Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God

Crossway Books & Bibles Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God

Family Driven Faith equips Christian parents with the tools they need to raise children biblically in a post-Christian, anti-family society. Voddie Baucham, who with his wife has overcome a multi-generational legacy of broken and dysfunctional homes, shows that God has not left us alone in raising godly children. He has given us timeless precepts and principles for multi-generational faithfulness, especially in Deuteronomy 6. God's simple command to Moses to teach the Word diligently to the children of Israel serves as the foundation of Family Driven Faith. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
Review 1 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
fleety
Age:35-44
Gender:female
After being blessed by reading this book, I couldn't wait to let a friend borrow it. Bought a second copy, lent it to another friend. Purchased another copy and couldn't wait to share it with a third friend. I am now on my 4th copy. I suspect I'll be purchasing more in the future though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is awesome!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Rum
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great resource for young families in the Church today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting and doable

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
LadyMother
Location:Southeast USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard Mr Baucham on the radio and some videos so I was expecting good things. I was not disappointed. It is easy to read, very clear, and kept my interest to the end. I look forward to passing it on knowing it is a good mentoring tool. I like that it is not "preachy" or condensending. Mr Baucham knows what he is talking about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Share and Learn Together
When I first received this book I was skeptical. Perhaps because I had never heard of the author and so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. This book really challenges parents to take seriously the responsibilities that God has entrusted to us. Children are precious gifts and we must be diligent in teaching them. This is a very thought-provoking book and I highly recommend it. You may not agree with every detail, but reading this book will be time well-spent. (Crossway provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest critique).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Politically INcorrect, but Biblically CORRECT!

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ultimately, if your final source of raising a family for God is Scripture, this is a great book to look. It does have a lot of personal anecdotes to make it a fun and easy read, but all the points and concepts are taken from and brought back to Scripture.
This book might be rather difficult to go through if the Bible is not your final source of Christian living. It is likely that instead, this book would be offensive then.
It also gives very practical ways to live for God rather than just living like our culture.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
JulieMom
Location:CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I borrowed this book from a friend. When I finished I went and bought 2 - a copy for me to read thru again & highlight and a copy for my church's library. I'm considering buying a 3rd for my brother & his wife. They don't homeschool, so they may be put off by that portion of the book, but the rest would be very beneficial to their family (as it would be to ANY Christian family serious about imparting a true & lasting faith to their children).
Excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Must use discernment!!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
N Gott
Location:Indy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While there are concepts that I agree with in this book, I wouldn't recommend it. Yes, I do agree that parents need to be the primary faith teachers, and that many parents are failing. I do agree that many churches have failed to equip parents, and that many parents are "outsourcing" their God-given calling to disciple their children. However, this book, in an effort to teach people to have faith and worship the Lord, COMPLETELY LEAVES OUT GOD AND HIS GRACE!!! The author has his narrow-minded idea of what it takes to be a parent, and just because it worked for his family, makes it the only way. I praise God that his family is doing well, but God can work in BIG ways through numerous methods. This book offers no hope, only legalistic prideful commentary.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just read it!!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather S
Location:KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are not very many non-fiction books (besides the Bible) that I make it to the end. I had no problem finishing this one, & will definitely read it again. The advice & instruction are practical & biblical. This book challenged me in so many ways and encouraged me to make some changes in my own life & home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lara Dobler
I purchased this book at a home school conference a couple months back and I must say it is one of the best books I have ever read! Very convicting but I believe right on the mark and a wake up call for families. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Damon Stedifor
Fantastic! Informative, affirming, and convicting. A challenge for parents to step up and do what we've known all along is the right thing to do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
I have read a lot of Christian parenting books and am very impressed with this one. It is full of practical information and ideas for teaching children a Christian worldview and implementing a family worship time. He also addresses the shortfalls of the typical churches that segregate family members into groups and discourage parents from being the primary mentors of their children. I felt that the book was written more for the father of the family than the mother, partly because the author is writing from his perspective as a dad and partly because he is calling men to step up to the plate to fulfill their calling as the spiritual leader of the home. As a single mom, however, I still found it very helpful. This is a book that will be kept and referred to over and over again.I received a free review copy of this book from Crossway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Stephens
Excellent book! A must read! He puts things into perspective that we aren't hearing from the pulpit. I pray that our churches would be more willing to become family-integrated churches, keeping families together to worship and study God's word. He encourages & challenges us to raise our children with a Biblical world view, as well as incorporate family worship, study and prayer time into our daily lives so that our families will impact our communities today and in the years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt S
Voddie Baucham has written a book that is a shot across the bow of the church. Parents are failing their kids and are disobedient to God's Word in the task of raising their children biblically today more than ever before. This book was a wake up call to me and I praise God for the big smack in my face. It's a call for every parent to be obedient to God's Word. It's a call to pastors to make the discipleship of the next generation a priority. It's a call to the church to stop using man-centered methods and to start use God's methods. I think this should be required reading for every pastor, deacon and especially every Christian parent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Ryan
Incredible book. There should be a copy in every home where the Dad and Mom are serious about equipping their children for life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wilder Family
The reviews say it well--AWESOME book! Great at getting at the heart of the matter. Some truths may hurt or shake you but you WILL be encouraged by reading this book. Parents, TEACH YOUR CHILDREN!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
K.P.
Amazing book! I heard Voddie speak at a homeschool conference & consequently bought this and another of his books. His approach toward Biblically raising families is challenging, but right on the mark. A MUST READ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allen Lefkovitz
Children are a blessing from the Lord and as such, raising them is a serious endeavor that requires the grace of God. This is a book that I would recommend to any parent or grandparent of younger children. This book is pretty simple to read but is Voddie Baucham is not ashamed to challenge the "norms" of American Christian culture. May the Lord be gracious to us as parents and more importantly to our children and grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roy Lindberry
This book provides a much needed call for the church encourage and equip parents to fulfill their responsibility to disciple their children, bringing them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. Voddie's style is direct and firm, yet caring - he truly shows the heart of a pastor. As a pastor myself, I was challenged by Family Driven Faith to lead my home in a manner consistent with Biblical mandates. The insight it provided into where I have fallen short and how I can get from here to there was extremely humbling and convicting, which to me, is the hallmark of a great book.This was a phenomenal book, but be warned, if you don't want to be challenged and convicted, this isn't the book for you. But I am recommending it to my church, friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Castellana
Wow, a great book! It confirms all that I believe in how to raise a family today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Family-Driven Faith: Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with God
This review is fromFamily Driven Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
JustMe
Have you ever read and book that just shot straight through to the heart of the matter? This one scores and leaves you wanting to read it again and again to make sure of what you read. Ever wondered what happened to the christian family? Ever wondered why our young people are turning away from the faith in droves? Ever wondered if there was one thing that you could possibly do about it?This book helps point out what Christian parents have been trying to put their finger on for years, but couldn't quite figure it out. It is not a book of condemnation, rather a book to enlighten what has been right in front of us for so long... we couldn't see it.I love that this book crosses denominational and racial barriers and just tells it like it is from God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>