Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2

Multnomah Books Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2

Another murder mystery for the Bargain Hunters Network-only this time, one of them is a suspect!Ginger and her husband, Earl, are in for a wild ride in Calamity, Nevada, along with the other BHN ladies-college student Kindra, mother-of-four Suzanne, and sassy senior Arleta. They came to town for the Invention Expo and some outlet shopping, but instead they endure lost luggage, broken air conditioning, and a long line of people angry at hotel owner Dustin Clydell. With the Invention Expo and the Squirrel Lovers' convention both in town, the Wind-Up Hotel has somehow overbooked.Before the night is over, a man has been found dead in a teddy bear costume, the Invention Expo has been canceled, Binky the water-skiing squirrel has gone missing.and the authorities want to talk to one of the BHN ladies! What else could possibly go wrong?Once again, the Bargain Hunters Network swings into sleuth mode to solve the murder-and this time, clear one of their own. Along the way, Ginger discovers something even better than a bargain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Review 1 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Murder and Mayhem at the Worlds Largest GarageSale

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Join the members of the Bargain Hunters Network (BHN) Kindra, Ginger, Suzanne and Arleta on another adventure at the Wind Up Hotel located in picturesque Calamity, Nevada. Calamity seems to have its own share of mystery and excitement, besides being host to the World's Largest Garage Sale! The Wind Up is overbooked with guests attending both the Inventors and the Squirrel Lover's Convention.
From no air conditioning and a faulty elevator to strange disappearances this trip for the BHN will be anything but boring!
Dustin Clydell and his ex-wife Tiffany share in the responsibilies of running the hotel, find that success in the business world can sometimes have its drawbacks.
Detectives Cynthia and Cindy are called to the scene to investigate mystery and mayhem surrounding the hotel and its guests. The detectives find that concern for their waistlines can become a challenge when temptations lie on every corner.
When someone occupying a bear costume is found murdered, one of their own (BHN) becomes a suspect in the murder investigation. Far from the comforts of home and bargains in Three Horses, Montana who could these four women trust?
In this second and final book in the Bargain Hunters Mysteries series, I enjoyed reconnecting with the girls in a new adventure! I found the book hard to put down. The introduction of additional characters and new scenery kept the story moving and entertaining! With twists, turns and suspense in the storyline (had me guessing throughout) along with a sprinkling of humor and romance this book has it all. I connected with the characters through the dialogue and at times felt as if I were there. I found the overall message to be inspiring and faith challenging and would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great whodunit!

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Orland Park, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While this is a lighthearted mystery, it isn't easy to figure out! Sharon Dunn manages to keep the reader in suspense, but write with love for the Lord and a sense of humor at the same time. Great reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Ginger finds herself in for way more than she is expecting when she arrives at the Hotel with the other Bargain Hunters. There is nothing but troubles from the start to the end of their trip. Her husband loses his place on the Inventor's Convention - in fact it ends up being cancelled due to a murder. There is a guy murdered in a teddy bear suit. Kindra finds herself falling for a guy in a teddy bear suit who turns out not to be the one murdered.Ginger is knocked out and ends up miles from the hotel. Ginger is trying to solve the murder and at one point is even a suspect to the police. There is a skiing squirrel kidnapped and murdered, a cat lost, jewelry thiefs, and murder plus more. There is also romance, bargain hunting, and excitement. A book that will hold your interest from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristine Pratt
Everybody has a dream.For the ladies of BHN it's a bargain at the world's biggest garage sale. For Earl it's getting one of his inventions noticed. For others it's fame, fortune, and a host of other things that can make murder seem almost and sane and reasonable. So when the teddy bear drops dead, there's a dozen reasons why someone would want him dead. Though using the squirrel as a method of homicide is...disturbing...and makes you really wonder just who could be behind this evil deed.Ginger, head of the BHN wonders that too. As she sets out to investigate the other ladies each get caught into their own stories. Has Kindra finally found love...only to lose it? Has Arleta found something even greater than that?The questions keep coming and the pursuit of answers leads the reader breathless through the second book in the Bargain Hunters Mystery series. You don't need to read the first book to know what's going on, but you'll certainly want to pick it up so that you can get to know these lovable, quirky characters better. The author, Sharon Dunn, is amazing and you'll be kept in suspense to the very last page. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon A. Lavy
I've read enough mysteries that sometimes I figure out the villain, before the author exposes him/her. It's a fun challenge for me. But this time I was surprised.The squirrel lovers convention added a nice touch of comic relief. Some call it wit-lit. I recommend the book and will be reading more books by Sharon Dunn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
SGillingham
I enjoyed this book, and recommend it. I felt it wasn't as good as the first book, but it was an enjoyable cozy. It does focus more on Ginger and Earl, Kindra, and the female detective. While it was still interesting, I missed the other characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
If you want to sit back and read a chapter of a book then set the book aside for days, this book is not for you. Sharon Dunn, author Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, wove a most interesting mystery. From her cast of characters to the unfolding mystery she created a sequel to her first book with the same entertainment value as its predecessor. And, even if you haven't read Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, you can jump right in enjoy the lives of the Bargain Hunter's Network(BHN) and the most unusual set of circumstances they find themselves in.Ginger has followed her husband, Earl, to Calamity, Nevada for the Inventor's Convention. In an effort to show her support of his inventions, she and her friends travel on this adventure. Of course, it helps that they will be able to attend the world's largest yard sale while there.No one expected to meet a man in a six-foot teddy bear costume who immediately bonds with Kindra, the youngest member of the BHN. When a man is found murdered at the marina, wearing the bear costume, the Inventor's Expo is canceled. Ginger finds herself tangled in the most intriguing mystery and even ends up one of the murder suspects. And, while their days spent in Calamity appear to define the city's name, they more than define Ginger and her friends. They refine them. Can you lose everything and realize you have it all? With skill and wit Sharon Dunn has created a story that is believable and lovable. You will laugh and cry, sometimes on the same page. You will be sure you have solved the mystery and when you turn the page she surprises you with something else. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Question: What do you get when you mix mystery, friendship, romance, giant toys, a wacky hotel, squirrels, the World's Biggest Garage Sale and then shake it up with murder and stolen jewelry? Answer: Sharon Dunn's newest book and the second in her Bargain Hunter Mystery Series! Buckle your seatbelt and strap in for a wild and wacky ride in this fun book that grabbed me from the get-go and didn't let me off (no matter how dizzy I got!) until the ride was over... and what a ride it was! Join Ginger and her husband Earl as they travel to Calamity, Nevada with the other Bargain Hunter gals as Earl looks for his big break at the Inventor's Expo and the ladies set out to find the best deals possible at the World's Biggest Garage Sale! Wait a second... Earl discovers a dead man in a bear suit with a celebrity squirrel in his mouth - and then it starts to get bizarre!!!This is a fun read that will keep you entertained and make you laugh, but it will also keep you guessing til the end about who did what and why and how - Sharon's writing style makes it all a joy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Teresa Mccalip
Was great reading entertainment. I enjoyed the first book of this series, and enjoyed this as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Death of a Six Foot Teddy Bear is as fun and quirky as the title suggests. Once again we find all the lovable bargain hunters from book one as they arrive in Calamity, Nevada to attend the Invention Expo and the worlds largest garage sale. Ginger, Kindra, Suzanne, and Arleta begin their stay at the Wind-Up Hotel where trouble starts even before they check in. They are plagued by lost luggage, non-existent air conditioning, loss of Gingers husband Earls booth at the Invention Expo, and a runaway feline. This is just the beginning of a zany ride for our Bargain Hunters. Kindra meets and falls for Xabier, aka the six foot teddy bear. But does this relationship come to an abrupt end before it can really blossom, when the teddy bear meets his fate at the hand of a mysterious killer? Arleta comes to life for the reader in this book as she begins to question the meaning of life without God, but does she find Him? Ginger once again strives to improve her relationship with Earl, but does she succeed or will her relationship need further honing in the next book? Couple these struggles with a more complex mystery with many twists and turns, and an unpredictable outcome and you have a winner here. Sharon Dunn has a great humorous writing style and you can always, I mean always, count on her to deliver a quirky, fun, and laughable read. She doesnt disappoint in this second book. In fact, due to the very creative setting of the story, at the Wind-Up Hotel decorated in retro-childrens toys, where squirrel lovers are plentiful, I enjoyed this book more than the first. As a writer, I admire Dunns well-played humor and her creative descriptions along with her eccentric characters. Even the detectives in this story come alive with Dunns unique depiction of the pair. I have always recommended Sharon Dunn as an author not to miss and Ill stand by that recommendation. If you love a good cozy style mystery, Death of A Six Foot Teddy Bear will not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Since I had enjoyed the first book in the Bargain Hunters series, I was excited to read the second installment. And with a title like that, who wouldn't be intrigued? Fans will be thrilled with this book. The mystery in this story is awesome. I had no idea who the killer was. There were twists and turns everywhere that kept me guessing. The unique characters in this story are what makes it really interesting. I loved all the little stories and side plots that were happening throughout the book. There's lots of humor that will keep you laughing. I did cringe a bit at the fate of one of the squirrels. I really liked Kindra's relationship with Xabier (very unique name) because they were really cute. Same goes for Earl and Ginger and how they had to learn to trust each other. I hope that in the next book we'll get a story featuring Suzanne as I felt she was sort of a third wheel in this book. I liked Artleta's character especially when she finally decides to become a Christian. Her question about whether something extraordinary was supposed to happen after her conversion rings true, because it always seems to happen in older Christian fiction. I thought it was a pretty funny tongue in cheek statement. There were just two minor quirks I had with this book. One was nothing much was done with the cyber stalker even after their identity was revealed. I felt that it was unsatisfying that the women did not pursue trying to figure out who the person was. They did not even seem mildly concerned when the stalker got threatening and sounding crazy. The other little thing was there wasn't much bargain talk in this story. I would have liked a bit more info about the gals' finds at the garage sale but it's understandable because the murder plot takes more precedence. Other than these two things, I really enjoyed this book. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series. If you enjoy mysteries that'll teach you how to save money, READ this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Lovable, quirky, but believable characters manage to get themselves into crazy and dangerous circumstances. What is most fun about this book is the unpredictability. Nothing is as it seems, or should be. The sheer number of principal characters each with a unique eccentricity is sometimes a bit confusing, but keeps the reader on his or her toes for sure. Dunn resists formula mystery in exchange for offbeat mini adventures in which her characters naivet, lack of communication with each other or just plain poor judgment land them in hilarious trouble. The authors wild imagination and extraordinary characters make for a super fun read. Even the expected characters in a mystery, the good cop and bad cop, are distinctively different in Teddy Bear. The fact that they are both female is in itself different, but I wont reveal their other idiosyncrasies. (Any dieters out there?)I suggest you read this book in as few sittings as possible so you dont forget the thread or lose touch with the characters. Even if you have to spend a few minutes reviewing and catching up, you will laugh, weep and be very glad you were carried away to Calamity, Las Vegas and garage sale oblivion. You may even dream about a squirrel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Sprout
Sharon Dunn never fails to make me laugh outloud. Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear is even quirkier than the first book in the Bargain Hunters series. If you love amateur sleuth mysteries accompanied by giggles you'll want to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Teresa Slack
I'm probably a little biased since I love a good cozy, (I think a book must include a cat in peril to qualify as a cozy.) I couldn't resist the premise of the Bargain Hunters Series, and I love characters whom I can relate to. Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear has it all: murder, humor, red herrings, and surprises at every turn. If you haven't read Death of a Garage Sale Newbie, the first installment in the Bargain Hunters mysteries, you'll have no trouble catching up with the characters. If you are a fan of series mysteries, you must add the Bargain Hunters books to your reading lists. I look forward to plenty more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Hardy
I loved this book for the funny, often odd, situations. There was a suspenseful ending, and lots of adventure. If you liked "Death of a Garage Sale Newbie", you'll love this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
The second in the BARGAIN HUNTER MYSTERIES, Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear is a welcome addition to Sharon Dunns books.Ginger and the other members of the BHN (Bargain Hunters Network) are headed to Calamity, NV for whats been dubbed the worlds largest garage sale. Gingers husband Earl is coming along to participate in an inventors convention to get his dream off the ground. Within minutes of finally arriving at the hotel, Ginger finds their plans unraveling all around her. Then her husband has become someone she doesnt recognize, and they both become embroiled in a murder investigation. Chaos reigns supreme with lots of humor and heart inserted.The book is filled with quirks from the hotel that has a retro childrens toys theme to the characters themselves. Ginger and her cohorts are as lively as ever and surrounded by a full cast of characters. While the characters are filled with quirks, they also have a lot of heart and challenges. Ginger doesnt want to believe the worst of her husband, but why would he lie to the police? Earl doesnt understand why Ginger isnt supporting him as he chases his dream. Kindra is surprised to find herself in a possible relationship and wonder if she can cast aside her list of requirements before falling into a relationship. Suzanne missed her children even though she couldnt wait to get away from them. And Arleta is trying to live even as she fears shes growing too old.I could find something to relate with each of these characters about. I also enjoyed the plot -- even though it moves at the pace of a cozy mystery -- mainly because the characters made me care about what would happen to them.Bottom-line: this is an enjoyable mystery even with it's cozy-mystery pacing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donita K. Paul
This isn't chick-lit, but it could be called wit-lit. Sharon Dunn's quirky sense of humor sets this tale on edge and spins it every which way. The reader can identify with the deep, human personalities. No shallowness there. Then the reader is horrified and tickled by the outrageous happenings around these beloved people. Comedy and mystery march hand in hand to give a superb read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Morphy
The Bargain Hunters Network is back, and what a fun read! This mystery had me laughing out loud all the way through. The author wove in plenty of red herrings, so the story wasnt predictable. And I never saw the plot twist at the end coming. What a surprise! The characters have loveable, believable quirks and insecurities everyone can relate to, yet laugh at. If youre looking for a light, enjoyable read without a lot of romance, Death of Six-Foot Teddy Bear should definitely be added to your to-be-read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darlene Franklin
Who can resist a title like Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear? The teddy bear in question is, of course, a man dressed in costume. And while the man murder victim is anything but a teddy bear, the original owner of the costume is an adorable young man named Xabier (yes, thats the correct spelling.)Bargain Hunters Mystery #2 offers something for everyone. In addition to the murder mystery, Dunn adds a dash of romance, a measure of marriage in turmoil, a teaspoon of evangelism, and a double helping of humor. From the town named Calamity to a water-skiing quarrel, the reader will keep smiling from first page to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Bargain Hunters Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
A reviewer
This quirky, hilarious book kept me so completely gripped I had to read it straight through. Just when I thought Dunn couldn't beat her Ruby Taylor Mysteries or book 1 of the Bargain Hunters Mysteries, I found she could and did. Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear is a thoughtful and overall delightful book. Where else do you get to read mysteries about squirrels, giant teddy bears, still with a hint of romance? Only Sharon Dunn of course! This is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>