Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1

Multnomah Books Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1

She's the bold, free-spirited type. She's cute, she's fun, and she's following God. She's Sierra Jensen, Christy Miller's good friend, ready for her junior year of high school! All 12 books in the popular Sierra Jensen series come together in four volumes to reveal the ups and downs of Sierra's incredible God-led journey! Recommended for ages 12 and up.

Book 1: Only You, Sierra
The Europe mission trip brought Sierra Jensen the best gift possible: two new friends, Katie and Christy. But now Sierra is headed home, and she can't help but wonder, will her friendships last? And what about her new home? Her family moved while she was gone, and that means facing a new high school. And the biggest question of all: Will she ever find love? Then a chance meeting in a London airport answers that question. Paul makes her heart leap. But she'll never see him again! Or will she?

Book 2: In Your Dreams
Sierra has had it! She's done everything she can to find the right job, good friends, and most important, true love. But nothing is working out. Now she has to stay home to care for her grandmother. By herself. for the whole weekend! It will be terrible. But a series of starling surprises shows Sierra just how wrong she is--and before she knows it, she's on her way to the perfect job, her first real date, and an encounter with a mysterious stranger.

Book 3: Don't You Wish
Sierra has three wishes: visit her California friends; have her older sister, Tawni, disappear; and learn more about the mysterious stranger. When Easter break arrives, Sierra's first wish comes true! She's headed to Newport Beach for fun, sun, and surf. Unfortunately, not only does Tawni not disappear, she accompanies Sierra on her escape. What's worse, everyone has a boyfriend except Sierra. But will her wishes begin to change as she realizes God wants to mold her according to His wishes?

Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Review 1 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is amazing!

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Priscnatalie
Location:Ontario
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book and once i started reading i couldnt put the book down! It was great and will absolutely buy the whole series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This collection of 3 books introduces Sierra Jensen, a fairly typical teenager returning from a mission to Europe. She and the other characters in the books are falling in and out of love, making friends, and trying to see God’s hand in their lives.
What I liked:
I am not, I think, the target audience here, so as I read I asked myself, “Would I give this book to my daughter?” Well, she’s too young, but you know, when she’s older. And the answer is, yes. I think so. Because Sierra Jensen, though too boy-crazy for my taste, is trying to be a good friend, loves her family, and wants to see the Divine in her life.
What I didn’t like:
It is a collection about teenagers, and was a bit melodramatic for me. There may have been some eye rolling. But not too much.
Would I recommend you read it? Yes!
Disclaimer: I was given this book as part of the Blogging for Books program, in exchange for a review. I was not compensated nor required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for teen girls!

Date:May 10, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember reading my first book that included Christy and Todd on a ski trip. I read it as a teen and loved it! It had romance, but it wasn't anything inappropriate or anything that made me uncomfortable. If anything, I remembered it focused a lot on friendships, which was encouraging.
You can imagine my delight when I started reading and found that Christy and Todd find each other again (even though the story focuses more on Sierra)! It was like a glance into my past and I was shocked at how much I must have connected with those 2 characters in the previous books.
Sierra is 16 and doesn't have a boyfriend. In fact, she's part of a single's club and is proud of it. That's not to say that she's 100% okay with it because she does struggle with being single as she watches her friends (who are older) find guys and start dating. When Paul comes on the scene, Sierra has to figure out which direction God is calling them both. Is it for them to really be together or would they be better apart?
This book is three books in one. This makes this book a steal at this price! If you have a teen girl who likes romance but needs to find more age-appropriate romance and friendship books, pick this book up for them. Anything by Robin Jones Gunn is sure to be a delight, regardless of your age. She writes for teens and then her Sisterchicks books are for adults.
__________________
I received this ebook free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
These books kept my interest. You can pick up any one of them and know what is going on without reading the ones before it. But you'll want to read the books first to last because you discover situations being resolved as you read.
I think that it is annoying how young girls are taught by society to have a boyfriend so young. Sierra is 16, which isn't extremely young so I found that refreshing. The characters are Christians in these books so their relationships are portrayed in a manner that isn't sexual - something else that was refreshing to read.
All the teenage drama goes on in these books. There are sibling issues, trouble making friends, thinking guys are cute, wanting a job to have money, messy rooms, and more. I would recommend this series to the tween crowd. This series of books would be good for the girl that hasn't started dating yet. It would be a great started point for discussions with your child about relationships and dating.
I received a free copy of this e-book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Giving to my teenage girls as gifts

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Robin Jones Gunn was in first grade her teacher wrote on her report card, “Robin keeps the entire class entertained at rug time with her stories.”
Even with such an early affirmation, Robin didn’t seriously consider becoming a writer during high school or college. She was more intrigued by the idea of traveling to foreign lands and telling people about God’s love.
But Robin’s husband also noticed her gift for story-telling and urged her to attend a writers’ conference. That first conference opened the door for publication of devotions, articles, interviews and eventually 15 children’s books.
While on a camping trip with their church youth group, Robin grew concerned when she saw what the girls were reading in their tent. The 13 year-old girls challenged her, saying, “If you don’t want us to read these books then you should write novels for us. We’ll even tell you what to write. How hard could that be?”
I picked this book because I am a Children's Church Teacher and I like to see what kind of books to recommend or give as gifts. I was so happy to find out that the book I chose was a whole series and what I thought was one book turned out to be three books. The main character is name is Sierra Mae Jensen, and she is like your typical teenager wanting to grow up too fast. I love how the author just includes all the things a teenagers suffers, from aging Grandparents, sibling rivalry, making friends, new schools, first jobs, first dates and first loves Sierra goes through this all, but the beautiful thing is how God fits in our characters life, and the author describes the relationship you can have with God even when things are complicated as a teenager. Great Book and I am definitely giving this book series to my young teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great tween book series

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sierra Jensen is a cute series and well written books for the tween girl set. What isn't to love about Sierra, I think through out these books you will find something you can remember going through just like Sierra when you were her age.
My tween she is 11 and a half can't forget the half :) read these ebooks and thought they were cute. I will keep my eyes open for more of the Sierra Jensen ebooks. This series would be a wonderful addition to a middle school class room or gift to a tween girl.
thank you Blogging For books for allowing me to review this ebook collection
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Volume One : Sierra Jensen Collection - Robin Jones Gunn - June 2006
Years ago , when I first got into Robin Jones Gunn, the library had all the Christy books but only one book in the Sierra Jensen Series , which I think was the very first one - Only you Sierra , so I was unable to continue more of Sierra's journey , so imagine my delight when I saw that we had the books in Volumes not just One book but a 3 in 1. Volume One tells the first three stories of Sierra Jensen from her first meeting of Christy, Katie, Todd, Doug and Tracey- names fans of Robin Jones Gunn will be able to relate too and including in "Only You Sierra" her meeting with Paul at the airport and then in Book #2 In Your Dreams - Sierra has her first date not with Paul but with a school friend Randy and gets her first job at a Bakery and then in Book #3 Don't you Wish - we read as Sierra and Tawni meet Christy and the Gang for Easter Break - Tawni gets her try at modelling and Sierra becomes one step closer to Paul - has Sierra finally reached her goal of capturing Paul's heart or has God got other plans in mind for them both ?
I now can't wait till Volume 2 and 3 in the Sierra Jensen Collection arrive for me :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
I loved this book! I really, really liked it, but I think that I liked the Christy Miller series better. I still enjoyed it though! Anything that Robin Jones Gunn writes is great!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bobbi Rowe
It is definitely a page turner among the 12-13 year olds and up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lianna
This first Sierra Jensen volume is okay, but definitely not as good as the Christy Miller series. In the Sierra books, I always get the feeling that all the characters are exaggerated. Christy is almost too perfect and too grown up, and it disappointed me.I must have more in common with Christy, because I totally understand her point of view and love how her books are written, whereas with the sierra books I found myself thinking more than once, 'Yeah right, that could NEVER happen in real life.'So beyond the fact that it's not as deep and realistic as the Christy books, it's pretty good. Christy IS my all time favorite character and I might be biased, but I don't think this book is Robin Jones Gunn's best.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susannah
I love love this series so much! I can`t put them down!!! Ms. Gunn rockz!! I love this series I am so glad that my friend told me to read them. Everyone at my school can`t even check them out (in less you have already) they are so and I mean so popular ! ILY Ms. Gunn!!!! Thanks for the books!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly
OH YEAH!!!! I absolutely LOVE this book!! It teaches you a lot of important stuff, and the characters, especially Sierra are SO cool!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shelby Wilson
This book is soooo good!! I absoluetly love it! I can't stop reading it. My friend told me to read the christy miller series and the sierra series and they have changed my life!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica
I love Sierra Jensen! At first I read Christy Miller then found out about Sierra Jensen and I think I like these books a little better than Christy Miller. Yeah, I know! I'm re-reading the series right now. Go pick up this book now!Robin Jones Gunn is a fantastic author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
lauren
I really liked these books! almost better that Christy Miller.almost....I think book 1 was the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
This book is AWESOME I love it! I also have all of the Christy Miller series! Every time when I read one of Robin Jones books I can never put them down! I can't wait to read volume 2 of Sierra Jensen!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Genevieve
Sierra Jensen is awesome!! I love everything about this book. I can't wait to read the next one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I absolutely LOVE this book. Sierra is so cool, I love how she dresses! So retro. And I also love how she's friends with Katie and Christy, and that Paul knows Todd and Doug, and that Paul's older brother Jeremy and Sierra's older sister Tawni are going out and eventually marry. It's just so COOL! Once again, RJG has outdone herself. I've got Volume's One and Two of Sierra and just need two more volumes and I'll have the whole set. RJG RULES!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Victoria
I loved thist book and all Christy Miller books!The Sierra books are great! I'm 13 and LOVE,LOVE, LOVE them! You should read them!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sierra Jensen Series: 3-in-1 Collection, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
I LOVED this book! I read the whole thing in about 2 days. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>