Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1

Multnomah Books Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1

Whether you're meeting her for the first time, or have known her for years, Christy is a forever friend! Bestselling author Robin Jones Gunn packs each one for her Christy books with enough action, romance, and drama to keep you reading and wanting more. It all starts the summer Christy vacations on a California beach and meets two friends who change her life forever.Recommended for ages 12 and up.

Book 1: Summer Promise
Fourteen-year-old Christy Miller has the dream summer ahead of her in sun-kissed California, staying with her aunt and uncle at their home. Aunt Marti loves to shop, and those surfers are cute--especially Todd. Christy promised her parents she wouldn't do anything she'd regret later, and some of her beach friends are a little wild. But Todd and his "God-Lover" friends are giving a Christy a new image of all things eternal. Can this summer live up to it's promise?

Book 2: A Whisper and a Wish
Christy's family has moved to California just in time for her sophomore year of high school. But they're not in Newport Beach, where she spent the summer. Instead they're an hour and a half away and Christy has to start all over making friends. Despite an embarrassing escapade at a slumber party, things are going pretty well, until some midnight fun leads to a trip to the police station. Does god really hear every whisper? Does He know our every wish? Then why is it so hard to know who your friends really are?

Book 3: Yours Forever
Christy is back at Aunt Marti and uncle Bob's house on the beach for the entire week between Christmas and New Year's, and Todd is in town, too The cute surfer completely captured Christy's heart last summer, and she's eager to spend every possible minute with him. But soon Christy and her aunt are barely speaking, and it seems like all her friends are mad at her, too--including Todd! Is he hers or isn't he? And why would God let things get so tangled?

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Review 1 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Church Library Replacement for well-used Paperback

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Christy Miller" series are of the top choice of our young church library patrons according to the frequency of check-out.
Content ~ I agree with the positive reviews before me. Words that come to mind = Relatable - Realistic - Readable - Faith Builder. Thumbs up!
Style ~ Draws in an older adult like me, and yet with her writing style seems to draw interest of our youth. She "shows" activity with colorful & interesting crafting of words.
Details if interested: Book Design
~As a library assistant at our church, I love the spine for browsing. Easily read words to quickly figure out title, collection number, and which 3 books are contained within. Also, the colors to this series are attractive & draw the eyes to the books on the shelf.
~As a reader, the book is surprisingly light to handle & lays well once opened. Fonts chosen are easy on my eyes.
But the most important ~ I see wonderful lessons on living a Christian life. If you're a small church library like us, I'd put a priority on these for your Youth (Young Adult) Fiction Series Section.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hailey
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't expecting too much from this book when I received it to review. I had heard of this series before but had never read it. It was great to have one book that had three individual books. I got a three-in-one! As I was reading the first book, "Summer Promise" I found Christy to be extremely relatable. It focused on real life issues teenagers face from day to day. I loved that about this book. I know that many teenagers, including myself can relate to this book.
As I read through this book, I think it would be an excellent book to give to a "baby" christian. Robin Jones Gunn does a fabulous job of writing the process of growing in the Lord. She made the story very realistic in a Christian's day to day walk with the Lord.
Robin does a great job of making the Gospel clear and understanding. As the story progresses you notice Christy becoming more and more strong in the Lord. It definitely reflects the highs and lows of your Christian walk. Even though she was saved her life wasn't always 'Peaches 'n Cream'. There will always be tough times, but you can always relay on God to see you through. that's probably one of the reasons I loved this book so much. I'm looking forward to reading the whole series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

like!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never having even HEARD of these books before, I was not entirely sure what to expect. I was delightfully surprised! I found that the story was very intriguing, quickly drawing me in for good!
This volume contains three separate books, Summer Promise, A Whisper and A Wish, and Yours Forever. Each one adds to the story of Christy Miller, a young teenage girl who desperately desires to just fit in. After giving her life to the Lord over summer vacation with her aunt and uncle, she also desires to please the Lord. But both may turn out to be MUCH harder for her than she had imagined.
I definitely liked these books! I was hooked as soon as I began book 1, and they never left me go. When I was done, I found myself thinking I have got to find volume two! Gunn’s writing style was very interesting, with characters whom you quickly became attached to. I love how each book does so well of adding onto those before it (unlike some series, where the books just do not go well together), and enhancing Christy’s story.
The only issue that I had would be how obsessed Christy was with guys. It almost seemed that her thoughts were constantly on the boy that she liked…which became somewhat irritating at times.
Outside of that one fact, I loved this book! I would most definitely recommend this to others! (I would be cautious, though, of younger readers. Drugs alcohol were mentioned more than once).
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful books

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago, my friend lent me the Christy Miller series by Robin Jones Gunn. I read them in an incredibly short amount of time and loved each one. I was thrilled to be able to get a copy of Volume 1, the first three books in the series, from Blogging for Books. These books were such an encouragement and a good example for me as a preteen. Throughout the whole series, there is a strong theme of the importance of following God, purity, influencing friends for Christ, and many other things which made the characters wonderful role models, while at the same time staying true-to-life. This series influenced me to make a lot of good decisions and because of that, I am so glad that I had the opportunity to read these books. I hope that reading this series will also influence many other preteen and teenage girls to live life for Christ. Reading the first three books in the series again years later was a breath of fresh air. I felt like I was reuniting with old friends! I have thoroughly enjoyed re-reading Volume 1 over the past few days. I recommend this book, as well as the rest of the series.
The Christy Miller Collection, Volume 1, includes the first three books in the series- (1) Summer Promise, (2) A Whisper and a Wish, and (3) Yours Forever. Any description that I could write would not give the books justice! You simply must read them for yourself! :-)
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for giving me my free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
mariflor
Location:L.A., CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 15 year old daughter started reading the first volume which includes books 1-3 two weeks ago. She tells me she can't stop reading. She's really enjoying this series and wants to continue to the 2nd volume set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book i have ever read

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
corynn
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best series i have ever read. It is a love story but christy does have some problems which makes the book to where i cant put it down!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christy Miller, Vol 1

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JayJay
Location:Western Australia, WA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christy Miller starts off her summer thinking she's a Christian, whereas when she meets some new friends at her aunt and uncle's place in Newport Beach, she figures out it takes a lot more than just knowing about God.
Book 1
Christy Miller has the summer of a lifetime with her rich uncle and aunt in Newport Beach. As well as getting everything she can imagine, she meets some great new friends, God-lovers; Todd, Tracy, and Doug. They show her that being a Christian is more than knowing about God. It's about knowing God.
Book 2
Christy Miller and her family have moved to California just in time for her sophomore year. But she soon figures out they're not going to Newport Beach, where her aunt and uncle live and where she's just spent the summer. She soon has to start over at a new school and meet new friends. An embarrassing escapade at a overnight slumber party leads to some trouble... her new faith is being tested... Does God actually hear her whispers?
Book 3
Christy is back at her Aunt Marti and uncle Bob's for the summer. she gets to see her 'beach' friends again! Todd has completely captured her heart last summer, so she wants to spend every spare minute with him. But things soon go wrong, with a triangle forming in the group. Christy likes Todd, Doug likes Christy, and Tracy likes Doug. It seems Christy's life is all muddled. Does God help her through all her tangles?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent books for pre-teen and teen girls

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a friend recommended these books for my girls, I researched reviews on them and purchased the 4 volume set.
This is exactly what I was looking for! I wanted engaging books written for teens that would serve as "edutainment" while navigating the joys, sorrows, and challenges of growing up, with an emphasis on male/female relationships, all from a Christian perspective.
Robin Jones Gunn has done an excellent job of addressing many of the issues our children face as they grow from a child to an adult. She does it in such a way that one is engaged in the book and relationships within and wants to keep reading more!
My 14 year old daughter just finished volume 1 (489 pages) in a few days. I am reading volume 1 with my 12 year old, and I am currently reading through volume 4.
Every girl could benefit from reading the ups and downs of Christy's life as she navigates middle school and high school. The lessons that come through loudly and clearly about dating, courtship, not giving away your heart before it's time, and true friendship, are all lessons I pray will penetrate my girls' hearts and be a springboard for some intimate conversations between me and my daughters. I could have benefited from having these books when I was in middle school and high school.
We are getting ready to do Passport 2 Purity with our oldest daughter, and our younger soon after. However, I think the Christy Miller series of books may be a more effective tool that will bring issues to life in a way that is more relevant to my girls. At the very least, I think they will make our Passport 2 Purity weekend more effective and relevant.
As a side note, these books would also be good for pre-teen/teen boys to read. There are some winsome young Christian men in the book that are wonderful role models to help a young man learn what a Godly relationship with a young woman might look like. The struggles that go along with that are not ignored in these stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janice Bauman
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My eleven year old daughter read volume one (books 1 - 3) in less than 6 days. She couldn't put it down. "It was awesome! Best book ever!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Melodrama, anyone?

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
HSmomfor6
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 15-year old read these on the gushing recommendations of her friends at church. We were both slightly disappointed with the content of these, knowing that the original Christy Miller book is very good. It seems as if most of these stories are simply Christianized versions of t.v. after-school specials, using stereoptypical "teen issues" in every one, with a very naive Christy to help out. We were looking for more inspirational drama than this, but dd still finished the book and may read more. I just hadn't counted on these being so fluffy. We usually do not do romance reads at our house because you never know what "advice" the characters are going to get or what will be portrayed as normal teen behavior (i.e. stereotypes and peer pressure-led behavior). I want my daughters (and I) to write our OWN love stories and not pine away for what we think we should be experiencing! All in all, these are mostly harmless, if mediocre quality, books for teen girls.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Lutz
Bought this for my 13 year old daughter and she ended up reading it in two days...lol.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
What every girl needs in a book: 1) Love interest 2) Relatable Characters 3) Exciting Situations. This series keeps things flowing with a number of unexpected waterfalls breaking up the steady stream. Written with light-hearted language, these stories go deeper than the here and now and dip into eternity. Shining like a light on a hilltop, a diamond in the rough among fiction filled with trashy romances, these books have a higher purpose. Though I do not agree with all of Mrs. Gunn's opinions on dating (i.e. it's okay to date around before marriage as long as a guy's a Christian, and light-kissing multiple guys is okay as long as its light, silly stuff) I can agree with her message of holding out for a hero and not settling for less. A lot of encouragement is given in this series. While that is needed, also some tough messages should be dealt with dealing with inner character rather than merely what's going on around. Like doubt of salvation, principalities, warrior's for Christ not just peculiar treasures. Overall, these books are good lessons--but not the complete foundation on which one's Christian life should be built.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Simons
My 16 year old granddaughter is reading this entire series. She says they are wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky
I purchased this book for a 13 yr old girl I am a mentor for through Kinship. She'd been reading a lot of what's "popular" w/ kids in school. I had reservations about the subject matter as she shared w/ me what the books were about. Since she LOVES to read, I asked her mom what she thought of the books she'd been reading & she too expressed some concern but didn't know what to do. I asked if it'd be ok to look for a different (positive) series to get her daughter interested in. She was more than happy. I found the Christy series, read the reviews & purchased the first set of 3 stories (in one volume). My young friend called me a week later totally excited about how good those stories were...she'd read them all w/in a week. I asked if she'd be interested in the next in the series & she didn't hesitate for a moment to say "Yes! I love this book!!"Thanks CB.com!! Thanks for keeping good reads affordable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Velzen
I bought the Christie Miller Series 3-in-1, volume 1, for our 12 year old niece for Christmas. She loved the series so much that she passed her quickly read book around to all of her friends (who enjoyed it just as much) and she bought the next 3 volumes with her own money and read them all in a very short time. In her words... "I just couldn't put the book down, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next volume!" The biggest thrill for me was that she accepted Christ as her Lord and Savior because of reading this series! Thank you to Robin Jones Gunn for penning such an awesome and relevant series, leading readers through real life situations directly to Christ! I also appreciate all of the great reviews that led me take a chance on buying a book without ever reading it myself, which turned out to be "right on"!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley
These books--the whole series: AWESOME!!! I am about to be 14 and I recently got saved at a youth function called DNOW. I read these books about a week after I got saved. They are awesome!!! I feel so close to God. These books have helped me grow in my faith. My mom had been trying to get me to read decent book without trash in them. These were definately above her expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachelle Cook
I bought these books because I remembered loving them as a young teenager. They are just as good as I remembered. However, each volume is printed in a color. Makes it a little difficult to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kara L
I L-O-V-E- this book! As soon as I started reading the book, I could not put it down. I think this book is great for 12 to 19. I would put more than 5 stars if I could! I can not wait for book two, and what is in store for Christy Miller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
anna
EVERY teenage girl HAS! to read these books! I discovered them when I was about 12 and read all 9 Christy books in a week and then passed it on to all my girl friends. we've all been hooked and talk about the characters as if they were our friends! its quite hilarious! i recommend the Christy, Sierra, College, and Katie series! READ THEM ALL!!! im sad that the kaite ones were last though:....(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Christy Miller Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Berger
I purchased the whole series for my daughter for Christmas because she likes to read. So now she has a lot of reading material and hopefully she will like the series. I bought it for her because of what other purchasers said about these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.