Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown

With 14-point type, bold black-letter text, and quality materials and production, the ESV Giant Print Bible sets the new standard for readability and enduring value. The generous size of the text makes it ideal for preaching, teaching, and public reading, as well as for personal use. Its sewn binding, durable cover, and lifetime guarantee ensure that it will last for years and years of regular use.

Features
  • Generous 14-point type
  • Concordance
  • 8 pages of full-color maps
  • Table of weights & measures
  • Black letter text
  • Double-column format
  • Extra strong Smyth sewn binding—lays flat when open
  • Lifetime guarantee from publisher
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Family record section
  • 9.50" x 7.00" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Review 1 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible was a real blessing to my friend.

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chaplain DHO
Location:Williamson County, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Bible for a friend afflicted with wet macular degeneration. The giant print allows her to read the Bible without a magnifying glass.
Be aware that the Bible is, of necessity, large and the pages are a little thin. However, it is an excellent choice for a person with poor eyesight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ESV Giant Print Bible

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Apologetics guy
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bible appears to be well made. Text is very easy to read.
I little bit on the heavy side but that is okay as you do not need your readers with this Bible to be able to read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything was great. Thank you so much.

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Somersworth, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything was great. Thank you so much. The Bible is easy to read with the larger print and I'm very happy that it's a close translation to the original version of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crazy Dave
Location:Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray---I can read the large print---thought I was going to have to go with braile
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Perfect

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Modelk66
Location:Monroe, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a terrific Bible. Crossway's attention to detail in the craftsmanship is superb. The biggest notes to make in considering a purchase of this Bible are these:
1. This is a text-only Bible. There are no book introductions, no background history, no biographies.
2. The New Testament has no red-lettering for the words of Christ.
3. It is in the standard two-column format.
4. All references or explanations are found at the bottom of the pages in the tiniest of print.
I am sure some of these items were intentional on Crossway's part to keep both the size and price of the Bible at a minimum. As it is, the Bible is 9 1/2 x 7 inches in length and width, 2 inches thick, and weighs a good 2-3 pounds. Still, a different format or layout would have made it thicker and heavier, as well as more expensive, so I understand Crossway's decision in going with the traditional format. Also, the use of colored text would most likely have been an added cost to this Bible as well. For overall value and readability, this is an excellent Bible. What would have made it perfect - for me - would have been to have taken the Verse-By-Verse Reference Bible and used the 14 point print. However, I understand that to do so, it would possibly mean having a Bible 2 1/2- 3 inches thick and weighing closer to 5-6 pounds, and may not fit a 9 1/2 x 7 length and width either. So, Crossway made the cuts and the compromises necessary to have a Giant Print Bible that is practical and carry-able.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful Book in every way

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leroy Cole
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality reflects the Contents. The Word of God is presented in lasting beauty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can see the words!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Ellensburg WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been by far the best bible I have ever had!!! When you get to my age, and of course I have always worn glasses, the writing in some literature, you just cannot read it. This bible is perfect for my men's bible study, and at church( our Pastor uses the ESV), my wife just adores it. She has found it very useful in her Precept Study. Keep up the great work people. WE have recommended this bible to everyone!!! Thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to see type!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph White
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I use this bible both in the morning and in the evening because I don't have to go find my glasses to see the type face. Everything about this bible speaks of quality workmanship and materiales.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gene
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the translation very much. I had never read it before but find it to be accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Wedding Gift

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
jabrou
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently asked to give the dinner blessing at a rehersal dinner for the wedding of my best friend's youngest son's wedding. I gave them a leather-bound Bible with several books, one of which was ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown before I prayed. The Bride and Groom were greatly pleased. I thought it would provide a firm Biblical foundation for the marriage. I also applied the Bible Tabs, Gold, Regular Size so it would be easier for them to find the various books of the Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Giant Print Bible TruTone, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Large lettering for ease of reading

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
wedding queen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the monogram and the large letters make for really easy reading. Good quality leather cover. Fast shipping.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.