Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P & R Publishing Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change

P & R Publishing Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change

Intruments in the Redeemer's Hands is a comprehensive treatment in the lives of others, people who themselves are in need of change. In many ways, the church today has more consumers than committed participants. We see church merely as an event we attend or an organization we belong to, rather than as a calling that shapes our entire life. The author explains how his work follows an "all of my people, all of the time model." If you followed the Lord for a thousand years, you would still need the ministry of the body of Christ as much as you did the day you first believed. This need will remain until our sanctification is complete in Glory.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Review 1 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Used by obligation, but enjoyed it!

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
jcncdegov
Location:Greensboro, North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was required to read this work for a seminary course, but enjoyed it very much. It is a practical work, that I will use as a reference for years to come. I enjoyed that it had pictures and figures that assist with the ease of understanding information that could otherwise be difficult. I also really appreciate the redemptive quality of the work. It is Bible-driven and filled with the truths of scripture, rather than "self-help" fluff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful, Biblical , sound teaching.

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
cdsbls
Location:CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not "easy reading", but thought-provoking and very helpful reminders of the real point of any help for ourselves or others.
I'm glad it came to my attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

straight to the heart

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doves Nest
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of the best I've read in a very long time. Paul David Tripp takes each disciple into the heart of the issue and begins right at the reader's doorstep. Once one gets a grip on the condition of one's own heart, then Tripp gently and carefully guides toward ministering to the heart of others. Written humbly and with such clarity, this book is a must have for every student who desires to be used of God to help others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
bisonmom24
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me and I have grown in the Lord and learnt so much. I purchased several to give away, it meant that much to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
cher
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read and re-read this book. It has been a great help to me in my life and struggles I face. I'd recommend it for anyone involved in counseling others; or just in need of counsel and direction in their own lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terence Sowers
This is a must read for those who help people in their ministry. Paul Tripp writes very well. If you read this you may not want to purchase War of Words since there are a lot of the same stories in both books. This is an overview. It is a good tool to use with teaching Changing Hearts, Changing Lives, which is a good class to teach for people wanting to help others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathie Taggart
This book is an absolutely essential read if you are ministering in the name of Our Lord. It has changed my life and my perspective of ministry and how to best present myself as an ambassador for my King.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Milla
This is a excellent resource for someone wanting/needing to learn how to allow God to use them in the lives of others. It is great place to start building one's tool-box for inter-personal ministry. There is enough information here to give anyone the motivation and tools to start learning how to really get involved with helping others change. Excellent read and resource!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Peterson
This should be a must read for all Christians! Extremely insightful and completely biblical. You will be challenged to see others, and yourself the way God does. Best of all, it will empower you to not only change your own heart, but also to be an effective tool in God's Kingdom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judi Gabai
This book and studies that have come out of it have radically impacted my thinking with respect to how to effect lasting change in the church community-starting with my own heart before the Lord. Living church becomes a way of life. I have been given the opportunity to facilitate a small group using this material and see the same radical heart changes in others as they too move from being consumers to committed and involved participants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judi Gabai
This book and studies that have come out of it have radically impacted my thinking with respect to how to effect lasting change in the church community-starting with my own heart before the Lord. Living church becomes a way of life. I have been given the opportunity to facilitate a small group using this material and see the same radical heart changes in others as they too move from being consumers to committed and involved participants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Cox
It is one of the most Christ centered counseling products I have ever seen or read or used!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Every Christian who desires to be used in the lives of others should read this book. It is an excellent, excellent explanation of how change takes place in a believer. Tripp is very practical, thorough, and scriptural in his approach. He leaves out the psychobabble and goes right to the fact that our hearts are desperately wicked. :) I think I underlined the entire book!! :) Especially good to use as a tool for training anyone preparing for some type of counseling--camp, youth ministry, various mentorship ministries, etc. One that you'll read at least three or four times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Instruments in the Redeemer's Hands: People in Need of Change, Helping People in Need of Change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2004
Customer Avatar
Debrah
This book is a wonderful, thought-provoking book that every Christian should read. Its message is so simple, yet so profound- calling us to see the many ways we can and should minister to those around us. We don't have to be perfect to reach out to others with Christ's love-God can use us while He's still working on our lives as well. I've been involved with various ministries for years, yet found this a wonderful challenge to look for fresh ways to minister 1 on 1 with those around me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.