Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Wild Goose Chase

Multnomah Books Wild Goose Chase

Does seeking to know God's will with certainty sometimes seem like, well, a wild goose chase? Author of the bestseller In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day, Batterson unmasks our misconceptions concerning discipleship and decision-making and urges us to dare to take risks. Topics include: playing offense, surviving shipwrecks, pursuing passions, challenging giants, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wild Goose Chase
Review 1 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wild goose chase book review

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Title: The Wild Goose Chase: Reclaim the Adventure of Pursuing God
Author: Mark Batterson
Date I Finished Reading: January 19,2013
My Rating: 5/5
When you think of pursuing God, what comes to your mind? Duty? Struggle? How about adventure? Do you ever view your walk with God as an exciting, adventurous thing? In this book, Mark Batterson discusses spiritual barriers that can prevent us from growing closer to God, or finding satisfaction in him. He explores the barriers of:
~responsibility
~routine
~assumptions
~guilt
~failure
~fear
He discusses how each of these things can, at times hinder us from growth, and the signs of them in our lives.
One thing I liked about this book would be Batterson’s writing style. He writes with honest humor that makes the book an easy, enjoyable read. I also liked how applicable this book is. The issues addressed and the actions recommended are practical and applicable to our personal and daily lives.
I really had no complaints about this book, besides the fact that Batterson becomes a bit repetitive at times. Other than that, I have none!
I would highly recommend this book to you, especially if you are struggling with spiritual growth and desire a resource to help you identify what barrier may be hindering you from pursuing and growing closer to God.
Note: I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wild Goose Chase

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WILD GOOSE CHASE Reclaim the Adventure of Pursuing God by Mark Batterson …… Mark start his book explaining the title, the title is what the Celtic Christians calls the Holy Spirit. As Mark states, “The name hints at the mysterious nature of the Holy Spirit. Much like a wild goose, the Spirit of God cannot be tracked or tamed”. Mark offer a collection of interesting stories that has happen to him and others and gives a very interesting outline for us to follow the Spirit of god. The book is short, but gives a great direction to follow God. At the end of each chapter, Mark offers questions for you to answer or to discuss by a group in a Bible study. We all need to let the Holy Spirit guide our life and stop following what we want. Get the book you will be happy you did.
I received this eBook free from Blogging For Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have read in awhile

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Joplin, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Batterson brings a fresh look at the existence and purpose of the Holy Spirit. He compares the Holy Spirit to a wild goose in that it is unpredictable and adventurous. He explores the reasons why Christians are bored and not living the adventurous and exciting life in the Spirit. He gives the reader six “cages” that keep Christians from being wild for God. The cages of responsibility, routine, assumptions, guilt, failure, and fear make up the body of the text. Peppered with personal stories and provocative examples, this book is bound to elicit the question of every reader, “Why haven’t I been chasing the Wild Goose?”
From a personal standpoint, the book has encouraged me to pursue godly ambition and that it is alright to not have any idea where to go from here. We are not guaranteed to know where we are going, but to know with whom we are going. If we pursue Jesus passionately, we will naturally be taking a roller coaster ride of a lifetime and to be challenged not to make a living, but to make a life. This book receives a thumbs up in my opinion.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insights

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elska
Location:Easley, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im really enjoying this book. Easy and thought provoking at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruthe Fonfrias
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent, challenging read. Digs deep into the heart and soul....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Lang
Batterson has a unique style of writing--taking everyday situations & truning them into spiritual messages that makes a difference in one's life IF applied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Kubic
I have read all three of Mark Batterson's books and have found them all profound. Having just recently read "The Wild Goose Chase," I can say with certainty that it is one of the most thought-provoking and challenging books I have ever read. Batterson explores six cages that keep us from fulfilling what God has called us to do. Pick up the book, read it and then sit quietly as God reveals His desire for your own "chase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Deming
Mark Batterson is a dynamic and inspirational author that uses real life examples of faith. His encouragement to get out and experience God's spirit is wonderful. I have chosen this book to give to others I meet that are willing to step out in there faith and do something. A great encourgement tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Bass
I read this book and enjoyed it so much that I got a copy for each of my six sons. Otro dia, otra aventura! another day, another adventure! What a rush to chase the wild goose; the Holy Spirit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Luis Montiel
awesome, great book. Can't stop reading just like Lion in a pit. Challenging me to go to the next level in my ministry. A must read for every leader, religious or non religious!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tribe of Zebulun
Outstanding read that forces introspection and action regarding personal relationship with the Trinity. Easy to read though extremely wellarticulated. Challenge yourself. Well done, Batterson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles J. Devine
THIS IS A GREAT BOOK ! ! ! We are using it in our small group. I wish it came with a study guide. Easy read GREAT message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christi Williams
Easy but challenging read. Love how he sparks excitment for the unknown as we grab hold of the Wild Goose ... makes you want to jump out there and make a difference against all conventional wisdom while making your dreams a reality. Great for group discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abi
This book certainly challenged me to think about whether I truly live a life of faith or prefer to stay in my comfort zone - but I would have appreciated a little more scripture and help in pointing me to examine just how to chase the Wild Goose in my life. Instead the book left me asking - OK - but now what??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doorkeeper
A great book dealing with finding the Holy Spirit's will in our lives. It's not a just sit back and wait affair, but we must be actively seeking to find. Written in a converstaional manner that reads easily and is well delivered. A must read for people who are struggling to find the Holy Spirit's leading in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Batterson identifies six cages or areas of restraint in the lives of Christians, based mainly on his own experience as a pastor working with real people, rather than being strictly informed by scripture. To each cage responsibility, routine, assumptions, guilt, failure and fear Batterson devotes a chapter.Wild Goose Chase is a clarion call to pursue the Holy Spirit and is written in a personal, high-energy and upbeat style. The pace is rapid, the reading smooth, preventing readers from stalling out mid-way. Batterson is driven to equip believers with the motivation to break free from whatever is holding them back from serving God whole-heartedly, from whatever is preventing them from pursuing the Goose with wild abandon.Moreover, Batterson and his church have been praying that this book will touch the lives of those who read it in a mighty way. Translation? They sincerely hope that this slender volume will serve as a spiritual kick in the pants to get an often-apathetic church moving into the world for Christ. Batterson is surprisingly gentle in his reprimand and call to action; I was expecting a much more strident and radical manifesto. That he is able to communicate passionately while avoiding personal offense speaks to his popularity as an innovative young leader in the church today.I resonate with his desire, to see a world on fire for Jesus ironically, reading a book will not accomplish that goal, only the Holy Spirit Himself can perform that work in the hearts of those who seek Him. However, its quite likely that the challenge put forth in the book to break free of the cages of restraint will resonate with many, resulting in self-examination, the desire to deepen personal relationships with the Lord, and hopefully end with believers putting feet on their faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wild Goose Chase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Dont let the size of this novel fool you! Wild Goose Chase by Mark Batterson is incredible! Mark explains early-on (the back cover, in fact) that the Celtic Christians called the Holy Spirit the Wild Goose. Therefore, this book is about pursuing God. It motivated me to put more effort into chasing the Goose, myself.This book contains helpful end notes, clever chapter titles, and wonderfully thought-provoking questions. I highly recommend everyone in relationship with God to read this amazing book. It will change how you chase after the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.