Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed

Oxford University Press KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed

KJV THE SCOFIELD STUDY BIBLE - This edition is a fresh variation on Oxford's combination of the KJV translation with the renowned Scofield study system. The Scofield KJV continues the legacy of the committee of Evangelical scholars who edited the New Scofield Study Bible in 1967. It includes numerous features that enhance the augmentation (not revision) of this treasured one volume resource.

Special Features:
  • New subheadings clarify the structure of book introductions expanded explanations bring out each books' main points detailed outlines provide guidance for studying the text additional cross references enhance insights into the text.
  • Introductions included detailed outlines of each book. Study note biblical references are now in the familiar chapter and verse format.
  • Bottom of the page study notes permit quick retrieval of interesting data.
  • Over 550 in-text definitions of proper nouns locate place name references and explain the meaning of personal names in their original language.
  • Striking new page design and crisp typeface make reading easy on the eyes.
  • Nearly 70 in-text black and white maps and charts help orient the reader to geographical references in the biblical text.
  • Nearly 250 notes crucial to understanding the Scofield (including all notes on Dispensations, Covenants, and Summary notes) are now featured as in text articles, making them easier to locate and read.
  • Sectional headings have been added for ease in following God's guiding hand in human history.
  • New indexes to proper nouns, chain references and subject.
  • 16 pages of accurate, full color Oxford Bible Maps (with index of places and natural features) that illustrate the biblical world.
  • Concordance.
  • Thumb indexed
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great kjv bible!

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
randy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The print is consistent and dark. The study notes are very helpful and not distracting from the text. For the money ; the quality is great and Christianbook has the best costumer service of any Christian store online.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scofield III simply the best bible made.

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing a relatives copy I was blown away by the amount of knowledge in this bible. The commentary and notes are kept tastefully and respectfully at the bottom and in the margins. There are many preachers that are staunchly against the Scofield Study system and claim that it teaches false doctrine but that is simply not true. The notes and comments are study tools and are not Holy scripture. It is important to remember that and some preachers can not seem to keep that in mind. They are there to offer a description and explanation of some of the text. To do without this study guide is to really sell yourself short. There is a very large majority of the bible that you will never be able to understand without help, no matter how many times you read it, and a pastor won't be able to help you with everything all the time either. This bible will help you learn the keys to the kingdom. It has been used for over a hundred years and counting. The quality is the finest craftsmanship you can buy. The genuine leather is well worth the extra money spent and will last you a lifetime. The index of names, concordance, and complete cross reference section in the back is invaluable and the best there is bar none! Don't be afraid to learn more about Gods word. You have probably wasted money on other frivolous things, so why would you deny paying more to learn more about God. Get one today. It will be the most important purchase of your life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DLeeH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is wonderful! I am so blessed to have it. I recommend this Bible to everyone. Don't wait get one know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its a great deal.

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CHALLO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a great deal for the money i love my socfield study bible genuine leather its my favorite bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible has some great features

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joshua13
Location:Edmonton , Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this Bible as a gift , they seem to be very happy with it , the quality and how it is laid out makes their Bible study much more rewarding. I would not hesitate to purchase another one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elma
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have various study bibles (my fave being Thomas Nelson!), so for my next round of studying I thought I'd try this one since my girlfriend told me Scofield was one of the best. I'm glad I got it too! I'm just in Genesis and have already found unique information not in my other bibles. Plus, I like the different ways the notes/charts are layed out on the pages. Love the fact it's zippered too--only thing is--when the zipper gets to the bottom, on mine anyway, you have to make sure you stick it further into the gap of the binder in order to open the book all the way (flat) without harming it..but I got the hang of it. Would recommend if you yet ANOTHER study bible (and what's one more!)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for my son. He loves it. My father was a minister as well as my grandfather and they both preached using a Scofield bible. Looks like it is going to keep running in the family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scofield III contains the best of the first 2

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ncarolinian
Location:Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three of us were purchasing a Bible as a birthday gift for a dear friend. He requested that we purchase the Scofield III. He had been greatly impressed with one which he had seen, for its value as a study Bible. Though I would have probably purchased the NASV edition for him, he specifically wanted the KJV. He cannot get over thanking us for giving him the Scofield III! I am disappointed that it is no longer available without the thumb tabs. (I really do not think that Bible students need the tabs. Beside this, they become frayed and unsightly after a little while.) However, this was the only availability. He said that he could live with that, before I ordered it. I always preferred the New Scofield of 1967, and still do. However, I never liked the way the Bible text was changed for the New Scofield. With the Scofield III, we can now have the best of the notes with the best of the translations, the NASV. This is a good thing!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classy bible --tasteful cover

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
QualityofLife
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Given to a Deputy Sheriff in a small town. I was proud to deliver it to him.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study Bible!!!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randall Boquist
Location:Ashland, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this study Bible since January 2011 and it is the best Bible I have ever owned! Love all the study notes! I really enjoy reading it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Douglas,GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a Scofield Study Bible III and now I have one. It appears to be a great bible the and the chain references are great bonus. Also the additional notes and maps are an added plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a great tool for studying God's word.

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Millie
Location:Fort Washington, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought a number of versions of the Bible, but this one is by far the best for me. It provides so much more information in helping me understand the background and history of the writers, books, and chapters, as well as an explanation of key events and their significance. The cross references are very helpful, and the concordance is excellent. I'm really enjoying the study of the Word of God with my Scofield.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible was even better than expected.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
debjohnson
Location:Farmerville, La.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was just beautiful. The leather looked great and the inscription was perfect; not failing to mention the quality alone was outstanding. I gave this as a gift for Christmas. It was definitely a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Bible

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
momprint
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scofield was the first study Bible I received and my family has always used it. If I have questions about something in the Bible I know I can find the answers in this Bible with all the helps and cross references that are there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything Momma wanted & more...

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
SaintChristopher93
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I surprised my Mom with this on Christmas. She was a Sunday school teacher for almost 20 years, AWANA leader, and devout follower -- so she is, to say the least, a critic when it comes to versions of the Bible. This is an AMAZING Bible full of detailed study helps, maps that help to understand where biblical places are now, and extensive knowledge applied as far as Hebrew and Jewish customs that often baffle the best of us. Highly recommend to any and everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
run2themercyseat
Location:Panhandle Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these bibles for an ordination that we had at our church. Not only was the delivery fast but the bibles and imprinting were beautiful. I looked at the content and really like these bibles. I am considering purchasing one for myself also. I like the look of the burgandy basket weave one better than the tan, but both are nice. Customer Service Dept was excellent help also & very courteous. Fantastic people to deal with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes Great Gifts

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
lettertaker
Location:Harrison MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Bibles makes great gifts, you can have their names engraved on the front...Both my children love them...A great study bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Douglas M. Anglin
Location:Doniphan,Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best study bible out there, period! I now have two of these KJV,NIV, I also have other study bible's but not one of them come's close to the kjv scofield!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real improvement to the "Old" Scofield Bible

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
charles
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible was in excellent condition. The only thing that would have made it much better for me is for the Bible to be in giant or larger print as I do not see as well as I did 78 years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Scofield Study Bible Genuine Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wild Bill
Location:Sioux Falls, SD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this Bible, thank you; and to God be the glory.
In Christ
Rick Fiegen
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.