Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4

Multnomah Books Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4

A peasant arrives in Chessington claiming to be the son of the King and is arrested and executed. When his Followers continue to defy the Code, Sir Gavin swears to destroy this threat - until he is grievously wounded in battle and is saved by someone who will transform his heart and life forever. Includes discussion questions and is a great resource for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Review 1 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chuck Black

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deah =)
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very rarely will I take time to leave reviews for books or audiobooks b/c we're usually too busy reading or listening to them. ;) But these...THESE books by Chuck Black...are well worth taking a minute to leave a 5-star review. Each one of his books have been over-the-top great. Each one has a wonderful surface storyline and is interesting to young children...teens...and adults. However, if you take the stories one step further and look for the underlying messages, they will stop you in your tracks. The author take Biblical truths, morals, parables and subtlety weaves them into the story. We often found ourselves stopping to discuss the deeper meaning with our children while listening...and even they were picking up on them, after they knew to look for them. I hope to read and listen to many more books from Chuck Black in years to come...as long as he keeps to his pattern of deep doctrine "hidden" in an entertaining story.
As for the audio version? It's well-done by two different readers with dramatization added.
I would purchase this again if I lost my copy...or purchase it for a good friend as a gift. =)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandravir Ahuja
This book is great, bible wise and also story wise. It is interesting how all the characters represent so many different biblical characters/stories like how in book 1 there is Adam and Eve, Noah's ark, Paul's stoning so on, so forth but in craftily disguised ways. This book is highly recommended to anyone over 8 years old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isabel Kasparie
My 12 year old daughter, really enjoyed these series. Got them for her for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
pams
I got the Kingdom series for Christmas and loved them! Of the six books, I must say this was my favorite. The picture Chuck Black paints for the reader is so real, that the main character became like an old friend. I highly recommend this book and all the other books of the Kingdom series. I look forward to reading more from this inspiring author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jack Jennaway
The book was just as well writen as the others, but hardly as entertaining. It was a little boring reading through the same story from a diferent point of view. I wasn't really reading it until the last couple of chpters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
John3v36
From one of my favorite series! Great for reading aloud with the family. The kids enjoy reading them on their own. They are a great flight of the imagination and full of suspense, action, and drama. On top of being incredible fantasy stories, these books contain very clear allegory which can easily be related back to passages from the Bibleeven by our 8 year old. The series takes you through the whole Bible in only a few characters. Definitely a must-read from age 8 to 80!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rose Kothman
Book 4 and they are getting better and better! A great read for teens and adults alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon
My 10 year old son loves this series. He was so excited when they all came in the mail. He actually looks forward to reading, and I have to make him turn out the lights at night. These were a perfect buy for the summer months when school is out of session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdom's Call, Kingdom Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In the kingdom Arrethtrae in the city of Chessington, the Noble Knights are tasked with protecting every citizen in its borders because they are the Kings chosen people and Kifus is the leader but Gavin is the most reverently devoted to the King. One day a stranger stops Kifus from cutting off the hand of a child who stole. He then defeated Kifus in a sword fight which angered Kifus and Gavin who watched as the imposter proclaims he is the Son of the King. The people are intrigued by him and some become his followers.The Noble Knights feel threatened and has the imposter hung from a tree but that didnt stop his followers from believing in him or spreading his Word. Gavin, now known as the Butcher of Chessington, kills as many of the imposters followers as he can find. One day in the woods he is attacked by Lord Lucius shadow lords and left to die. The followers who now call the imposter the Prince take Gavin to heal. His feelings about the Noble Knights begin to change and he is both fearful and excited when he learns that the prince has an interest in him.Gavin lived by the harsh Code and he believes he is better than the ordinary citizen and the out-dwellers. His hatred towards the Prince makes the people call him the Butcher of Chessington yet when he sees how the followers of the Prince are given to their enemies he begins to doubt his own beliefs. He undergoes a crisis of faith that changes him forever. Chuck Black has written a fantastic fantasy that uses biblical prophecies as the basis of his tense plot.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.