Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1

Multnomah Books Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1

Sixteen-year-old Leinad thought he was a common farmer's son, nothing more - but one tragic event initiates a world of revelation. Leinad is thrust into adversity and danger - for the Dark Knight and his vicious Shadow Warriors will stop at nothing to thwart the King's plan to restore the kingdom. Includes discussion questions and is a great resource for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Review 1 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exciting Bible-based allegorical fantasy

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first heard of the “Kingdom Series” by Chuck Black, a homeschooling father, and began noticing it in catalogues back as early as 2004. In Kingdom’s Dawn, the first book, Cedric of Chessington tells the story of Leinad beginning when the latter was sixteen years old. For four years, Leinad had been trained in swordsmanship by his farmer father Peyton who is a loyal servant of the unseen King. Leinad’s mother Dinan had died when he was eight. They lived in the Kingdom of Arrethtrae on a farm in the Plains of Kerr, near the town of Mankin, along the western shore of the Great Sea. After adopting a girl named Tess, Peyton is killed by the Dark Knight Lucius, his henchman Zane, who happens to be Leinad’s older brother, and their Shadow Warriors.
With the help of their friend Gabrik the blacksmith, Leinad and Tess flee. Then, after escaping the destructive Vactor Deluge, they sojourn in the Valley of Nan and work on the Stanton farm. However, Leinad is betrayed by his fellow workers and sold into slavery to Lord Fairos of Pyron Mid in the region of Nyland. Eventually, Tess is captured and brought as a slave to Pyron Mid as well. Because of his training in swordsmanship, Leinad is chosen to train Fairos’s men but after a battle with the Eminafs he protests Fairos’s treatment people of Nan and is taken out into the Banteen Desert to be killed by the Moshi Beasts. What will happen to Leinad? And the big question is, will he remain loyal to the King no matter what? The entire Kingdom Series of six books is intended as an allegory that attempts to capture the incredible true story of the Bible.
The first book covers creation, paradise, the fall, the flood, the patriarchs, and the Egyptian bondage. The second book, Kingdom’s Hope, continues this line of symbolism to the end of the Old Testament. The following books are Kingdom’s Edge, Kingdom’s Call, Kingdom’s Quest, and Kingdom’s Reign. I have not read any of the others besides the first one, but someone has said that the first three are based on the Old Testament, while the last three are based on the New Testament. I have also been told that the last two do relate to the tribulation and millennium. However, what some like about them is that they are Bible-based fantasy in a medieval type of setting with no magic, mysticism, or wizardry. There is only sword fighting, along with accurate descriptions of battle and torture, but these ar age-appropriate and not gratuitous. Some people may not like Biblical allegory, but I found Kingdom’s Dawn to be exciting reading that is full of adventure. There are discussion questions in the back of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdventuresinOdysseyLover
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my birthday a couple of years ago and have since gotten the rest of the series and a couple of the Knights of Arrethtrae books, also by Chuck Black. I recommend these books to everyone - they are fantastic allegorical books that teach wonderful lessons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whole Family Loved It

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelley Dillard-hamm
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this series for my 8 year old. We started reading it as a family and have finished Book 1. We all loved it and can't wait to find out what happens in the remaining 5 books. Great story and you can really tell the parallels of the story with stories from the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tween Book!!!

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old picked up this first book and could not put it down. She quickly read the second and is now on to the third in the series. She has not liked to read much so it is awesome to see her enjoying these books so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great adventure for kids

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leinad is sixteen years old – the son of a farmer. He has spent his life working the land, and practicing sword fighting with his father. He eventually learns that the sword fighting was not just to pass the time. Leinad has been called to serve the King. He sets out on his journey with a young girl named Tess, facing many hardships as they find themselves the enemy of the Dark Knight and his Shadow Warriors who want nothing more than to ruin the plans of the King.
Kingdom’s Dawn is book one in the Kingdom Series, and it’s a great start. The book is written as Youth fiction, but I think it makes a pretty good light read for adults as well. There is a lot of symbolism and representation of Bible stories and figures, from the rebellion of Lucifer to Moses and the burning bush. Based on this book alone, I would expect the series to take us through the most important moments of the Bible all the way through Revelations and Jesus’ return to establish His Kingdom. The symbolism is pretty easy to grasp if you know the Bible, but just in case you miss some things there is a discussion guide with answers in the back of the book. The only problem I had with the book actually came in the first few chapters with regard to the writing style. It was loaded with adjectives. For example, “The night breeze chills my moist face as I gaze across the rhythmic mass and see the outline of hundreds of other galant ships.” The almost poetic feel goes on for a bit as the narrator fills us in about himself before he starts telling us about Leinad. It does, however, lessen after the story gets going.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Series!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
kitkat
Location:WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12 year old daughter LOVES these books! She is currently listening to the audio version now that she has finished reading them. She has also started reading his continuation series, Knights of Arrethtrae. So far she LOVES the other series as much as the first. My 10 year old daughter is just beginning his books and loving them as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookmoms
Location:Middlefield, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommendation: Highly Recommended
In the first book of the Kingdom Series we are introduced to Peyton and his son Leinad. Peyton has faithfully trained Leinad for many years to be a skillful swordsman. Leinad has learned the skill well, but has often questioned in his own heart and mind the reasons for this training. As the story unfolds the reasons become clear. Leinad has been chosen by the King to helpl save his Kingdom or die trying.
Positives: Action and adventure are found with every turn of the page. The biblical allegories are very apparent to young readers with some knowledge of the Bible. The story helps bring Scriptural truths alive. As always, Mr. Black has included a very helpful discussion guide complete with Biblical references to aid you in your discussion with your children.
Negatives: None
Talking Points: Test their knowledge of the Old Testament stories and characters represented throughout the book. Use the discussion guide to help your children see all the Biblical details woven into the story and use the Scriptures that accompany each question to further train them in the mastery of the Sword.
Age Level: 8 years old and up
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift for juveniles

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read 2 books in this series and really enjoyed them. I purchased this book for our church library as a request from a 12 year old boy who loves to read. At the end of each book is a music score, written by the author's daughter.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:South Dakota
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I this book for christmas I started to read it,and finally couldn't stop.Chuck back is a great writer that I love now,he has good books for the Xbox generation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book can be read over and over again

Date:December 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brey
Location:Austin TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my mom bought this book for my little brother I have to admit that I thought I'd be cheesy.... I don't think I could have been more wrong! I picked it up on rainy saturday with nothing eles to do-- I finnished it that day! After reading the whole series book 1and2 are still my favorites=) I love the way Chuck Black draws you into the story, and his writing style is one of the best i've ever seen. Not only are these books a great adventure but there was always somthing I could take away from the story. These charecters struggle with the same things we do, faith, fear,love, and at the end they must make the ultimate choice (as do we all) whom will they serve?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
I bought these for my son, but I'm reading them first. I'm not convinced yet that my son will like them. I'm on book 2. I don't like the writer's style, but I find the plot which parallels the Bible's plot intriguing, so I keep reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Maxwell
I thought it was awesome! I liked the way Chuck Black told Bible stories in a medevil way. And I believe that it would be a great way to tell children Bible stories. Keep up the good work and God bless you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Anderson
When I first picked up Kingdom's Dawn it was the beginning of a life time adventure for me. I could not stop my yearning for more! I've learned alot from the Kingdom Series, not only are they fun to read I've always had a hard time understanding the Bible but, when I read the Kingdom Series all that changed. I was reading my Bible once and I thought the passage sounded familiar and then I remember the Kingdom Series story about it and I knew how much they have helped me grow in the Spirit. I love them!!! I highly recommend these books to all, young and old!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Shackelford
My children and I read the book and listened to the Cd together. We love this Christian book and Cd series. I am a homeschool mom and we also used the question and answers in the back of the book for our discussions and found them very helpful. Wonderful story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabel Kasparie
My 12 year old daughter, really enjoyed these series. Got them for her for Christmas. Read them myself and enjoyed the book, especially like his question and answers in the back of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ellen Reinig
This series is great for the entire family. It combines adventure, mystery, and biblical allegory in a way that brings the Gospels to new light. Highly recommend the entire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Sanders
We bought the entire set of the Kingdom Series for my 9-year old son for his birthday. He is enjoying them immensely and really likes the action and storyline.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
I was very pleased! For some reason, I thought that I wouldn't like this book as much as I would another because it was Bible stories that I already knew, retold. Plus, i read reviews with parents talking about their eight-year olds enjoying this series. I was sooooo wrong! This book is great! Full of adventure and lots of Biblical truths, it's a wonderful adition a young teens library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eve Nielsen
Excellent series! Full of adventures and great teaching. High standards are taught here! An awesome book for boys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
John3v36
From one of my favorite series! Great for reading aloud with the family. The kids enjoy reading them on their own. They are a great flight of the imagination and full of suspense, action, and drama. On top of being incredible fantasy stories, these books contain very clear allegory which can easily be related back to passages from the Bibleeven by our 8 year old. The series takes you through the whole Bible in only a few characters. Definitely a must-read from age 8 to 80!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>