Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5

Multnomah Books Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5

Having narrowly escaped death at the hands of the evil Shadow Warriors, Sir Gavin is given a new name by the Prince to signify his new allegiance to the cause of the one he once swore to kill. Called to share this message to everyone in the land, Sir Gavinaugh takes up his sword and embarks on an epic journey. Includes discussion questions and is a great resource for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Review 1 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chuck Black

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deah =)
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very rarely will I take time to leave reviews for books or audiobooks b/c we're usually too busy reading or listening to them. ;) But these...THESE books by Chuck Black...are well worth taking a minute to leave a 5-star review. Each one of his books have been over-the-top great. Each one has a wonderful surface storyline and is interesting to young children...teens...and adults. However, if you take the stories one step further and look for the underlying messages, they will stop you in your tracks. The author take Biblical truths, morals, parables and subtlety weaves them into the story. We often found ourselves stopping to discuss the deeper meaning with our children while listening...and even they were picking up on them, after they knew to look for them. I hope to read and listen to many more books from Chuck Black in years to come...as long as he keeps to his pattern of deep doctrine "hidden" in an entertaining story.
As for the audio version? It's well-done by two different readers with dramatization added.
I would purchase this again if I lost my copy...or purchase it for a good friend as a gift. =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave the first book in the series to a young 12 year old for his birthday - he was absolutely thrilled with it. So I completed the series to say thank you for all the chores he has helped me with -- his mother picked one up to see what he was reading - she has also completed the series. It is so good to get good reading for all ages!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Sir Gavinaugh, once an enemy of the Prince and now one of his most valiant followers, travels across Arrethtrae to bring hope to the Outdwellers. Thoughout all his perils his loyal friend, Weston, his magnificent, faithful horse, Triumph, a bitter slave girl, Keanna, and ultimately, the Prince never leave his side. A wonderfull retelling of the life of Paul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah, age 14
I found these books very refreshing and encouraging. I have never been more emotionally wrapped up in books before. I squealed with each shocking surprise, was on the edge of my seat in suspense, and almost cried with happiness at the end of some of the books. I would strongly recommend these books to anyone (ten and up) who's looking for wholesome fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandravir Ahuja
This book is great, bible wise and also story wise. It is interesting how all the characters represent so many different biblical characters/stories like how in book 1 there is Adam and Eve, Noah's ark, Paul's stoning so on, so forth but in craftily disguised ways. The discussion questions really make you think and read the bible as well. This book is highly recommended to ANYONE over 8 years old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mariaelena Aguilar
Although I really enjoy the entire Kingdom's series, "Kingdom's Quest #5" is by far my favorite. Several years ago, I purchased the entire softcover book series for my son who was struggling with reading due to a lack of interest in the school book subjects. This series caught and held his attention. Now, through the Audiobooks all of my children (age 6 through High School) have been able to follow the parralled biblical stories. The audiobooks are voice-dramatized in such a way as to keep the listeners in anticipation as each scene enfolds. There is a enough suspense, sword-fights, battles and a hint of romance to keep everyone's attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabel Kasparie
My 12 year old daughter, really enjoyed these series. Got them for her for Christmas. Based on medieval times with knights and maidens but protrays Biblical events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jack Jennaway
This book was captivating, I loved the tornaments, and Gavinauh's quest throughout the kingdom, but I thought it was unrealistic that he left his opponents alive, similar tournaments actually did hapen, and sometimes, only the winner sorvived. Still, great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
John3v36
From one of my favorite series! Great for reading aloud with the family. The kids enjoy reading them on their own. They are a great flight of the imagination and full of suspense, action, and drama. On top of being incredible fantasy stories, these books contain very clear allegory which can easily be related back to passages from the Bibleeven by our 8 year old. The series takes you through the whole Bible in only a few characters. Definitely a must-read from age 8 to 80!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rose Kothman
Book 5... and was even better than the first 4...I am looking forward to reading the last book! Very engaging and exciting. Keeps you wanting to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Keilah Sullinger
This is a most EXCELLENT series. Biblical and exciting. My children ages 11 and 15 have read them over and over. I, myself could not put them down. Best if you use the discussion questions with each chapter. REALLY AWESOME!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdom's Quest, Kingdom Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Sir Gavin now called Sir Gavinaugh belongs heart and soul to the Son of the King. The Prince wants him to travel the world to tell those he meets about the Son of the King. Gavinaugh goes to a land where the leader is held hostage to the Shadow Warriors and the Knight defeats them winning more soldiers for the Knights of the Prince. As a non-believer he let a peasant be taken by the shadow Warriors to be sold as a slave but in a country that earns its wealth from the slave trade he meets that young girl and frees her.She follows him as he tells peasants, lords and rulers about the prince and in the realm of Thercia he fights in a tournament and with the Princes help becomes the champion. He preaches to the people of the princes love and how he wants their love because he wants them all to come into the Kings Kingdom. Keanna, the slave girl he now loves is once again caught by the Shadow Warriors and Gavinaugh rides to free her risking his life.This is a quest fantasy of a man who unknowingly served the Dark Lord until he understood his evil and the goodness of the Prince. Gavinaughs accomplishments in the Princes name and the fervor he brings to his mission will draw the reader into the storyline. Chick Black is a fantastic storyteller who knows how to get his message across in an exhilarating tale without preaching.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.