Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books For Young Women Only

Multnomah Books For Young Women Only

The mystery of guys is unraveled in this book just for young women. Find out just how a guy thinks and what he might be thinking about you as you delve into the male psyche to better understand the opposite sex. In an "ask the expert" style, you'll find answers to why they are so visually stimulated, what he really wants to tell you and much more! A national scientific survey and in-depth discussion provide an exceptional understanding about the male mind so you can feel more comfortable around guys by knowing more about them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Young Women Only
Review 1 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Young Women Only

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Belle Cat
Location:Walnut, California
Gender:female
Easy to read. Gets to the point. My daughter loves the book and highly recommends it for all the young girls to read it. The book is not too long to read but short enough to get the points across.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changed the whole way I thought about guys

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
YMoriah
Location:Vermont
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first picked up the book thinking it would be an interesting read. Months later, I'm still processing what I learned. I thought I knew so much about guys, but I was so wrong! My friend and I got together, ordered a bunch more of the books, and are now leading a book discussion with teenage girls. Every time we meet for discussion, lightbulbs go on, not just for the girls but for my friend and I as well! Over and over, I've gone to a trusted male family member or friend and asked, "Is this true?" And over and over, the man has replied, "Yes. You didn't know that?" As I change many of the ways in which I interact with guys, I see a surprisingly positive response from guys. I am loving it!
Drawing on the results of surveys, interviews, and focus group discussions, the authors reveal 6 surprises about guys:
1. Guys need respect: Guys would rather feel unloved than inadequate and disrespected.
2. Guys are insecure: Although guys look confident--even cocky at times--they are often insecure in themselves. They worry that they will be found out, and therefore are drawn to girls who help them feel like they measure up.
3. Guys are tough and indestructible: Guys look indestructible, but on the inside their hearts are tender, easily hurt, and strongly guarded. However, they will let down their defenses when they know their heart will be safe with a girl.
4. Guys are visual: Even decent guys in great dating relationships struggle with the desire to visually linger on and fantasize about the female body--and much of the struggle depends on what the girl is wearing.
5. Guys are all out for one thing: Teenage guys are conflicted by their powerful physical desires, which also have massive emotional consequences. Guys need your help to protect both of you.
6. Guys go after the hot girls: Guys are attracted to girls with a good personality as well as inner and outer beauty, but they can't force a physical attraction.
The book is filled with real-life examples and quotes from the guys themselves (some of which are hysterically funny). I would highly recommend this book for any young woman who wants to become a better classmate, friend, sister, daughter, girlfriend, or future wife!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I hightly recommend this book.

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jackie
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this book three different times over the last four years for Jr and Sr High girls. It never ceases to amaze me how little they understand teenage boys but they always want to learn. There is great info delivered in a way they can understand and learn from. I would recommend it to any teenage girl, especially the ones who think they don't need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pauline Toomb
I had "For Women Only", finally read it, ordered "For Young Women Only" which my younger daughter (soon to be 19) is reading and last night I heard her boyfriend reading her book aloud as they were together laughing in affirmation. I just ordered "For Young Men Only", which he cannot wait to read from cover to cover! Thank you, thank you! Expectations based on facts make for loving-lasting relationships w/ others and certainly w/ our Lord!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lizzy DeSmit
This is an amazing book!!! I used it as part of my devotional!!! It was a big eye opener!!! It really makes you reconsider everything you do or wear for the rest of your life!!! lol I love the honesty from the guys!!! It helps!!! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristina Hill
This was an amazing book! I had never thought about guys the way this book presented them. Knowledge is power and you learn a lot of it in this book! They key is to use it for a healthy relationship, not to use it against the men in your life. I have learned how to better deal with all men in my life friends, relatives, and the man I love. I would recommend this book to open girls' eyes to the need to control your clothing choices and how to keep God first in your dealings with men. Great Read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
LOVED THIS BOOK! It really made me want to challenge myself on how I dress and how I treat guys. It was a great read. Every girl should read it, there is stuff in there that us girls should know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Lupa
This was, and is a terrible book. I could go into the gender stereotypes and assumptions that undermine both women and men, or I could point out the severely flawed theology promoted by the authors; furthermore, I could explain how very little of it reflects anything about what Jesus said, and how most of it harms a young girl's self-esteem at a time when, let's face it, girl's are incredibly vulnerable to self-esteem problems. However, why do something that has already been expertly outlined by Megan Greulich.As a 22 year old woman, I am relieved I never read this book as a teen.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Iris Lim
This is a good book. Yet it is a weak sequel to its excellent predecessor For Women Only. Young girls would probably learn alot from it, although I personally found it more informative rather than character-building. Therefore, remember to expect information for the mind rather than mentorship for the soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Desimone
I read this along with my 3 teenage daughters. It opened up the door for more serious topics and brought us closer.The dress code is always an issue. I know that they understand more about modesty in todays wild world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nicole Oddo
Excellent book. My daughter and I read it together. She loved the way the christian aspect of morality was mixed in with a teenage point of view. A major factor for her was that other teenagers were talking to her, rather than another adult trying to tell her how she needed to be. Her direct quote was, "Mom, do you have any idea how it would help my friends to read this book?" I'm convinced that books like these combined with lots of prayer make a difference or at least give our teens something to seriously think about. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Allen
I gave this to a teen who loved it so much she shared it with her friends telling them it was one of the best books she had ever read. The whole series is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carissa
My sister and I recently read this book, and we both agree that it is an excellent book. (I am 18 and she is almost 17.) I has really helped me to understand how much they need our respect and encouragment as young women. It also did a pretty good job of explaining exactly what respect looks like. I have already begun changing the way I speak to young men. I highly recommend this book to teenage girls who want to know how the can help their brothers in Christ. I do have one word of caution for parents-- There is a chapter about physical affection.You may want to read over it first to see if your daughter is ready for it. Maybe discuss it with her. It is not really bad, but for girls that are more protected, it may be a little too much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie
This book was an eye opener....I hightly recomend it....I couldn't put it down and I now think more about guys in a different light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Cruz
I loved this book! I personally am way beyond the "young woman" stage, and it even helped me understand men. I am excited to send this book to my nieces. I am now going to buy and read For Women Only and get my husband to read For Men Only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Stone
I purchased this book for a friend's 14-year-old daughter, and read it prior to presenting it to her. I found it sociologically informative and accurate, a good book I recommend with a caviat. Consider as a companion "Sexual Character" by Marva Dawn to add the theological component. Dawn's book is a must for jr high and high school girls. Due to its nature I presented Dawn's book to the mom to read first, as it is sure to provoke a lot of very interesting pursuant conversation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kara
This book was really good and enlightening. Its a real eye opener about the reality of it all and i'd recomend it to every young women out there :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leticia Lares
Great Book! It was very interesting to read what boys think about girls, look for in girls and would like a girl to be for when they marry. I have twin girls that loved the book and found it informational. It opened their minds, a bit, as why boys do what they do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ashleigh
This book is amazing! After you get over the initial shock you can really learn a lot. I was amazed to see how many times topics the book covers would come up exactly as described in the book that I would be completely oblivious to before. This book is a must have for every teen girl!! It definitely challenged me to change far more than any other book I had read on similar topics because you hear it from the guys' mouths! It's not what some lady has observed but what actual guys have to say. After letting close friends borrow it, the one girl had her older brother evaluated it and turns out - "they got that pretty accurate!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for For Young Women Only
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Maria Porter
I like the book as it sticks to teen language and concerns. Relationship with guys will change if the challenges are taken seriously. What is lacking is emphasis on God and the power of His word. Scripture is sprinkled here and there, but no references given. If I am going to run, I can run better if I have the admonition of God chasing me. I think a sequel might be good, giving practical ways for girls to "work on themselves." I know the purpose of the book is to reveal the male teen mind; and there it is in all of that testosterone, hardly an excuse to "go all the way". Both girls and guys need Christ in His purity to reign in their hearts. I think the book might be discouraging in its facts, true as they are. God gives the way out in temptation, but after reading this I am stuck with a big HOW? It would be good to use it with a godly leader in small group discussion, preferably a personable leader who has, with the Lord, worked out good ways to stay out of temptation. It is eye opening and I recommend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>