I know.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short read, gets to the point quickly

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
deany89
Location:Lincoln, Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wished I had this information when I became an adult. As awesome as the other sex is, they sure think differently from us. Had many ah hah moments when I got the explanations for the responses that I have gotten over the years. Of course I had to sneak a peek at "For Women Only" . Glad I did. Completes the puzzle in a way. Authors did great research and authoring of book(s)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book offers some great insights.

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary W Haskell Sr
Location:Jackson, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this once, I felt it needed to be read again. A few of the truths take a while to believe and get your heart around. It helped me understand "WHY" my wife responds the way she does. It showed me that my perception is really part of the problem............I have been reading her wrong. As a pastor, I have chosen to teach through this book in our mens' group. Several of our men are taking the class and are studying through this book. The men are enjoying it and we are looking forward to finishing it together. Also, I have already recomended it to some friends and some other pastors for counseling their couples.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
A great book that helped me to see a side of women I never truly gave thought to. I am 22 and this book really brings to light how women are effected by the things men do and what we can do to encourage them, build them up, and fight along side them in a world that treats them as objects for their desire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
K.Snider
Excellent book, wish it had been available 25 years ago when I became married. Might have saved me from a troubled marriage.My one piece of advice for anyone who reads this book: Don't forget the caveat at the beginning of the book; the authors readily admit making generalizations about women, so remember, your mileage may vary. But on the other hand, you CAN "try this at home!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donald Lord
Awesome read! As I was reading this book I was sharing with a close lady friend. She almost cried at what I had learned and shared with her from this book. I wish I had read this book several years ago. If so, I would have saved myself and my ex-wife a lot of heartache. I also purchased the woman's version and can't wait to get started on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charley
EXCELLENT Resource...for all men interested in learning about their wives! I pray more men want to know how to have a better marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kerin Cornett
Gave this as a gift to my husband. Would be a great gift to any married man or engaged couple...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christopher Bena
Great book! Easy reading with wonderful insights into the mysterious female brain! This and its companion should be required reading for marriage! I sent a copy of both to my engaged sister and her fiancee. Thanks to the authors for a wonderful set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Desimone
I being a woman read this also and found it to be true . I want my husband to be my hero.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clifford Dukes
sure glad i read it, only wish i had done it sooner. I had already listen to the cd's love and respect great combo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for For Men Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laren Bailey
I did like this book. It took me a little bit closer to understanding my wife, but not all the way. It is a good book though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>