Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ligonier Ministries ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy

Ligonier Ministries ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy

Widely considered one of the best tools available for Bible study and previously only available in the New King James Version, the Reformation Study Bible (RSB) has been updated to the readable and accurate English Standard Version (ESV).

Respected theologian Dr. R.C. Sproul, founder and chairman of Ligonier Ministries, served as this study Bible's general editor. "The Reformation Study Bible contains a modern restatement of Reformation truth in its comments and theological notes. Its purpose is to present the light of the Reformation afresh," stated Dr. Sproul.

The thousands of in-depth study notes included in the RSB were compiled from over 50 distinguished biblical scholars, including Drs. J.I. Packer, James Boice, and Wayne Grudem. In addition to the comprehensive study notes, the RSB offers readers extended discussions on the authority of Scripture, the atonement, and other key aspects of biblical theology.

The RSB is intended for use by anyone who wants a deeper understanding of the Scriptures. The reader will appreciate book introductions, an extensive cross-reference system, and illuminated words and terms within the Bible that are crucial to an in-depth understanding. This new edition in the ESV is published by Ligonier Ministries and produced and distributed by P&R Publishing of Phillipsburg, NJ.

Features:
  • Theological Notes index
  • In-text maps index
  • Charts index
  • Section introductions (Pentateuch, History, etc)
  • Book Introductions
  • Passage headings
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • Black letter edtion
  • Concordance
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Burgundy genuine leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Review 1 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Drew Mery
This really is an amazing study Bible. The many articles provided throughout help give deeper understanding to certain theological/doctrinal topics. The articles on particular Reformed Theology, such as the five points of Calvinism, also provide good information. This study Bible has treasures all through-out its pages, leading you into a deeper understanding of God's Word. The Concordance is a good length and the Chapter Entries provide you with a lot of information to help put your reading in context.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rose Cuzick
I really like this new (to me) version, it is easier to read and therefore understand. I only wish it was indexed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thomas Thompson
It's just what I wanted, The only thing I didn't like was the engraving. I think it should be bigger
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
The ESV Reformation Study Bible is an excellent, well made edition of God's Word. In addition to thousands of annotations on the text it contains numerous theological notes (from a Calvinist perspective)not to mention book introductions and cross references. The ESV translation is probably the best translation available when considering accuracy and readability. Two improvements for future edition would be: a more thorough concordance containing Bible personalities and colour maps for the back of this Bible. Otherwise a great purchase and it's one of the few Bibles that still have a sewn binding which I hope Ligonier Publishers maintain in future editions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Teri Yarbrough
Great study materials included in the pages of this Bible to get a person enjoying studying the Bible. Only downfall is that the margins are not wide enough for notes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendy Appleton
I love this bible. The notes are excellent. There are many pages addressing many key topics in theology - answers to FAQ's. The bible offers excellent maps in the context of scripture, but the one thing I miss are color maps. It is good to have maps right where you need them. If I could make any change it would be to add time lines and additional maps, but those are available in other places. I would highly recommend this Bible for anyone who has just one study Bible and wants to gain some background and deeper understanding of the Word. It's a great tool!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terry
I really like this Bible. The ESV is a good readable but technically accurate text, and the Bible study helps are wonderful. Very thoughtful and honest - they identify uncertainty and alternative interpretations where appropriate. Outlines and background at the beginning of each book are very useful, and I particularly like the cross referencing in the center column. Like the other reviewer, I also would have liked a map section, and more room to make notes since I write in my Bible, but this moved almost immediately into "most favored Bible" status upon reciept, and I am fighting with my teenager to retain control of it. I'll have to get him his own very soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Reformation Study Bible Genuine Leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer J. H. Webb
I have been impressed with this Bible. The notes and illustrations are a great help and encourage meditation in a deeper way on the topic at hand since they point out other aspects of the topic in other passages or emphasize significant elements of the context. If you are accustomed to having a section of maps all in one place on special stiff paper as I am, this is not a feature this Bible has, but there are in-text maps throughout the Word. An index identifies the location of the maps and of the pages containing the interesting doctrinal summary. This is the only change I'd like to see in future editions: to have maps and charts in one reference section rather than applied once throughout the text where the Word refers classically to that doctrine, mentions a signal event in that location, or refers to a unit of weight or measure. There are helpful notes explaining various themes in respectful consideration of numerous doctrines and scriptural motifs indicating why the Reformed stance is what it is, but I don't find it snooty and self-righteous but instead informative, interesting, and thought-provoking. I found one small g where there ought to be G in a table in Exodus. When I become perfect, I'll write to the editors about that. it's not a lightweight Bible, but there are generous notes, book summaries, and doctrinal notes. This matter is not a serious one; it's a study Bible and it contains all this rich information. It is simply an overcomable matter of learning to find and use the information. The charts and information of frequent or particular interest to me I find, use, and appreciate. My druthers is to have that in one reference section, that's all. Swell Bible; helpful, thorough notes; excellent lens into the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.