Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P & R Publishing Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1

P & R Publishing Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1

Come to the ancient land of Kirthanin, where peace prevails. But Malek, Master of the Forge and the betrayer of old, controls the holy mountain Agia Muldonai. His followers are venturing forth from their stronghold and are threatening Kirthanin's fragile stability. Can Joraiem and the young Novaana defend Kirthanin against Malek's evil schemes? A vibrant must-read for fans of Tolkien, Lawhead, and Dekker! 590 pages, softcover from P & R.
Average Customer Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Review 1 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantasy lovers should enjoy it

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twenty two year old Joraiem Andira lives with his father Monias, mother Elsora, seventeen year old sister Kyril, and twelve year old brother Brenim near the village of Dal Harat in Suthanin, one of the four regions of Kirthanin. Kirthanin had been created by Allfather and was originally ruled over by the twelve Titans, but one of them named Malek rebelled and fled to the Forbidden Isle. The Novaana are the noble families of Kirthanin who oppose him. Twice Malek has tried to conquer Kirthanin, and twice he has been repelled by the combined efforts of the Novaana, the Great Bear, and the dragons, and now he waits under the once holy mountain of Agia Muldonai with his Malekim or “Voiceless,” Back Wolves, and the Vulsutyrim giants, preparing for his third assault.
Joraiem’s family is of the Novaana, and the Assembly has decreed that every seven years all the Novaana between the ages of eighteen and twenty-five must go to Sulare, known as “the Summerland,” for training. There Joraiem meets Valzaan the blind prophet and the other young Novaana, including Aljeron from Werthanin who becomes his best friend, and Wylla Someris, princess of the region of Enthanin, with whom he falls in love. While in Sulare, they are attacked by Black Wolves and see a sign in the sky which indicated that Malek had returned to the Forbidden Isle, possibly to get ready to make his next move. So they go with Valzaan to the Forbidden Isle where they are again beset by Malekim, Black Wolves, and a Vulsutyrim. The women are captured, and the men are stranded. What will happen to them? Will they ever get home? Will Joreiam and Willa be able to get married?
I first heard about this book back in 2004. Then I had the opportunity earlier this year to meet the author, Lowell B. Graham, at a homeschool conference. The story is told well with a good balance of action and reflection, and it had no trouble keeping my interest up. Fantasy lovers should enjoy it, and while there are minor references to drinking ale, smoking a pipe, and dancing at a wedding festival, Graham's Christian worldview also shines through so no bad language or other objectionable elements are found. Some people may not care for the surprising nature of the rather abrupt ending. In fact, some people may not care for the ending at all, but then, he who writes the fantasy fiction gets to choose how it concludes. Bad things do happen to people. And it is really not the end, but, as book one in a five-book series, it is a cliff-hanger that prepares for the sequels which carry the story forward: Bringer of Storms: The Binding of the Blade Series #2; Shadow in the Deep: Binding of the Blade Series #3; Father of Dragons: Binding of the Blade Series #4; All My Holy Mountain: Binding of the Blade Series #5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Has the Beauty of The Greatest Fantasy Tale of All

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Faerie tales and adventure stories have long held our imagination. Tales of far off lands with exotic beauty, of hair-raising dangers and evil warlords, of bravery and skill in the face of overwhelming odds -- such tales awaken our spiritual thirst for meaning and fulfillment in life. We've been blessed with fantasy authors steeped in a Christian worldview, great men such as J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis have bequeathed a rich heritage of inspiring tales that Christians can embrace. Others have continued that legacy and in "The Binding of the Blade" series, L.B. Graham had picked up the mantle of Tolkien and Lewis.
"Beyond the Summerland", the first book in "The Binding of the Blade" series, contains all that's best in fantasy fiction. Written by a Christian trained in a reformed worldview (who's even contributed articles to IVP's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery), it doesn't have the baser elements that modern fantasy fiction often includes. But more than a clean work of fantasy, "Beyond the Summerland" is a well-crafted, tale that's sure to keep you riveted until its very unexpected ending.
The world of Kirthanin is a beautiful place with a scarred and ugly past. A fallen angelic figure has brought war and desecration to the land, but all that seems so far away now. But the peace of Kirthanin may prove to be an illusion.
Graham takes us on a journey through the length of the land with an assortment of interesting and many sided characters. Prophetic visions and hints of danger combine to add suspense and wonder to the tale. And the beauty and courage on display is almost palpable.
His tale is no copy cat, and the world he creates is believable and unique. The tale seems like it will go on forever, which it almost does. And by the end of the book, you are begging for more. Fortunately, there are four additional titles in the series, and if they are all as exciting and fast-paced as this book, I will certainly be picking them up.
More than a good story, a Christian view of the world pervades the tale. The characters struggle with making wise and right choices, a creator God is worshiped and the world is seen as his gift to men. The vision for the future is of a restored holy mountain and communion with the Creator in newly reborn world. The story lines intersect with our Christian faith in several key places. This adds to the value of the book and makes it an inspiring read that can help orient one's mind and heart appreciate the wonder of the Greatest Fairy Tale of all, that we are a part of. Jesus Christ and His restoration of our fallen world, is certainly the greatest fantasy tale of all. Graham's work helps us taste a tiny bit of the wonder of it all.
The book is written with young adults in mind, but I found it suitable for all adults and youth alike. I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to continuing this series.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by P & R Publishing for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
This book starts off as a rather normal fantasy, complete with the standard average-young-man-who-discovers-hes-got-a-destiny main character. But the author skillfully builds the story into a gripping fantasy with a touch of romance. Joraiems struggles are believable and relatable for fantasy fans of both genders. Tense battle scenes are balanced with emotional struggles. The only problem for first time readers is the shocking plot twist at the end. Those who preserve through the entire series will come to understand it, even if they never are satisfied with the ending. My only other recommendation is to check the entire series out at one go. Once you read the first one, you wont be able to sleep until everything is resolved in the fifth book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Megan
First of all, let me say, I absolutely love this series. It has depth and originality. It is one of my favorite fantasy series. Unfortunately, I feel that this, the first book, is not as well-written as the rest.One of the biggest problems with Beyond the Summerland is the lack of good character development. In my opinion, Joraiem is a fairly shallow, slightly annoying character. On the other hand, I know many people love Joraiem. This being said, one of my favorite things about the rest of this series is the amazing character development. It gets superb in the later books.I also felt that the book dragged on in some parts, and I took a long time to finish reading it, as it just didn't grab me. If you are looking for a high action adventure story, this series is not for you. If you want an interesting, well-crafted fantasy world with history and depth, then you may enjoy this book.To conclude, PLEASE DON"T LET MY REVIEW SCARE YOU AWAY FROM THIS BOOK! I love this series, and don't like to criticize it. The author has a good story, so I don't mind some flaws in the way it is told. Please try the first book. I recommend it for teens and adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
This is a great book... A great start to my second favorite series. I was so surprised and amazed by what happened at the end!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
This book is awesome Graham makes this book come to life for the reader! I highly recomend this book its one of the coolest fantasy books out there. Hope you like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
I absolutely loved this book! The more you read, the more you feel connected to the main characters. It's an incredible story that takes you on a compelling adventure through the land of Kirthanin. I found it very hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Avery
These books are definitely something worth reading. My sister got them for me for Christmas a couple years back and she regrets it because I won't quit talking about them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mel
This was a really cool book and I can't wait for the next one! I just wish that L. B. Graham wouldn't emphasise on love so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tal
This Book is amazing. I have read tons of fantasy, Eragon, Lotr, Narnia and this is my without a doubt my favorite and the best book I have read. Read this book. Timeless. Teaches you to rely on God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Johnny
Definitely an amazing book. I go to the school that L.B. Graham teaches and my dad works with him also. I have read Eragon, Chronicles of Narnia, LOTR, and a lot of other books that are similar, but I must say The Binding of the Blade series is definitely one of the best. I have read the series 3 times already and each time I cannot put it down. I read it right before I go to bed and I wanna keep reading even though I know its 1 in the morning and I have school the next day. It is that good. The way Graham describes feelings, landscape, characters, etc. in such detail makes you feel like you know them in real life. I highly recommend this to an avid fantasy lover. Even those who do not enjoy fantasy as much as I do, will enjoy it all the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kaily
this was an awesome book! at first i wasn't sure that it would be able to hold my interest for all 580 pages, but as soon as i was done i could not wait to read the next one. definitely up there with Tolkien, this book is fullof surprises, especially the end, it came from out of nowhere and blew me away. read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Sneeringer
Best book i've read in a while, right up ther with Lordof the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Tim Hooley
This book is one of my favorites i'd recomend it to anyone who likes Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
Christy
I thoroughly enjoyed this riviting story; I could not put it down. At the end I was like.."What? How dare you end a story like this? What happens??" Needless to say.. I'm buying the next installment as soon as possible. :) At first I thought... 'sure, like this could possibly compare to C.S. Lewis or Tolkien classics'.. but it really does! I think they could make a movie off of it!...in fact, I hope they do! Could you imagine the'Torrim Redara' scenes?... kind of like the chinese films and their affects? That would be sweet. I really liked the characters...and I especially enjoyed traveling through the Lindan Woods...that was amazing. I felt as if I was really there with them...and I was sad to see the book come to an end.I really appreciated the relationship between Joraiem & Valzaan. Not many authors will take on topics like this one did, but it was an exciting journey... and L.B Graham did a great job. ---- Do fans of this book have any suggestions for other exciting fiction or fantasy novels? I'm always looking for a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Mark Zellner
THIS BOOK TOTALLY ROCKED!!! I loved the characters and plot and action and lore and the entire thing was a total success! My only problem was that sometimes the dialogue seemed a little too modern, you know, not fantasy enough. Still don't let that deter you, this book will hook you from the first chapter and keep you flippin' the pages till the end. And what an ending! I was so shocked I just sat there with my mouth hanging open for five minutes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jacob
This book was awesome. Great stray, amazing character development, this book had it all. It is definitely on my top 5 book list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jim Lenzmeier
This is a terrific novel! I absolutely loved it! The story engages you early with likeable characters and drama but is unpredictable enough that you have no idea where the story is going. It builds in intensity and complexity toward a conclusion that is both satisfying and startling, leaving you certain to order the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Andy
This book was a blast to read, and I normally dislike fantasy novels. If you liked the Lord of the Rings movies but found Tolkien's books too slow and dry, then give this a try. It has likeable characters who you cheer for and mourn with. It has a plot that seems to move at just the right speed. The battles increase in intensity, and the final showdown is a payoff worth reading toward. The twist at the end is definitely something you won't forget, and you will find yourself wanting the next book to arrive soon (coming in June 05, I think). Read this for fun, and you will find yourself also pondering life's greater themes. Enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beyond the Summerland, The Binding of the Blade Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Chris Peterson
Good fantasy book. Characters are interesting. Good story line and intriguing world. Biblical worldview evident but not so obvious that it becomes cliche. Twist at end of book is great set-up for beginning of next story. Looking forward to next installment. Would definitely recommend for Lawhead/Tolkien fans, even though geared more for young adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>