Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy

The ESV Student Study Bible is ideally suited for students who are serious about God's Word—who want to learn more about what the Bible teaches and how the Bible applies to all of life.

With 16,000 clear, concise study notes, the ESV Student Study Bible provides numerous new features—including 1,000 "Did You Know?" facts, more than 100 new Bible character profiles, and 15 new topical articles. It also features a new glossary of key terms, more than 80 full-color maps and illustrations, an extensive concordance, 80,000 cross-references, and free access to the online Student Study Bible with the purchase of any print edition. These and many other features make it the most comprehensive, colorful, and content-rich student Bible available today. Suited to high school and college students, the ESV Student Study Bible is also a versatile resource for anyone engaged in serious study of God’s Word.

Created by an outstanding team of more than 100 evangelical Christian scholars, teachers, and pastors, the ESV Student Study Bible is adapted from the highly acclaimed and best-selling ESV Study Bible. With numerous new features, the ESV Student Study Bible is an invaluable resource. For high school and college students, but equally for all students of the Bible—for everyone who loves to read and learn more about God's Word.

Features
  • 12,000 clear, concise study notes
  • Introduction and timelines for each Bible book
  • More than 80 full-color maps and illustrations throughout
  • 15 new topical articles
  • Nearly 900 "Did You Know" facts
  • 120 new Bible character profiles
  • Two-colum format
  • Cross references
  • Glossary
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • Concordance
  • Articles
    • God's Plan of Salvation
    • The Importance of the Church for Growing in Christ
    • Authority of the Bible
    • How to Read and Understand the Bible
    • How to Apply the Bible in Everyday Life
    • Important Christian Truths: Doctrine
    • The Bible and Christian Living: Ethics
  • Free access to ESV Online Student Study Bible (see enclosed card)
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record section
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Review 1 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Study Bible

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coach
Location:Cherry Valley, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an ESV Study Bible which I like and use. However, I have a little trouble with the single column print. It is a little hard for me to read. I prefer double column. The ESV Student Study Bible is the answer. It has double column print. It also has many colored illustrations, many short character profiles, and book introductions and foot notes that are a condensed version of the ESV Study Bible, all good features. I especially like the DID YOU KNOW? boxes on nearly every page. That is one of the best features I have ever seen in a Study Bible.
Buy one. You'll be glad you did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great and looks great too.

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angela Aday
Location:Washington, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my ESV Student Study Bible. It has great notes and references. Not just a bible for teenagers. Great for anyone who just wants to study God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my 14 yr old and she has enjoyed the ease of studying and the interesting presentation of scripture. It is also not too juvenile and so it will take her into her college yrs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeanne
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a bible for my granddaughter who is a senior in high school. This seemed best to carry her through college. She loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Guio
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My daughter picked this ESV Student Study Bible to use for church and school. The extras like the maps and concordance are useful. As she becomes more acquainted with the features of the Bible it will benefit her more and more. This will definitely be the Bible she will use for years to come! Also, the colors and design won't be out of style when she uses it as an adult.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought the cover would be a softer leather look

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jan Spencer
Location:Grove City, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thought the cover would be a softer leather look, and better lay flat feature. Overall though I like it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features for study

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Bryant
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll keep it short, as I could go on at some length as to how much my daughter loves this study Bible. A wealth of study resources are contained in this ESV Bible & really enhance the study of Gods Word. 'Student Bible' makes you think of a younger person - when in reality 'student' ought to apply to each of us and this bible fits the bill regardless of age. Everyone's understanding could be enriched by this study Bible. Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well foot noted.

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Dinuba, California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son was quite excited to receive this Bible before heading off to Cal Lutheran University. I cannot think of a better gift to give our son as he leaves this family home armed with the word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful addition for anyone's study needs.

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
KBSIMS
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy using this Bible. I love using Study Bibles, but sometimes all the notes are a bit much. That is NOT the case with this Bible. The notes are easy to read, follow, and the print for both the scriptural texts, and notes are easy to read. I highly recommend this for any student of The Word!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marigold
Location:Springfield, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a student bible, but I'm 54-years-old and have been reading and studying the bible for 32 years, and this bible has a lot of new information I've yet to encounter.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BIBLE!!

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brittany S
Location:Concord, NC
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually have both the hard cover version & the pink arc tru-tone version of this bible & let me tell you it is amazing! First of all the quality of this bible is awesome & the pink arc one is BEAUTIFUL!
It is more than undersdtandable, I love all of the little did you knows? and it has great study notes and wonderful references!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:London, ON
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Student Study Bible is great! My fiance has the ESV Study Bible and it is very intimidating. The Student Study Bible is pretty much a condensed version of the ESV Study Bible, but (in my opinion) cleaner looking. It isn't as big, but it still has all the same resources (just condensed).
You also get the online version of the bible (which I haven't used much yet); a nice feature. I used bible tabs in this bible since it's such a biggie. It makes finding books much easier!
Easy to read, perfect for everyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Student Bible

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aggie2003
Location:Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! It has great extra facts and articles. The "Did You Know" facts and character profiles are very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Macy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Order placed on Monday and received on Thursday! Amazing value! This particular Bible gives a lot of information and insight that I hadn't seen in other Bibles. I am thrilled with all the knowledge available to me and can foresee myself using this Bible for many, many years to come. A beautiful book! Thank you, CBD, for an overall great first-time experience on your website. I'm already putting together my next order!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mariah
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible! It is easy to read & I love all the extra information!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Student Bible

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
archanna24
Location:Andrews, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this bible for my grandson who turns 13 on Feb 14th. The bible is excellent quality and the studynotes appropriate. I would higly recommend it for any young man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Turlock
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gift for our grandson. He is 14 and seems to like it very much. We were very happy with all the study helps and information it has. It should suit him for years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
rachel
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 15 year old hoping it would cause a thirst for Godly information. She loved it and thought it was exceptional. The pictures and the added..."did you know" feature is wonderful. The bible is also very beautiful and easy to handle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like it.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
okietahlequah
Location:Tahlequah ,OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV student bible has lots of info on every page. I like the bios and quick facks. Timelines help allot also. It did have one page that had a coner folded over and not cut. Not a deal breaker but I had to trim the page corner after unfolding it . I dont regret choosing this Bible as my Church Bible. It is a little thick but not to heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Student Study Bible, TruTone Navy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Student Bible

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is definately geared more towards highschool and college students. I am a junior in highschool and have had my Bible for about a month now. I thought it would have a bit more study resources, tabs, side notes, stories, etc. But nonetheless it is still a fantastic buy. It does an incredible job in defining anything that may be confusing and throws in a cool fact on pretty much every page with the "Did you know?" feature. I would highly reccomend this Bible for anyone who is genuinly serious about learning God's word. Two Thumbs up!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>