Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3

Multnomah Books Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3

They say keep your friends close and your enemies closer but what if you can't tell the difference? For security consultant Desiree Jacobs, the assignment is simple: make off with an ancient Mayan artifact, and hand it over to the good guys in time to plan her wedding to ultra-fine FBI agent, Tony Lucano.Yet, in a world where no one is as they seem, Desi must decipher who the good guys are-before she ends up in the hands of a ruthless enemy. Suddenly, artifact recovery turns into archaeological espionage, and the woman who finds all the answers must now ask questions. Who's looting priceless antiquities underneath the nose of the baffled Mexican government? And what does a violent gang of drug and human traffickers have to do with missing artifacts?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Review 1 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Lynne Craft
I loved the whole series. The characters come to life and you can't stop reading. What a page turner!! Desiree and Tony make a powerful team and Jill kept them exciting. Read all 3 in the series. You won't regret it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Lynch
Great summer beach reading! I bought and read all three in the series in rapid succession. Although this one ties up loose ends it seems to do so in a little forced manner. Still fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
I've visited Cancun and the nearby area of the Yucatan peninsula twice and I was totally immersed into the Mayan influence as I read Reluctant Smuggler. I enjoyed the seeing the story unfold even though I had not read the first two in the series. Reluctant Smuggler can stand on it's own but now, of course I want to go back and read the other two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Review by Gretchen Hoffman I was so excited when Reluctant Smuggler came out. I started reading the series when the first two books were out, but I had to wait for this one. Book three did not disappoint. In the final book of the trilogy, Desiree Jacobs faces her most difficult task yet. It started off simple--obtain an antique Mayan artifact and get it to the good guys. But the simple task gets complicated when espionage, people looting Mexican antiquities, corrupt government officials, and a violent gang, the Fraternidad de la Garra, find their way into the picture. How is Desi supposed to plan the perfect wedding to her fianc, FBI agent Tony Lucano, with all this trouble? With injuries, lots of questions, and someone close who ends up in the hospital, Desi faces a lot of "what-if" situations and must rely on more than her wits to survive. She needs to find the truth before anyone else, including herself, gets hurt. If you've read book one and two, this book is a must. Ms. Nelson ties everything together in a thrilling, edge-of-your-seat package. Check it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Wichman
Security consultant Desiree Jacobs is at it--again! What should have been a simple artifact retrieval lands her in the jungles of Mexico, where differentiating the good guys from drug traffickers is no easy job. Whether or not Desiree can outrun the nasty boys and keep her wedding date with FBI agent Tony Lucano proves to be Desiree's greatest adventure yet. Book three of the To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Smuggler by author Jill Elizabeth Nelson is another front runner! Decisively character driven, Reluctant Smuggler is packed with action and riveting suspense that makes for an intense page-turner. I applaud Jill Elizabeth Nelson's gift to transport readers to a world of romantic suspense and, to believe they are with Desiree whether inside a grand palace or the mysterious Mayan ruins. Nelson has a natural gift of unobtrusively showing Desiree's and Tony's unwavering faith. Reluctant Smuggler will appeal to inspirational and secular readers alike. And if you haven't read the first two books of this amazing series you must! Jill Elizabeth Nelson's, Reluctant Smuggler is my favorite of the Catch A Thief series. I'm chewing my nails in suspenseful anticipation for her next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara
I have found a new author! This is a greaat series. I have read all three and hope to see more from Jill Elizabeth Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
For security consultant Desiree Jacobs, the operation should have been almost too easy: Steal an ancient Mayan artifact from a Mexican museum and then return it, thus proving the organizations security measures inadequate and acquiring the job for her own company.Her goal is to get it done, then scoot on out of Mexico and home to Tony Lucano, her hunky FBI agent fianc.But powerful forces have other ideas, and Desis simple operation soon becomes a dangerous mission to recover stolen national artifacts. With key figures in the Mexican government playing both sides of the law, its impossible to tell friends from enemies and good guys from bad.The heinous El Jaguar, trafficker of drugs and humans and looter of national antiquities, could be hidden behind the smiles of any number of government officials. As Desi digs closer to the truth, both she and Tony are targets for elimination, and are in danger even in their own homes on American soil.Will either of them survive long enough to say I do?A pulse-pounding, nail-biting tale of danger and intrigueyet the author weaves in a romantic element strong enough to satisfy even the sappiest of readers. Jill Elizabeth Nelson paints a picture of evil perfectly contrasted by indomitable courage, honor, and unselfish love. Softly drawn and perfectly placed, elements of faith accent the vivid colors of this stunning masterpiece. Reluctant Smuggler is word art at its best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
MJ
Mmmm... Romantic Suspense... Starting with Reluctant Smuggler, book three of the To Catch a Thief Series makes me desperately want to go back and find the first two novels in the series as well as look forward to others. From college, an addiction that I had was to the Jennifer Garner television show Alias, with Sydney Bristow and all her stunts. This book with Desiree and all her actions was right up my alley! Desi is not a CIA agent like Bristow, but she is the owner of HJ Security and a master mind at getting out of tough spots. I was hooked from the beginning, and even though I chose a busy week to make this a read, I had to get it and get my fix everyday until I was through and could find out what would happen next. From breaking into a museum, to being mugged, and pushing for marriage to the hunky FBI man Tony, this girl never quits. There is action with twists and turns and as a reader it is real and riveting page turning thrills. As a person, who has adored FBI, CIA, historical Tomb Raider, Indiana Jones, and the Librarian films... I never saw that coming, or that other thing, or those things... Really, there is so much that I could tell you and go on and on... But to enjoy all that this book has to offer, you really just have to read it yourself... I kid you not. Oh, and the best part about the entire thing! With all of the action and twists and turns and incredible plot ideas, Desi and Tony keep first and foremost their faith in God and through their actions of realistic people I can relate things to my calm and semi normal life to learn to be a better more Christ-like person day-by-day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
Desiree Jacobs wants to be married. And she has everything she could ask for in her fianc, FBI Agent Tony Lucano. But so much seems to be in their way of setting a date. She becomes sidetracked when her assignment to steal an ancient Mayan artifact goes awry and turns into an archeological nightmare. The search for clues brings up old memories she wished she could forget.When Tony becomes seriously injured during an investigation, his life as he knows it is threatened. While grateful to be alive after a near death experience, can he adapt to another career should he be unable to pass his FBI physical? Could he marry Desi if he is not the man she fell in love with?Once again, Jill Nelson brings this couple through a series of challenges. The excitement is non stop from page one. As challenging as their missions, so is their faith tested throughout the journey. Well written and well crafted, the story is sure to please.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberley Woodhouse
Reluctant Smuggler is the third book in the To Catch a Thief Series by Nelson. I was hooked from the beginning of the series and haven't wanted to wait for each book to come out! Jill does an incredible job of shaping her characters - they are real (which would be hard for others to pull off, considering the hero and heroine aren't your average run-of-the-mill '9-5'ers, but Jill does it with great finesse). I found myself yelling at them, laughing at them and wanting to jump in the scene - pull off an impossible art heist and be the FBI agents to catch the bad guys. Full of mystery, intrigue, security capers, laughter, FBI, the love of art and don't forget the on-the-edge-of-your-seat, bite-your-fingernails romance -- you REALLY need to buy this book and the whole series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2008
In Reluctant Smuggler, the third in Jill Elizabeth Nelsons Romantic Suspense, To Catch A Thief Series, we once again find Desiree Jacobs of HJ Securities where she loves to be, up to her eyeballs in stealing a precious and valuable piece of art. This time we find her in Mexico City where she succeeds in stealing her target, the crown of Pakal, only to discover the piece she risked her life for is a forgery. Though she is frustrated with this find and is almost one upped by her competitors, Greybeck and Sons, Desi is tempted to chuck it all and return home to begin planning her wedding to FBI agent, Tony Lucano instead of uncovering the whereabouts of the missing crown of Pakal and protecting her reputation. But as weve learned in the past about Desi, shes the kind of woman who will dig in and fight and she does just that. Hired by Mexican Presidente Montoya to investigate the whereabouts of not only the missing crown, but other stolen art treasures as well, Desi is thrust into a the Mexican underworld, where she becomes a target of merciless killers. Enter, fianc and FBI agent Tony Lucano who defies FBI policy and rushes to Mexico to rescue Desi. Oh, and did I mention, that Tony faces a challenge of his own in this book, a challenge that forces him to confront who he really is.Once again, Nelson brings us an excellent fast-paced plot, with unexpected turns and thrills as we follow Desi in her stay in Mexico and into the black market and her time at home with Tony. The action keeps the story moving along and the information Nelson gives us about art antiquities is authentic and interesting. You can tell from the story that Nelson does her research, not only into the art field itself, but also into the process of securing these valuable treasures. All in all, she provides a very believable story and expertly weaves a spiritual thread of trusting Gods plans no matter what is thrown into the mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donn Taylor
The Reluctant Smuggler is the third and best of Jill Elizabeth Nelson's To Catch a Thief series, with the author's knowledge of art and antiquities adding spice to the narrative's suspense. Desiree (Desi) Jacobs is head of her late father's firm that specializes in museum security. Hired by the Mexican government to find out how the nation's art treasures are being stolen, she follows the trail to the Yucatan Peninsula, where her own artifact and jewelry are stolen and her life threatened by an international gang headed by a man known only as El Jaguar. Meanwhile, Desi's fianc, FBI-agent Tony Lucano, is injured in a raid on a human smuggling ship and lies in a coma back in Boston. While Desi helps Tony regain his health, Tony is marked for assassination because the smuggling operation was El Jaguar's, and the gangster's woman was killed during the raid. Tony and Desi survive and tie up the U.S. end of the case, are married, and embark on their honeymoon in Cancun. There they again become entangled in the smuggling operation and, separately, land in captivity at El Jaguar's hideout in the Yucatan jungles. From that point, the plot moves ever more quickly, with intricate twists, until its explosive resolution. In the telling, the author provides something of interest to everyone: plenty of romance between Desi and Tony, and plenty of suspense in the fast-paced action scenes, which often rival Clive Cussler in the skill of narration. In sum, this is a novel that provides clean entertainment as it deals with the sordid realities of art theft, murder, and human smuggling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Hickey
The Reluctant Smuggler, the third installment in Jill Elizabeth Nelsons To Catch A Thief series, takes the reader from the snow covered landscape of Boston to the tropical jungles of the Yucatan Peninsula, to archaeological digs.While trying to find flaws in the Mexican museums security system, Desiree Jacobs finds herself chased and the false artifact she carries stolen. Back in Boston, her fiance, FBI agent Tony Lucano is almost killed during a raid and lies in a coma. Page turning thrills and suspense tie these two incidents together and threaten to jeopardize Desis and Tonys upcoming wedding.In The Reluctant Smuggler, Jill Elizabeth Nelson digs deeper in Desis and Tonys love for each other, the dangers of crime-solving and protecting precious antiquities, and shows us the strength of true-love. The Reluctant Smuggler was my favorite of the three books in the To Catch a Thief Series. Full of romance, danger, suspense and Gods sovereignty. Im looking forward to more adventures written by Jill Elizabeth Nelson. I'd like to see this book made into a movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan
Keeping in line with Reluctant Burglar and Reluctant Runaway, the first two books in Jill Elizabeth Nelson's To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Smuggler is action-packed! There is mystery, romance, suspense, history ... all with the underlying message that God is in control and He always wins!! I love the fact that you get "lost" in this book -- in a Mayan village, in the deep jungle, in a cenote at Cichen Itza, to be exact! The descriptions are so real you feel like you're running with Tony searching for El Jaguar's lair. When Tony's heart thundered in his ears - MINE echoed it!! When a thousand spider feet crawled up Desi's spine - I felt the tingle up MINE, too! In the midst of all this action, a beautiful wedding takes place. And then there's the honeymoon... definitely a UNIQUE honeymoon. I highly recommend Reluctant Smuggler, but be warned - you won't be able to put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
A.K. Arenz, Case of the Bouncing Grandma
Desiree Jacobs thrives on action---it's part of her job as a security consultant. But this latest assignment for the Mexican government has placed more than protecting antiquities on the line...her life is in danger!Reluctant Smuggler is a page-turner from start to finish that you're sure to love as much as I do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angie Arndt
Murder! Kidnapping! Smuggling! Espionage! Exotic locations! A beautiful security consultant determined to recover priceless artifacts. A handsome FBI agent determined to find priceless human cargo while protecting his lovely fiance who, incidentally, can take care of herself!Jill Elizabeth Nelsons Reluctant Smuggler is an action-packed romantic suspense that takes you to exotic locations and puts you in situations that, hopefully, youll never experience. This thriller presents both sides of Mexico the lovely, welcoming tourist destinations and the cruel underground of gangs and drugs. WARNING: Plan to read the whole thing when you start! This is fast-paced novel that has a lot going on but dont worry about getting lost. Nelson is an experienced storyteller. Her setting descriptions are so realistic. Ive never been to Mexico or the Yucatan, but I had no trouble imagining myself there with Desi and Tony. Speaking of her characters, I like that they are real, with the same doubts and fears that we would have in the same situation well, almost. (Im a big fraidy cat!) I wont go into details, but Desi Jacobs and her fianc, Special Agent Tony Lucano, FBI, fight all kinds of nefarious characters at home and in Mexico. And with the prayer support of their family and co-workers, they well, youll have to see for yourself what happens.I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
fulfilling a contract. Not so with Reluctant Smuggler. Instead, this book is filled with twists, turns, delightful surprises, and a very satisfying ending for those who have been with the series from book one. Desiree is thrown into all kinds of situationsboth physical and emotional that must be dealt with before she can grow and the book can conclude.While Desiree and Tony are on parallel paths, they approach them from distinctly different perspectives. I could see myself in many of Desirees struggles about balancing career and getting married, the honing down to whats truly important. The settings were lush. I could sense the sights and smells of the different locations in Mexico. The book was almost as good as a plane ticket down there to see it all myself. The setting supported the book and plot without taking over. And I loved seeing the growth in many of the secondary characters, too. They werent merely props inserted into the book to make the main characters look good. Over the course of the series each of them grew as well.I'm sorry to see this series end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reluctant Smuggler, To Catch a Thief Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cathi Hassan
I just finished reading Reluctant Smuggler last night, and I must say I enjoyed it cover-to-cover. Since I hadn't read the first two books in the series, I was afraid I might be lost, but no problem. I just have a keener desire to read them now. There is an overwhelming message to never lose faith in God's plans, no matter what things look like. Lots of action, lots of snuggling, but not everything is roses. People die, including some surprises. There are other losses as well, and suffering is addressed at several levels. Some miscommunication, lots of humor and some wise-cracking. My guesses at the bad guys and how things are stolen were sometimes good, and sometimes way off base. A good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.