Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God

Thomas Nelson The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God

Our God is not distant deity, but a passionate, loving Father. Because of his love he has often wooed us with a life filled with unparalleled beauty, intriguing relationship and wonderful adventure. But we often reject his advances in order to pursue our careers, find self-fulfillment and seek after any number of lovers who are far less wild. In The Sacred Romance John Eldredge and Brent Curtis challenge us to let go of these "less-wild lovers" so that we can begin the journey back to the passionate lover of our souls. Don't miss this opportunity to return to the intimacy, beauty and adventure of life with God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Review 1 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrea Llewellyn
My pastor preached excerpts of this book that had me in tears. I am very excited to read the book for myself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Mcadoo
Awesome book,really speaks to your heart. I think everybody should read this book. I think Eldridge is a true man of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lauren
For the majority of my life, even though having been saved at the age of 7 years, I have struggled with building and keeping faith in the Lord. With many doubts about all of His Promises to us, I never felt satisfied with life, a significant person, or truly loved for everything that I am. I could go on forever about how much this book has drawn me to the Lord, but most importantly, this book has helped me completely with overcoming my major insecurities. The "Arrows" were more important to me for most of my life, so I was blind to God's Heart, Promises, and incredible Love for me. I also learned that I've always been trying to live life according to my own reasoning and coping strategies, while underestimating God's wonderful power and willingness to comfort, guide, love, forgive, etc. every human being who Loves Him. This book has totally encouraged me to change my whole perspective on life, Satan, God, and all His promises. Now, after having read this book very recently, I can hardly keep my mind off the Lord, constantly relying on Him for direction and intimacy! Very obviously, this book has made a wonderful transformation of my life. Please read it if you haven't. Every human being on this earth needs to read it, for the book explains to the reader everything he or she wants and needs to know and feel and what he or she has always been searching for.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
When Curtis and Eldredge penned "A Sacred Romance", they started an avalanche of Christian writing on the Bible as a passionate romance novel and a grand adventure narrative. Theirs is still the classic on these themes. "A Sacred Romance" puts into words, pictures, stories, images, and illustrations (both ancient and current) concepts about God that many Christians always sensed were true, but rarely felt permission to believe. But more than adding new intellectual insight, Curtis and Eldredge provide a pathway toward a journey of spiritual intimacy. The subtitle says it well, "Drawing Closer to the Heart of God." At they explain, when you know His good heart, then everything within you longs to cling to Him. I would summarize the premise of "The Sacred Romance" with the phrase, "Life is a wedding and a war." Life is headed toward the marriage supper of the Lamb, which is immediately followed by the final victory of the Lion over the Serpent (see Revelation 19). Curtis and Eldredge describe how all of history contains this twin theme. Their message is not nearly so novel as some reviewers imagine. A thorough reading of Church history demonstrates that the life of the mind and of the heart has been integrated throughout Christianity. It is modern, Western Christianity that sidetracked the dual emphasis of head and heart. Yes, they could have developed their emphasis with more theological precision. However, the texts they do use, they develop appropriately. Further, their style is to offer a narrative, not an analytical, retelling of the eternal sacred romance. Whether you're a new Christian or a seminary professor, "A Sacred Romance" can open windows to your soul. These windows will not only refresh your relationship with God, but also with others. Reviewer: Dr. Robert W. Kellemen, author of "Soul Physicians" and "Spiritual Friends."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
David E. Finnell
I believe many will read this book and say I dont get it. This work is profound. I just finished the book. Trying to put it down, all I could do to stifle my sobs was to try and mutter to God, thank you, thank you, thank you.Failure to see the point of a book like this, and recognize Gods heart for what it is, magnifies the reason for the books importance. The authors own poignant reflection on this is seen through an excerpt from page 203 in the paperback: This is inevitable when we fail to remember, or when we remember only with a purely propositional approach to Scripture. We can possess volumes of doctrinal knowledge and it can all be true, but if it is separated from realityespecial the life of the heartit becomes of no consequence to us. I read no early reviews and completely missed any hype about it, because I wasnt tuned in to the release of the book or to the co-authors. Ive bowed and thanked God for personally blessing me with this exposure to Curtis and Eldredges insights. Not only is what they say relevant but it is evidence of life and of not being alone, either physically or in our thought-lifeour spirits access to the deep heart of God and our connections to each other as we traverse common ground.This book seems for times when: you need a hug from God words alone are just not enough, if youre really honest you know Gods words but youd like to feel his touch, and see his face youd like to hold Gods hand and go skipping through heavens fields you cant wait to have all the above, but have accepted or need to be reminded that you mustI previously read Wild At Heart and loved it. The Sacred Romance is very different, as apparently it was meant to be. It has moved me like only one other book Ive read over the last 20 years. I just bought over 3 dozen copies to share with close friends and family, and will ask that they keep a copy and pass one on to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Banks
After a very dry journey in the desert of Christiandom, I found an oasis in the words penned by John and Brent in this thirst-quenching book. To come to that place in our heart where we can rest, knowing we are being romanced by the greastest lover of all, is more than refreshing, it is life giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lori
This book is not for everyone. About half of the members of my Bible study group did not enjoy the writers' style or the way the book flowed. If you like a book to get to the point, with little or no use of analogies, stories or allusions to pop-culture, then you'll be wading through many, many such pages before getting to anything of interest to you. The authors spend more attention on "setting the scene" for what our problems are than they do describing the solution--Christ. Personally, I also do not see my relationship with God as a "sacred romance" in which God has been wooing me to come back to Him. This analogy in particular did not sit right with me because I believe it brings God down to our level, asking us to view Him as too human, instead of encouraging us to discover who God truly is and what He desires of us, through prayer, the study of His Word, and walking by faith.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2003
Customer Avatar
Nate Fry
When I bought this book I did not have time to read it. I had too much to read in seminary. I had been searching for something, I had suffered some pain in my life and started with Dallas Willard's Renovation of the Heart (highly recommend) I became interested in The Sacred Romance and had the opportunity to read it over Christmas-two airplane trips facilitated this. I really do not know what to say about this book other than if you just want to continue to live a lackluster Christian life, if you are comfortable where you are and don't want to truly understand that you were created for a purpose. Than avoid this book at all costs, it is not for the timid. For within these pages you will find a story, and within that story you will discover a wild romance with a heroic lover. As you read you will discover that the Wild Lover who wants to heal you of your arrows is none other than God, and the best part--YOU are the beloved, the sought after in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Len Woods
Profound...haunting...encouraging...refreshing...moving...awe-inspiring...beautifully written. The Sacred Romance is NOT a book for those who want formulas or superficial "answers"; rather, it's strong medicine for those who are weary and restless in their souls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Tabaka
This is a must read by anyone who wants to grow deeper into the heart of Jesus Christ. It is one that makes you feel that Jesus Christ is wrapping His Loving Arms around you and you are just staying there being absorbed into Jesus Christ.The authors were definitely inspiried by God when they wrote this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou
There is so much healing in this book! Too many Christians never get beyond a superficial relationship with Jesus Christ, but this book encourages and inspires one to seek him out at a deeper, more intimate level by revealing his great passion for us and pointing out those blockages that can keep us from getting close to him. I highly reommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2000
Customer Avatar
Robert Eck
Awesome! Outstanding! If your a Christian finding yourself slipping awayinch by inch & in need of refreshing coupled with a deeper understanding ofour utterly loving Father in heaven, you must read this book! A work inspired of God w/out any doubt.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.