Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BMG Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD

BMG Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD

You know Billy Graham as a self-assured and charismatic preacher---and one of the most important figures of the 20th century. Now meet him as he was---an earnest young man struggling with faith and doubt in Depression-era America. You'll be inspired by the story of his decision for Christ... and where it led! Starring Armie Hammer, Stefanie Butler, Josh Turner, Martin Landau, and Lindsay Wagner. Dove approved. Rated PG. Approx. 98 minutes.

Special Features:
  • Exclusive 2009 Sermon by Billy Graham
  • Behind-the-Scenes Making of Billy: The Early Years
  • Photo Gallery
  • Spanish Subtitles
  • Closed Captions
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
24 out of 2789%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Review 1 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Boonville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie has excellent talent playing the parts of real life people. Armie Hammer did Billy's gestures excellently. This movie is good because it shows a side of Mr. Graham that most people did not know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the movie

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
J Pal
Location:Chicago, IL.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Enjoyed getting to know Billy's back-story. Watched him growing up. Never knew most of this. The acting was good.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely worth watching!!

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alyonka
Location:Alaska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved seeing how Billy had a hard time with speech before God started using him. The message comes out clear: You don't have to have huge talent to be used by God, just willingness and trust in Him. Good acting, clear message, definitley worth watching.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing Movie

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
childofgod
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since this movie was neither produced nor endorsed by Billy Graham or anyone at BGEA, I guess I wasn't very surprised to find it seriously lacking. It doesn't capture the true essence of Reverend Graham or the magnitude of his ministry. Far too much of the movie is depicted from the perspective of Charles Templeton. If you want to connect with the real Billy Graham, I recommend seeking out resources produced and endorsed by himself.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Billy!

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shar
Location:TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was shocked at the greatestness of this movie, and the soundtrack! Little Robby Benson, the child actor, has gone big-time, in a big way! The only flaw I saw, (but loved it) was Roy Orbison singing "In Dreams," but not in the early 40's. I can listen to him all day. As well as Brooks & Dunn with Mac Powell, (Third Day) Alan Jackson singing a song he wrote w/Ruth, Brad Paisley and ends with Michael W. Smith. And Josh Turner, (Long Black Train) as Geoege Beverly Shea in the movie and sings too.
Anyway, suffice it to say, the casting was fantastic. He even looks like Billy. I never knew he wanted to be a baseball player. I never would have imagined his questioning God's existed and the Word flawed. Hey, he was/is human. So many events and emotions to go through but, what a journey! I asure you, you will love it. My biggest disappointment was the end. It came too son and I wanted it to not finish. But alas, I just preordered the lastest 6 hour DVD coming next month!
In short, I've watched four times in as many days. I call it a Masterpiece.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham Cudlipp
Location:Prescott, Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned so much about the early years.
The first conversion by young Billy was very moving.
I have loaned my copy to a couple of friends at Church to good reviews.
Shalom,
Graham.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great movie!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wends
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it. If you are a Billy Graham fan (and even if you don't really know who he is ;-) ) it is well worth viewing.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a message in the way this story was done!

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
anonymous
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This was very enjoyable to see how God worked in Billy's life.
Sad to see how his friend was affected, when things happened in the world. It gives a powerful message to follow our Lord no matter what happens, and leave the results with Him.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How Billy Graham came to be International.

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Edward Gotts
Location:Madison, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent retelling of the early years during which Billy Graham honed his skills while not losing sight of his message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoughts on the film

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anita Allee
Location:Mid-west
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected a serious study and wondered how a living legend would be portrayed. The film was humorous and included many of the questions young people ask themselves. I found it very appealing and inspirational to find "normal, average" doubts shown and their satisfactory resolution. I am recommending it for the adults and youth in our church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
wayranch
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children and I both loved this movie. It's informative as to the early years of Mr. Graham's life and quite entertaining. A couple parts had my children laughing. I am glad we purchased it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Billy Graham--Learn the Rest of the Story

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today, almost everyone has heard of Billy Graham, but not everybody knows his early history--or "the rest of the story", as Paul Harvey liked to say. This DVD tells the rest of that story, and it was very interesting.
The narrative begins with Billy Graham as a young man living at home, and how he came to be called into the ministry. We also learn about the person he almost married, and the one he did--and how he met her. We see how one of Billy Graham's very best friends in the ministry lets him down, and then ridicules him publicly. It is very easy to identify with Billy in this story.
This movie definitely keeps your interest. Even if Billy Graham were not a public figure, this would be an account worth watching. I am a long-time admirer of Dr. Graham, and came forward at one of his crusades when I was twelve years old. Learning Dr. Graham's history made me respect him even more.
The movie is suitable for all ages and clean. Our family highly recommends this.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Early Billy Graham

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thanksgiving1622
Location:Auburn, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone interested in the early ministry of Billy Graham should watch this film. Lays a solid foundation why Billy has been popular over the decades, he doesn't go with the flow but just preaches the Gospel. OUtstanding film.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not well acted

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
deliveryguy
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This movie did not meet my expectations at all. Usually, I'll watch a movie several times, to give it another chance if I did not like it the first time, but the acting in this movie was so bad, that I put it away. The "actors" were mostly bit actors of whom I have never heard of and the storyline was not true to what I know of Billy Graham. It was a sort of wishy washy type movie that never made it at the box office.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable info on Billy.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
nursesue
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent portrayal of the young Billy Graham. I did not know anything about his youth, so it was good information for me. The movie was professionally well done. It was informative as well as entertaining. A good family film. I was surprised to learn Billy had times of doubt in his faith in the Lord, just as many of us have had. The actor that portrayed Billy Graham was excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Movie

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smohr7
Location:AB Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good movie that shows the younger years of Billy. It's good quality film, and good acting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderfully shared and depicted. Quiet funny in places... very sad in others as you see first hand how some will turn away from Christ. I was blessed that when Billy had his crisis of belief that he also had grounded encouraging parents in the faith of Jesus Christ alone who stood by him with sound wisdom and encouragement.
I am glad, as many are certainly that this crisis was one that brought him into a stronger faith in Jesus Christ, the Way, the Truth and the Life.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jayjensen2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good!!!! Praise The Lord!!! highly reccomanded!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Belicoso
Location:Wasilla, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy was a very well done film, comparable to mainstream productions. My wife and I enjoyed the movie so much that our only disappointment was when it finally ended. Would recommend this movie to anyone as an addition to their movie collection.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Billy: The Early Years of Billy Graham, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
beamon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed watching this DVD. I have shared it with my family and they loved it. Thanks Billy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>