Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1

Multnomah Books Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1

After her father's murder, Desiree Jacobs stumbles upon an ugly truth---her father was an art thief. Should she turn over the stolen paintings to the feds or surrender the artwork to the bad guys? A death threat warns her not to cooperate with the law. Will she trust God's leading---even if it isn't safe? 350 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Review 1 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Page Turner

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
butterflii410
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The "Reluctant Burglar" was a book you couldn't put down. It kept you intrigued and surprised. Desiree Jacobs was put in a very difficult situation and her faith was tested. Torn between doing the right thing and being faithful to her father, Desiree discovers what God has in store for her and the strength to make it through. A definite must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia Ferrell
I love Christian mystery and was looking for a new author since I had read all the books written by my favorite authors. I was not disappointed. Jill Nelson did an excellent job of keeping you in suspence with constant action. I had a hard time putting it down. Loved it! Can't wait to read more of her writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nonna Wagner
This was an interesting book. Certainly worth the price.An interesting concept although sometimes a little uneven in the story line. A surprise ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Lynch
Loved the characters, writing and pacing of this story. Not an everything-solved-in-the-last-chapter rush of events but a steady building read. Even though she is fictional, Desiree is a believable person who rushes in to "save the day" like we all want to and gets real-world results i.e bumps, bruises and hurt egos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
A good mystery with the mixture of a family not aware of what is going on in the business.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Della Fulda
I love Christian mystery and was looking for a new author since I had read all the books written by my favorite authors. I was not disappointed. Jill Nelson did an excellent job of keeping you in suspence with constant action. I had a hard time putting it down. Loved it! Can't wait to read more of her writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Desiree Jacobs is an art buff. She works for her father at his internationally renowned security company that specializes in museum management. Yet while her father is overseas, hes murdered. As Desiree tries to pick up the pieces and learn what happened, she discovers what Special Agent Tony Lucano has known for a long timeher father was an art thief. Then Desiree is left with a container of priceless stolen paintings, paintings that museums dont even know are missing. Desiree is suddenly launched into a cat and mouse game with unknown art thieves, hidden codes, kidnapping, and more. She must discover why her honest father would turn to thievery and whether Tony, the same man who believed her father a felon and Desiree a possible accomplice, can be trusted. She must depend on her faith, integrity, and true friends to get her through. To think this is Nelsons first book! The characters are great, jump-off-the-page realistic. Its gripping novel, with just the right dash of romance and humor. The writing is superb; Ms. Nelsons words flow, grab you, and pull you in. I cant wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine
I read this book in just one evening. I just couldn't put it down. The storyline and the characters are so well written it is like you are stepping into their world. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a great mystery with a little romance mixed in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Everything that Desiree Jacobs father Hiram taught her about honor, integrity, faith, and God is tested after she learns he is murdered. The foundation of her world is severely shaken. Who could she turn to for answers!! Desiree discovers hope in unexpected ways! How could she try to find out who killed her father,when the FBI is keeping close tabs on her every move. They still had her as a suspect in her father's murder. Unthinkable! She needed to help them find the killer. But how?Desiree & her father owned a rein securities company and staged robberies to see how well the current security system was doing or could hold up under pressure. This reminded me of a movie that I really liked called "THE CROWN AFFAIR". In the movie it showed this very thing going on. I could imagine Desiree playing the lead and going thru elaborate measures to steal these paintings without anyone seeing what she did because there was a big enough distraction going on somewhere else. Then she would go thru just as much trouble to put the picture back again without anyone knowing. It was fascinating and suspenseful.Things get messy and complicated when there is an attempt on Desiree's life. Why would someone try to kill her? She thought she was safe. Maybe she needed to ask for help after all? Things were getting beyond her control. Who could she turn to? Could she even think about asking God for help? It's been a while. Why not, she has tried everything else?This was one fast passed interesting story. You will really get to like Desiree and root for her throughout the book. It has a satisfying ending. There are two other books in this series. The Reluctant Runaway and Reluctant Smuggler. The story of Desiree continues in these other exciting adventures.Nora St.LaurentBook Club Servant Leaderwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Desiree Jacobs beloved father has been murdered, but the beautiful museum security expert has little time to wallow in her sorrow. Handsome FBI agent Tony Lucano is set on proving her deceased father an art thief. Desiree is every bit as determined to prove his innocence. But the further she delves into her fathers affairs, the more it looks like the agent could be right especially when her fathers secret codes lead her to a warehouse container full of stolen paintings. Determined to avoid further sullying of her fathers name, Desiree sets out to secretly return the priceless pieces of art. Why would a man of integrity like Hiram Jacobs be involved in an art theft ring? Desiree means to find out, but will her probing open a Pandoras Box of secrets shed rather not know? Danger lurks around every corner, and just when she thinks things can get no worse, suspicion falls on the person closest to her. Now shes forced to turn to her nemesisFBI guy Lucanofor assistance and protection. Reluctant Burglar is a masterpiece of intrigue and romance. This tightly written tale, spiced with the authors special brand of humor, keeps the reader flipping those pages until the stunning finale comes hurtling in right out of left field. A genuine work of art
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
This is the first book in a very entertaining series. You will enjoy the read and I think the author is doing a wonderful job developing the characters and her writing. You can see improvement from the first book to the second and I look forward to the third. I gave it 4 stars, but in some ways it was a 5 star book. I love spunky women and HMOGS-Hot Men of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Sleeman
If you love traditional romances spiced with an action plot that twists and turns, youll love Reluctant Burglar by Jill Elizabeth Nelson. The opening chapters are filled with tumultuous changes in the life of Desiree Jacobs. As partner with her father in HJ Securities, a firm that specializes in providing top notch security for art galleries, museums, private clients, etc., Desiree is tasked with finding the weak link in their security systems so that HJ Securities can offer better protection. Desiree takes the unorthodox route of stealing a prized piece of art then returning it to the owner to demonstrate the weak link. Couple this adventurous job with a father whos accused of art theft, murdered in his bed, and an attempt to do the same to Desiree, interest and you have a suspense tale that keeps you reading. Tack on a desirable FBI agent Tony Lucano, who no matter how much he denies it, is drawn to Desiree and you have romance that equals the suspense. The plot drives this novel from start to finish with surprises all along the way. Just when you think nothing else will surprise you, Nelson tosses in another one to keep you reading. If youre not a plot kind of person but are in this book for the romance only, the developing relationship between Desiree and agent Tony Lucano is strong enough to fulfill that need as well. As a bonus, youll also receive an interesting insight into the world of art iniquities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2007
I think that Desiree had an awesome job. I really liked Desiree's ability to disguise herself enough to fool people for her job. I enjoyed the scene where she almost got caught even though the room she was in was almost impossible to get out of. I know that the guy on the cover is supposed to be Tony but for some reason I kept picturing Tony Almeida from 24. He just suited better to me what Tony would look like. Desiree's and Tony's relationship starts off annoying at first because no matter what she does he doesn't trust her. Eventually he realizes her true character, it was just frustrating that he had already prejudged her. I kept thinking about the Da Vinci Code while reading the book because of the talk about paintings and art museums. And I also recalled an episode of Magnum PI where there is a father/daughter art thief duo just like in this book. While I enjoyed the book, I felt that some parts dragged a little. To me the middle part of the story didn't grab my attention the way the first part or the end did. I still enjoyed reading this book though. There were twists that I didn't see coming and lots of suspense. I also have a new respect for art after learning so much about it in this book. I'll be looking forward to the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
In several ways I'm thoroughly impressed with this novel. The characters seemed real and likeable and the plot was complex. In fact, if I didn't know that the author was a woman, I'd assume a man had written this story at first because it was so graphic and had some very mafia-esque scenes that were not at all feminine. Like the portion that went into his former relationship and betrayal. That was great!!!I also especially liked the fact that the hero and heroine were both Christians. :) There were some tense moments in this story and the romance was very well done. I held my breath more than once. I love it when you aren't sure who the double-crossing mole is and you start to suspect everyone. I also really enjoyed the times when Desi had to break in and swap paintings during her theft job. That was great stuff.The author also had some good one-liners. For example; She ought to have her brain removed and forensically examined for discombobulated synapses. And one way she described Tony's extreme anger... If steam could escape out his pores, he'd be a toxic cloud. :) Is that great stuff, or what?On the other end, I found the terrorist's dialogue a bit cheesy-sounding. Or maybe the fact that once Desi stopped thieving and the FBI took over and she became the victim, it didn't work as well for me. I thought the ending was almost too detailed. The humor also seemed misplaced and more feminine. So I went from fear and anxiety at the beginning of the story, to not feeling like I'm really there toward the end. Like I was in a sit-com show. Very strange. I think the dialogue is what killed it. Up until that point I was there. Overall, I'd say I really enjoyed the story and would probably enjoy the next one as well. There was just that weakness toward the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Linda Wichman
What to do when the father you idolized, loved, and trusted confesses in writing, he is a smuggler and art thief? And what to do after hes murdered and youre the only person to clear his reputation and find his murderer? Fearing to lose her family business Desiree Jacobs pokes about the cutthroat world of international art theft. The attempts on her life testify that someones not happy about her nosing around. Desirees scheme to vindicate her father is waylaid by handsome, bullheaded Special Agent Tony Lucano whos out to establish that her father, Hiram, was an international criminal and Desiree his accomplice. The sparks between Desiree and Tony are instantaneous but neither will admit anything but distrust and animosity simmer beneath their faades. Besides, why should Desiree care about the very man determined to ruin her life? First time author, Jill Elizabeth Nelson, has woven a romantic suspense that has upped the ante for all future romance-suspense novels. In the prestigious form of Victoria Holt and the rough and tumble, intelligent wit of Dashiell Hammets, The Maltese Falcon, Jill Elizabeth Nelsons unique voice and style will keep you reading to completion and then begging for her second book of the, To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Runaway.Run dont walk to your nearest bookstore!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jill Eileen Smith
Reluctant Burglar is a wonderful mix of romance and suspense and kept me turning pages, rooting for both hero and heroine, right up until the end. The "who-done-it" factor held plenty of twists and turns, and I was happily kept in suspense, not figuring out the mystery too soon.I've had a glimpse of Jill Nelson's work in the past and knew the book would be good, but this story went beyond my expectations - a compelling read!I look forward to reading the next in this series and will definitely keep an eye on this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cheryl R
Desiree Jacobs has just stolen a painting and now she must take it back and confess her wrongdoing, without getting caught by FBI agent Anthony Lucano. He's trying to catch theives involved in a stolen art ring and he has Desiree's father at the top of his list. Desiree knows her widower father would never do anything illegal and harbors a lot of resentment toward the two agents. But then her father is murdered overseas and Desiree's life begins to unravel and she finds even those closest to her can't be trusted. A quick and easy read, Reluctant Burgler is a good book to curl up with on a bad weather day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Deborah Piccurelli
This was an exciting and quick read for me. The story moved swiftly, which I prefer in my reading material. Jill Nelson's attention to detail for both the art world and the mechanics of the FBI lent an authenticity to this novel that made me feel I had entered the world of the characters myself. If you like romantic suspense, you'll love Reluctant Burglar!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Griep
Danger, romance, humor, mystery, The Reluctant Burglar by Jill Elizabeth Nelson delivers all that and more. From the theft of a Renoir in chapter one, to a terrorist kidnapping at the end, main character Desiree Jacobs entangles herself in one adventure after another. Personally, I thought her grandest challenge came in the shape of a well-muscled FBI agent named Tony Lucano.Beyond the entertainment factor of an engaging plot, The Reluctant Burglar connects with readers via every day, real-life strugglesbetrayal by a friend, grief over losing a loved one, and loneliness. These issues are woven into the fabric of Nelsons characters. I especially liked the Readers Guide questions at the back of the book to further a discussion of these topics from a Biblical perspective.The best news is that theres more to come. This is only book one of the To Catch A Thief series put out by Multnomah. Desi and Tony continue their lively relationship in the second book, The Reluctant Runaway, which comes out in March 2007.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Reluctant Burglar, To Catch a Thief Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Trish Perry
We may not all travel in Desiree Jacobs' circles: high-stakes security; international art theft; cops, robbers, and terrorists--but we can all identify with that awful place of not knowing if those closest to us are trustworthy. Jill Nelson does a fine job of showing how tough Desiree has to be when she suddenly questions whether or not her father, her best friend, and her protector are who they always seemed to be. Half of the fun for the reader is trying to figure it all out before Desiree does. The other half is watching what happens once she stops leaning on her own "wisdom" and leaves it up to God. I'd recommend this fun suspense novel to teens and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>