Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)

Having a Bible that can travel anywhere—in a briefcase, purse, backpack, glove compartment, or computer case—is especially helpful in these busy times, which is why the Personal Size Reference Bible is ideal. Just right for men, women, and students on the go who will appreciate its variety of cover options. The scriptural text is conveniently offered in a user-friendly, single column paragraph format, allowing you to read it like a book.

Features
  • Convenient portable size: 7.75" x 5.25" x 1.25"
  • Single-column, paragraph format
  • Over 80,000 cross-references on the inside margin
  • Words of Christ in readable black text
  • Concordance with nearly 6,000 references
  • Table of weights & measures
  • Introductions to each book
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • 7-point text size
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0
33 out of 3594%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Review 1 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!!!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the single-column format, and the references are there if I need them. I like how Crossway puts the references on the inside margin and prints them smaller, so as to not take away from the Scripture. For a lightweight, easy to carry size bible, the print is very readable. The lambskin is the softest cover that I've ever owned. This bible should last for many years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
disi82
Location:Ottawa, On Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this is a great Bible. It should serve me for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cynniehoneymama
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our new pastor favors the ESV and I went looking for a bargain as I have several of my own favorite translations of God's Word already. This was very inexpensive and still high quality. The quilted cover is understatedly elegant and the "berry red" not so loud as to feel glaring.
I'm pleased with my purchase, but the print is very tiny and if it were to be my study Bible, I would have issues.
Count me a happy customer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Personal Size Reference Bible Lambskin brown

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this locally, and I guess the current price is so right because it is the 2007 edition. As for me, either update is fine with me. The new personal size reference Bibles have a better font...it seems to be larger, but who wouldn't want a luxury item? This was definitely a splurge for me, and I knew I would be using the CBD magnifier book marker with it, and I am! But what a joy to have a small Bible one can hold in one's hand and hold the magnifier with the other. I noticed sometimes I can read it without the magnifier as well. I am always surprised at how micro the ESV fonts are for the cross references and the footnotes, but they are still readable with mag. I do wish that ESV would put their valuable footnotes in parenthesis in the text as it would be so nice in my opinion, so convenient. I like that they put the cross references in the gutter of the Bible; it seems to bring the Bible text in a nice place on the page. The lambskin is beautiful and the lining is also leather. It is edge lined leather which is something I love. I appreciate the black letter text, because I seem to have a different opinion on what should be red in Revelation One with various translations, so it calms me a lot to see it all black, and even more I would definitely appreciate that the entire Bible be red letter wherever God says something then. So, essentially, I believe this Bible to be a great small Bible, luxury item, and I am so very glad to have it! Blessings to you all in Jesus' Name.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Portable, Practical and Very Stylish

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
YorkRose
Location:Elizabeth City, N C
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is accurately described as an "on the go" Bible. I was looking for a "full-size" Bible to carry on my travels, and this one suits my purpose admirably.
The single column format is easy to read, and the main font is clearer than others in this size range. The footnotes and cross-references are on the small side, but then this is not intended to be a study Bible.
I love the cover. It has a nice "hand-feel" and is richly elegant. The colour was more red than I expected, but I love it. The Tudor Rose design was a wonderful bonus.
My only suggestion for improving the product would be the inclusion of a map section. Aside from that, I'm very satisfied with both the price and the quality of my purchase
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Esv Single column with concordance

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nelli
Location:Malaga, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these Bibles this past year. One for my hubby and one for me. We like the single column for ease of reading just like a regular book but we also like the concordance in the Bible. The size is fine for our pleasure reading but would be small for a study Bible. The cover even though an imitation is of excellent quality. The Bible paper is only slightly less that the high cost/quality Bibles and again meets our needs for the occasional use Bible.
We are both very please with these Bibles and since we purchased them on sale the Price was Perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible size, cover color and feel and the text font are excellent. The personal imprint on the cover turned out perfect. I would prefer "stronger" paper for the Bible's pages, but I think I'll get used to it in time. My next Bible will include study references, but this one is good for personal use without distractions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exactely what I wanted

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Chicopee, MA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting for a Personal size Bible to carry with me as we have the esv study Bible for the right price and this one is it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
cmayes
Location:Bullard, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I bought this for my son for his birthday and he loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Denninger
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I REALLY like this Bible except for one thing that could be improved. That is the darkness of the print. The font itself is small, but other Bibles in the "personal-size" that have the same size font have a darker printout and it's easier to read. I notice that my other ESV Bibles also have the same "lightness" to the fonts. It seems strange to me that the publishers (or whoever makes that decision) decided to do the printing that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent, except the font is too small!

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This would be to me the "perfect" Bible format. I love the one column text. It's small enough to be easily carried. The cover is attractive.
But the font (7.5 point) is too small for my eyes. I tried it out for a a few days but it often gave me a headache trying to read it. And forget about the cross references! They're even smaller! I found I could not read it in my lap. If I held it up about chest level it wasn't too bad to read, but any lower than that caused my eyes to hurt.
My understanding is that Crossway is producing another version of the Personal Bibles that will use 8 point type, to be released in June 2013. The different in font size will add about 100 pages to the book. I have a Thinline version that uses 8 point type, and that one gives my eyes no problems. I guess I will just wait for June.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jodie
Location:Gainesville, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelant version & good quality.My pastor uses this version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshinerose
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is just what I wanted to carry with me at all times. Small, ESV, cross-references
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful – just what I wanted!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
luluellen
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, and I'm very glad I purchased it.The mahogany color is beautiful, as is the delicate trellis design, and the soft-leather feel is exactly what I wanted. Some reviews mention that the text is hard to read, but I'm used to compact Bibles with microscopic text, so this is a step up. I like the paragraph 1-column form, too as it makes it easy and natural to read. The personal size is a good step in between the compact and the standard, and although the spine is a bit on the thicker side (1 1/4 inch), it's easy to carry around and in most spots will lay open on its own. My only observation (I won't call it a complaint) is the overall quality of the Bible--I wanted something inexpensive, so I wasn't looking for high quality, but I've noticed that the pages tend to curl quickly (they are very thin), and in some places the paper that is glued onto the back of the cover is lifting. As I said, this doesn't bother me too much, and otherwise it is a beautiful Bible, easy-to-read, and portable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
annfuller
Location:Dayton, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is an excellent bible to read and a study tool. I'm very happy with the purchase of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent, but I did not have a clear picture.

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry Hodges
Location:Irtmo, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The study notes were more than I expected. They are very good but they greatly increase the thickness of the Bible. I was looking for a smaller replacement for an older Bible. I will use this Bible but will probably buy a smaller one to carry to church and informal study.
Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruby
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bible. I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to carry and well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Personal Size ESV Bible

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
CharlieD
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent personal size Bible by Crossway. Even though it does not have a leather cover the texture is very nice and supple. Some of Crossway's True Tone Covers are not near as nice, smooth and has a gentle gloss texture like a smooth broken-in leather. I could believe the price at roughly half of the recommended retail. Print is a little small, but for a small Bible it's adequate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
prime2364
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The quality of this ESV PERSONAL BIBLE is very good, but the font of the letters are too small,and the price too high for a personal bible.Over all its not too bad if you have good eye sight.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible (TruTone, Navy, Cascade Design)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect size!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:La Mirada, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been using a very small ESV Bible, but it was really too small, including the print. This is just the right size, and very pretty also. I am very happy with the features including the format.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.