Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2

Multnomah Books Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2

In the mid-1800s, a little girl is rescued off the streets of New York City . Reverend Joseph offers Kassandra (Sadie, from Ten Thousand Charms) a home, an education, a chance to learn about the love of God, and a cranky housekeeper. It's not a bad package until, when Kassandra is just fifteen years old, Ben Connor sweeps her off her feet, shatters her heart, and steals her hope. From one NYC brothel to another in San Francisco, and a baby in between, Kassandra winds up in Wyoming Territory with scarcely a light in her eye. Then she meets Gloria, who's pregnant and desperate, and Biddy, a young girl of great faith. After all Kassandra has been through, what could they possibly teach her that life's cruelties haven't already? Perhaps the truth that God never left her, and the chance to return home again.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Review 1 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a touching and heart-wrenching story of a girl abandoned at a young age and rescued by a godly man. While it seems as though she rarely has choices, the greatest one comes when she chooses to give herself to the One who loves her. A painfully beautiful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
eileen
Location:long island ny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
will share this book with friends. Was a great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mazy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't been able to put this book down, the same with Book #1 of the series. Written in a surprisingly frank way, not something that is found in many Christian fiction books (at least in my experience).
I'm sorry the third installment is out of print - would love to have read that one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a book I would expect Christian Books to sell.

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Chapin
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to read 34 chapters before anything uplifting. I'm not interested in alcohol and prostitution. I will not pass this book on to family or friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele
This is a powerful book - the reality of tragedy in life and God's presence through it all. Pittman's writing style is high caliber, yet not difficult to read. Pittman is now one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
deloris sachs
I am very disappointed with the author that felt they had to use God name in vain, this book could have been written with out that. And for a christian bookstore to sell it is another disappointed. The third commandment says "thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain". I will not buy from this author again and feel that people have a right to know if there is profanity in a book before their money wasted. I threw the book away and never got past that page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
June Stedman
This book is extremely tragic. The main character keeps making horrible decisions, that are not really explained by the author. I think if a character makes a bad decision, the author should have brought the reader to a point where you understand why the character did that. This author does not. I enjoyed the book enough to finish it, but it was reading about a very sad life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judie Harrell
This series is very well written and kept my attention. Hard to put down. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Haynes Robertson
This book is awesome! It kept me totally engaged throughout the entire book. I love the way God's redemptive power is shown to be never ending. Kassie takes a long time to learn that you just can't out-sin God's forgiveness, but the journey is absolutely captivating. Can't wait to read book #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mildred Zeen
I enjoyed this book very much. It keeps you wanting to read more and more. Hard to put down. After you read this what ever troubles you might think you have seem so small compared to Kassandra. Hope their is more books coming from Allison Pittman
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra Moore
When Reverend Joseph plucks a gravely wounded child from the mean streets of Manhattan's rough Five Points District, he intends to give her a real home. And though Kassandra flourishes in the preacher's house, learning Bible verses at his knee and going to school, as a young teenager she makes the first of many devastating decisions, running away from the only haven she's ever known. With great attention to detail, Allison Pittman shows the misery of the historic Five Points District during the 1840s and gives unique views into the underhanded and terrible ways people often employed to survive the overwhelming poverty. Kassandra's journey will draw you in. Complete with realistic, flawed characters, Speak through the Wind is The Prodigal Son retold. It offers hope to anyone who feels themself beyond hope and an ending that is very satisfying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Speak Through the Wind, Crossroads of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In the mid nineteenth century in New York City, Reverend Joseph Hartmann almost hits the little girl with his carriage. The pastor of the Tenth Street Methodist Church takes her into his home calling her Sparrow though her name is Kassandra. He teaches her to love God and she helps him in little ways. When she turns fifteen, she meets Ben Connor, who delivers packages for Samsons Butcher. He persuades her to leave Joseph so that the reverend can find a wife and have a family, but Ben turns out to be a shake-down artist and a snake who uses charm or muscle to get what he wants. Once he achieves his goal, he discards the heartbroken Kassandra into the mean streets.Humiliated and hurt, instead of returning to Joseph, Kassandra obtains work at local brothels, but soon leaves the city. She obtains employment on the sheets regardless of where she goes. Kassandra believes that God abandoned his sparrow until she meets two desperate women in Silver Peak, Wyoming Territory where she sells her body at Jewel Gunns fancy brothel as Sadie. Gloria is pregnant with no hope while Biddy believes the Lord will help them through this crisis. The three women bond with each gaining so much strength from one another and from God.The second Crossroads of Grace tale (see TEN THOUSAND CHARMS) is a wonderful tale of second chance salvation and redemption. Readers will feel they accompany Sparrow from the onset of her physical journey from New York to San Francisco to the Wyoming Territory as much as her spiritual trek away from God. Allison Pittman writes a powerful inspirational historical starring a fallen woman who believes God has forsaken her until she meets Gloria and Biddy.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.