Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

FaithWords Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover

The absence of the father Miranda Carson never knew left her feeling rootless and unwanted. Now she's determined to find him. When a few feeble clues lead her to a London family, she faces a terrible choice---reveal details about her father's identity or shield the truth from people she has come to love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Review 1 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Link
Location:Keswick,ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. Wish there more in this series. After book 2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Del Gardner
Finding Father Christmas held my interest throughout. Some intrigue involved with heartwarming Christmas touches. A nice read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joann Johnson
I enjoyed this book. I also think it Bookclub material will recommend it to our club. I liked the style of writng and use of words.I thought it was interesting the psychological effects of their past that was protrayed in the characters of Miranda and matriarch of of Whitman family. It proved to me what lengths people will go to connect with their roots and how important knowing our beginnings can be. Sometimes without knowing the past it is hard to move on to the future. I am anxious to get the sequel to see if and how they move on. GREAT BOOK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendi
Perfect for : Personal reading, Book Club reading, GREAT Gift Book (Note: the book does include discussion questions at the end) In a nutshell: I think this is my ALL-TIME favorite holiday book (especially when combined with the sequel!). Going against her quiet nature, Miranda Carson leaves America and travels to England where she hopes to find her birth father by tracking down the studio who produced the only photograph she has of him. This is a heart-warming story of a blossoming faith and a quest to find family. I fell in love with the characters and the homey feeling this story gave me. My favorite characters in the book are Katharine and Andrew MacGregor, and Ellie and Julia Whitcombe. These characters help to spread a warmth throughout the story (along with the other characters of course!), full of new experiences, warmth, acceptance and growth. This was a quick read for me, made more enjoyable by the approaching holidays (yes - I would put up my Christmas tree today if my family would let me!) I highly suggest reading this book, and plan to give a few sets for Christmas gifts this year! My Review: I absolutely loved this book and the sequel, Engaging Father Christmas. It was a fast read for me that made me feel warm and peaceful. I highly recommend both books for personal reading, book club reading (there are include discussion questions) and as books that would be great for gifts! Overall: This was a beautifully written book, that will surely be a cherished favorite among holiday stories. It is a nice easy read that could easily be shared with the rest of the family (no questionable scenes or language). readers will fall in love with the characters and ambiance throughout the book, and will look forward to reading the sequel. I especially enjoyed the dark green printing in the book instead of the normal black lettering - it helped to complete the holiday feel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Audrey Jaeb
I love the way this author always has her characters asking the same questions about God that we all have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
An okay read. It is definitely not great literature but an easy pleasant read for holiday reading. I suppose I will get the sequel if it doesn't cost too much. Very predictable plot. It is just a simple warm fuzzy story. I thought it a very slow story. If you like that sort of thing it is worth getting. If you prefer suspense then skip it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This was a nice, cup of cocoa kind of read. While it had some poignant and soul-searching moments, I didn't find it very deep or compelling. But then again, I'm not much of a warm fuzzy Christmas story kind of book reader, either. So there was not enough conflict to make my heart respond. But it was a nice story and I want to read the next book in the series. I want to know what will happen to Miranda's love life since this story had no romance in it at all. Maybe if the book had been longer than a novella the author could have probed the inner workings of her heart more. But given the limitations of the word count, the author did a good job with this novel. It was well-written, and I finished it, which is a rare occurrence these days. Need I say more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie Wales
I simply loved this book. Can't wait for the sequel, Engaging Father Christmas. This is a great title to give to a searching friend who doesn't yet know the Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
TamiH
This is just the kind of book I like to read around the holidays! There is a sense of hope and good cheer about the people Gunn writes about. It makes me to want to invite them all over for Christmas dinner at my house! The theme of belonging is beautifully captured in Miranda's recognition that belonging to the family of God makes Christmas not just a holiday, but a state of mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finding Father Christmas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In San Francisco raised by her single mother, Miranda Carson feels profoundly lonely and finds a deep need to meet her biological father, a man she has never met. Her clues as to who he is are somewhat meager. She has an old photograph that she assumes is her father while on its back is stamped a studio in Carlton Heath, England; a birth certificate; and a playbill for The Tempest starring her mother in a Michigan theatre.With nothing to keep her in the states, Miranda decides to spend Christmas in England in search of her father. From London she goes to Bexley Lane, the address in the photo. There she is treated with warmth and friendship starting with a cup of tea and ending at the community production of A Christmas Carol and the party afterward. Although she feels some guilty for not revealing who she or her mission especially when she realizes her dad is hero to these kind people, Miranda feels at home for the first time in a long time.The deep characterizations make this Christmas tale a winner. The English family and Miranda seem real as she debates telling these loving people the truth, which mean hurting an image they have of her father. Mindful of While You Were Sleeping, FINDING FATHER CHRISTMAS is a wonderful uplifting Yuletide tale that emphasizes everyone needs to feel welcomed and loved.-----------------Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.