Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 20th Century Fox Nim's Island, DVD

20th Century Fox Nim's Island, DVD

Nim Rusoe (Abigail Breslin) lives on a deserted island with her scientist father Jack (Gerard Butler) and her best friends: Selkie, a sea lion; Fred, a bearded dragon lizard and Galileo, a plucky pelican. But when Jack goes missing at sea and the island is "invaded," Nim reaches out via e-mail to the adventurous author of her favorite books (Jodie Foster), and together, each discovers what it takes to truly become the hero of your own life story. Rated PG. Approx. 95 minutes.

Special Features:
  • "Nim's Friends" Featurette
  • "Abigail's Journey" Featurette
  • "Working on Water" Featurette
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Adventure Commentary with Jodie Foster and Abigail Breslin
  • Commentary with Directors Mark Levin and Jennifer Flackett
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nim's Island, DVD
Review 1 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bill
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The girls enjoyed. It is a very cute movie. I would recommend it to anyone who want a good clean movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute family movie!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah Fitch
Location:Wellsboro, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family has enjoyed this movie twice now. The only thing my husband did not like was that the little girl reached out via email to "a male" she did not know. But, in the grand scheme of things the movie is on the wholesome side with enough adventure to keep the older kids entertained as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A family movie

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Kelchner
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It show how a people can over come difficulties in their lives when they apply ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great family movie

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my children love this movie! the watch over & over!
cute story & clean...You dont get much of that these days!
thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful movie great family entertainment

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
MamaC
Location:Greeneville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie and will probably watch it again. Good family entertainment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal for a fun movie.

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
missfish
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super price! My daughter loves the movie and I am glad to have it as part of our library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
gemuk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are not in the habit of buying movies unless they clearly reflect our values. We had borrowed Nim's Island from the library and loved it. When I saw it here for a good deal, I took the plunge. We enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
NIce Kids story, nothing Christian about the movie, but not a bad family movie. The kids enjoyed it - ages 8 & 9.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norma Womble
We really enjoyed Nim's Island. I purchased the DVD with my 4 year old and 8 year old great nephews in mind. We watched the movie 3 times Saturday and they watched it again Sunday morning while I was preparing breakfast. Very good for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie K Augspurger
This was a fun, "take a break from reality" movie to watch with young ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
KJMMgranny
Good for the family. Beautiful scenery. My grandchildren are going to love all the wildlife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Green
My grandson (7) granddaugther (6)and I watched this DVD together. We all enjoyed the DVD. We watched three times. Good family DVD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Divory Graves
Wonderful for young children and teens I have 12 grandchildren ages ranging from 14 years old to 1 month we all enjoyed watching together and discussing the movie afterward. Great for family fun night!! So get out the popcorn and soft drinks, pillows, and blankets. Fun, fun, fun!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This was more for kids viewing than adult so I was a little disappointed. However, it is a cute movie and I gave it to my kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gabriela Kunkel
I have a 7yr old and a 5 yr old and they both love the movie just like I did. no profanity and it was a very well done movie. It had adventure, funny animals and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lily K.
Wow! What a wonderful family movie. It was very good for a good deal. Would recommend to everyone who loves adventure movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Sullivan
Great movie - great price. Combines fantasy with reality and shows how caring for others is so very imprtant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Sullivan
Great movie - great price. Combines fantasy with reality and shows how caring for others is so very imprtant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
joy4soul
It was good movie; it was a great for a family. This girl show, she was so brave without supervisor there, she know how to do survivor herself alone on the island. Love those animals as nature, beach and great environment. It was also aprt of funny, sweet, clean and good actors. Movie would be great for age up to 12 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nim's Island, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie Rose
I was a little disappointed in this movie. I really didn't like it and I usually like the kid movies. Could be a little scary for younger children. And the storyline is not realistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>