Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1

Multnomah Books Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1

Since when do three women, bonded together by the need to clip coupons and be first in line at door buster sales, solve crimes? Since the fourth member of the Bargain Hunters Network was found dead. When they suspect Mary Margret s murder was prompted by something she purchased at a garage sale the morning of her death, the three amateur sleuths begin to investigate. Suzanne is a mother of three with another on the way. Kindra is a college student with a taste for designer clothes but not the budget. And Ginger is an active baby boomer whose world is filled with scouting the clearance racks, church activities, and helping her retired husband, Earl, test his inventions. Their discoveries take them back twenty years to a dark and buried secretone perhaps better left there.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Review 1 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good book- kept me reading all the time-

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue Evans
Location:Bogalusa, La.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stories about women, I love, shows what us women can do when we make up our mind. I will pass on to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lost sleep needing to finish this book

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me up until about 4am because the last about five chapters had captured my attention that I could not put the book down. Usually I find that I choose books that have younger characters so that I can relate to them, however, I really enjoyed the range in characters in this book and a brief look into their lives while a mystery is surrounding them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Skeeter
Location:Farwell, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written, interest-holding book. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janice Harris
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book combines an intriguing mystery and a thoughtful personal problem: How do parents reconnect once the children are grown?
Kudos to the author for creating interesting and real characters with layers of problems and growth. I do wish at least one of the ladies had a deeper walk with Christ as a basis for problem solving and a springboard to growth for the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very entertaining...

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LeeBee
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was easy to read and a fast read. It kept me interested and I really enjoyed getting to know the characters of the book. I love a good mystery and thriller but written by a Christian author. This book showed the human side of the characters and how God can make things come together - His plan all along!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Clark
I loved this book!!! This group of friends is determined to find out what happened to another in their BHN group. This has so many twists and turns that it kept me guessing around every corner. It made me wish for a group of friends like that.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Death of a Garage Sale Newbie By; Sharon DunnWho would think a passion for garage sale bargains could be dangerous? In Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Sharon Dunn gives yard sales and clearance shopping an entirely new perspective.Ginger, Kindra, Suzanne and Mary Margret make up the eclectic group of shoppers called the Bargain Hunters Network. But when Mary Margret disappears after a solo shopping trip, Ginger is left with a confusing cell answering machine message. After Mary Margrets body is discovered and the police close the case as an accident, the Network takes it into their own hands to solve the mystery. Each new clue points towards an twenty-year old secret in their quaint community and a cover up that included murder. Follow the humorous and tragic escapades of these three women determined to solve their friends murder and find the best bargains. Along the journey they also learn a bit about themselves and the bold faith God calls them to.You will laugh, cry and be sure you know the solution only to find yourself befuddled on the next page. And as you close the book on the mystery and the story you will want to befriend these women yourself. Sharon Dunn did an excellent job crafting a mystery in the most unlikely of places. Readers will enjoy this excursion from the opening page and will eagerly await the next mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2007
I didn't think anything could top Sharon Dunn's Ruby Taylor series, but she did it! I loved DEATH OF A GARAGE SALE NEWBIE. A good mystery, characters so real I felt like they lived next door, believable character struggles, and enough chuckles throughout to keep a smile on my face for days after I turned the last page. I can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2007
I love going to garage sales. Those are some of the best places to get really good deals on clothes, old records and best of all, books! I also like shopping for a good bargain. So I immediately connected with the characters in this book with their bargain hunting masterminding. I loved Sharon's Ruby Taylor mysteries so I was really looking forward to this book. I wasn't disappointed at all. I felt the mystery to be played out very well. The BHN members had to use their shopping skills to discover all the clues. Thus the reader went along for the ride with each member as they searched for reasons of Mary Margret's death. The characters are really fun to read. I liked the side stories about Ginger and her husband, and Tammy and her son. I felt that Kindra and Suzanne weren't fleshed out as much as Ginger, so I'm hoping that the next few books will focus more on them. I found Kindra to be an interesting character as she is much younger than the other characters and she is the type of character that one would wrongly judge by appearances. Her speech about Christian stereotypes, I felt, was dead on accurate. I also hope that Arleta will become a BHN member as I enjoyed her character as well. Once again Sharon Dunn has written an excellent book, a great read for old fans and new readers. If you enjoy cozy mysteries or shopping bargains this book is recommended for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Sleeman
Ginger Salinski, a professed bargain hunter and garage sale maven, readily teaches her penny-pinching skills to a trio of friends. They form a quartet of shoppers that would make any coupon aficionado proud. Apart or together they share their finds with one another in enjoyable gatherings. But the fun takes a nose dive when, Mary Margaret, one of the bargain hunters, winds up dead. Mary Margaret leaves behind garage sale clues that the Bargain Hunter Network must follow if they have any hope of solving her murder. The police are of no help in the murder investigation so between sales and life struggles, the group sets out to catch a killer. Laced with humor, even in the face of death, Sharon Dunns Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, keeps you reading until the end. Her characters are real and the book is filled with their interpersonal struggles. The Bargain Hunter Network is made of women of various ages and Dunn nails each age with authentic style. Whatever your age, you can easily identify with the characters problems and root for them to work through their issues. I especially enjoyed the contrast of Gingers trials with the rest of the group. As the mother figure of the group, she ably helps her friends work through their problems, but hasnt a clue how to rev up her own marriage. The plot keeps moving at a steady pace, not too fast to sacrifice character development but not too slow to become boring. Faith messages are woven through the characters everyday lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jill Elizabeth Nelson
For a fun, fast-paced mystery, Dunn is hard to beat. Her quartet of bargain-hunters are adorable, her villains abominable, and all of them memorable. The plot takes satisfying and unanticipated twists and turns that keep the book in hand long past bedtime. Fans of the Ruby Taylor mysteries will welcome this new series from one of their favorite authors, and new readers have a delight in store for them. I can hardly wait for the next one to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Todd Michael Greene
Psst.Like cozy mysteries?Then you love Sharon Dunn's new novel, Death of a Garage Sale Newbie!This is book one is a series Sharon is called the Bargain Hunters mysteries. Four unlikely friends. An empty-nester, a mom of 3 with another on the way, a college girl and a silver-haired real-estate agent have found common ground in their quest to budget and save money. When one of them turns up dead and the police sweep an obvious murder under the rug and call it an accident, the three remaining members of the Bargain Hunters Network take it upon themselves to go all CSI on the case get to the bottom this.Along the way, you'll find funny and endearing characters facing real life issues like distance in marriage and raising a quiver full of kids. I found myself laughing on nearly every page as the ladies wove their way in and out of trouble in hot pursuit of what happened to their beloved friend.Speaking of that point, another thing you'll find is an deeply developed mystery that spans years in the making. Clues are dropped from the opening scene and when the truth is revealed, boy is it a whooper!This is the first book I've read by Sharon Dunn, but I can guarantee it won't be my last. According to the last page in the book, the sequel comes out January 08.Need a laugh? Snatch up a copy of this wonderful, quirky tale of coupons and capers. It's good medicine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debra Ullrick, author of The Bride Wore Coveralls
What a fun mystery! Wait! Did I just say fun and mystery in the same sentence? Hmmmm...Oxy-moron? Or truth? You decide.Let me tell ya... I had an absolute blast reading DEATH OF A GARAGE SALE NEWBIE. The characters were zany, a little eccentric, crazy, murderous, sweet, a little on the wacky side, young, old, fat, skinny, and a whole lot of fun.Trust me, you won't want to miss this one. Sharon does an amazing job with description, characterization, plot, and humor. Her wild imagination and unique mystery style makes DEATH OF A GARAGE SALE NEWBIE a must read. In fact, I can't wait for Sharon Dunn's BARGAIN HUNTER MYSTERIES SERIES #2 to come out!Now, I want to ask you a question. And this is a really long question. So, draw a deep breath. Ready? Okay. What does four obsessive/compulsive garage sale ladies, a Mickey Mouse fishing pole, a shell box, an arrogant lawyer, a French lady who breaks into houses, a bow and arrow, an wannabe inventor, a lonely old woman and her deceased husband's photo album, a shopping mall, and the death of a lady all of have in common? hehe If you want to know...MAKE HASTE! Zip down to your local bookstore and buy a copy today. And if you don't have a local bookstore... I'll pray for you... then go online and log onto Amazon.com, CBD.com, or wherever it is you buy books from and pick up a copy. You won't be sorry.DebraComing soon, The Bride Wore Coveralls by Debra Ullrick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In Three Horses, Montana, Ginger Salinski, Mary Margaret Parker, Suzanne Thames, and Kindra Hall join together to form the Bargain Hunters Network. The foursome travel the garage sale circuit and afterward meet to show the bargains they purchased at widow Mary Margarets home. The quartet has little else in common beside their passion for the BHN.This time when the three visitors descend on Mary Margarets home, they find her not home and her house a mess. Led by Ginger who fears the worst, they follow Mary Margarets garage sale trail visiting the four sites the woman visited on that fatal day. They find little, but sift through the items their friend bought and left behind. One of the selling sites includes a person who needs to prevent the three surviving BHN members from learning the truth.Though the whodunit is resolved too easily by the ultimate amateurs, readers will enjoy the first BHN mystery for its rich characterization. Ginger is terrific as she begins to realize she takes for granted her spouse Earl, a retiree begging her to inspire and emotional encourage him as he tries to invent things. Her final confrontation with paying full price will leave readers with a positive amused taste; while her two surviving BHN cronies add depth as they are also unique much younger protagonists with issues. Readers will enjoy this amateur sleuth bargain shopping binge in Big Sky country.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.