Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue

The ESV Grow! Bible is designed specifically to reach children ages 8–12 for the time between when they use a children’s Bible and a more advanced Bible. Coupling the full ESV text with many helpful features, this is a Bible that young students can call their own.

Children will find the ESV Grow! Bible full of interesting features and parents will appreciate that their kids can explore the full Bible text themselves. A perfect Bible to transition from the Seek and Find Bible to the Student Study Bible, the ESV Grow! Bible connects young readers with the beauty and majesty of God’s Word.

The ESV Grow! Bible comes with all-new features to help children learn and understand God’s Word.

Special Features include:
  • Nearly every other page features a "W Question"—boxes answering the who, what, where, when, or why of a text—basic questions a child might have while reading
  • Introductions to each Bible book, charts, and maps help young readers understand the themes, characters, and context of Scripture
  • 45 "Cross Connections" explain how certain Bible passages point to Christ
  •  and 90 "4U" sections explain and apply texts to the child’s life
  • In addition, articles about Jesus and the teachings of the Christian faith help children understand important theological concepts
Additional features include:
  • 9.5-point type
  • Presentation page
  • Double-column format
  • Full-color maps
  • Ribbon marker
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Review 1 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margie
Location:Hutchinson, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted a Bible that our son could grow up with. This Bible does that for him. Can't wait to see how God's Word changes his life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Bible

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
wridegirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I chose the ESV bible for ourselves after a lot of research and were glad to find this one for the kids because it's much easier for everyone to be reading from the same version. My dad, the kids grandpa, even commented on how much he loved all the notes and commentary it included and said he wouldn't mind having a copy himself. My kids love the colorful pictures and just as a side note the medium bible cover seems to fit this bible best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Applesarrows
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is fantastic for young children and young adults. The ESV version is a literal accurate translation. This bible has helpful answers in bubbles throughout. Pretty but simple headers and an easy to read font. Also at the back it has a reference list, maps and helpful passages to look up when feeling a certain way plus more. Very sturdy and pretty leather cover. Highly recommend! My early readers just love it, especially with the option to have their name engraved on the cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for Any Age

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheila D Anderson
Location:Sweeny, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Grow Bible is awesome - for any age. So many interesting things included inside - great presentation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doris Kelley
Location:Fallon Nevada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
an excellent bible for kids the helps and notes are very helpful even for an adult. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pages tear out after a year of use

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom of 5
Location:NY State
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for my son, age 9. We loved this Bible, the format & the ESV version. However, after 1 year, the pages started to fall out. This Bible was kept in a Bible case, and although it was used weekly, and sometimes several time throughout the week, it should not have pages falling out of it. The cover at the spine also came apart, and we were able to glue that back together, but there are pages that are now missing. I would not recommend this product based on the construction of the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Jackson
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids LOVE this Bible. The pictures are realistic (not cartoony), there are explanations of difficult words (terrific for my ESOL kiddos), and lots of timelines and cultural context boxes. I only wish it came in more colors! It's a great Bible to use for elementary study, and even my middle schoolers reference the timelines. Terrific for homeschooling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
annie oakley
Location:Washington, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these bibles for a program at our church as a graduation gift for 2nd graders. I looked at several bibles before I decided on this one. I like the format and the "W Questions. I specially liked the illustration on baptism. My husband said he would probably use this illustration in the future to explain baptism to someone who doesn't understand the meaning of the word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
nobodyzprincess
Location:Pearl, Ms
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Mentor in our Churhc and this Bible was a gift for a student transitioning from our childrens ministry to our youth ministy which includes our pre-teens. She absolutely loves the Bible and is already finding it useful in understanding God's word. Packed with so many pages of activies and explainations so that any student can understand what God has for each of us and what He expects from each of us!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely Done for Confident Readers

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The ESV Grow! Bible is a full Bible containing the complete ESV translation of both the Old and New Testaments along with helps for young readers from 8-12. This is the regular ESV version presented in two columns – no simplification for younger readers – so your child will need to be a confident, independent reader to be able to read this Bible.
Spread throughout the text are information boxes tackling the big ‘W’s’ – Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How to help your child dig into the facts presented in the Bible and to help your child go deeper by making connections and providing additional information. 4U boxes help your child personally apply certain sections of scriptures to your child’s life. Cross Connections boxes help to draw connections between scriptures and how they point to the gospel of Christ – both prophetically in the Old Testament, and more directly in the new.
Six section introductions are provided along with an introduction for each individual book of the Bible (fairly standard book introduction information but a mini-timeline for each book is included at the bottom of the page – which is super-neat). A helpful glossary is included along with colorful timelines, maps, articles, and charts, to help your child explore the Word of God more deeply. Illustrations are included throughout, but respect the growing sensibilities of tween readers by using photo-realistic art in most cases, for a more ‘grown-up’ feeling.
I LOVE the mini-maps that are included in the ‘W’ boxes as appropriate – like “Where is Nineveh?” included right at the start of the book of Jonah with a helpful illustrated map. The illustrated family trees, timelines, drawings of notable buildings, descriptions and explanations of certain cultural traditions that are foreign to most modern readers, and other inclusions are all excellent and truly helpful additions.
In a few instances, our family doesn’t agree with the ‘4U’ sections because we don’t hold to many institutional church traditions (Christmas, Easter etc.), that wouldn’t be a big concern for us – we always encourage our children to ask us any questions they have or if they are confused.
Perhaps most importantly is the emphasis of the additions on the gospel, continually pointing children towards God’s saving love and the sending of His Son to redeem us – to pay for our sins. A clear gospel presentation is included in the first Cross Connections Article and the Cross Connection callouts throughout the book keep reminding readers of the incredibly goodness, mercy, and forgiveness of God.
The ESV Grow! Bible presents a great balance between a straight-up Bible that includes just the text itself, and a full-blown study Bible where the commentary, notes, etc. can overwhelm the text itself and often overshadow it. Just enough helpful information is included to reveal and clarify the meaning of the scriptures themselves without getting heavily into adding layers of external meaning to the text, which I greatly appreciate. The helps it does include make this edition of the ESV a great support for young, growing Christians.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible for ages 8-12

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Grow! Bible is designed for children ages 8-12 for the time between when they use a children's Bible and a more advanced edition. Coupling the full ESV text with many helpful features, this is a Bible that young students can call their own.
The ESV Grow! Bible comes with all-new features to help children learn and understand God's Word. Children will find the ESV Grow! Bible full of interesting features, and parents will appreciate that their kids can explore the full Bible text themselves. A great resource to connect young readers with the beauty and majesty of God's Word.
If you take a couple of minutes to view the PDF below, you'll also notice a few of the things I really liked about this Bible:
While there is some color in this Bible, it is not meaninglessly thrown around on the pages. Color has been carefully used to identify new chapters and changes in subjects.
Each verse is preceded by a tiny blue number, to show that a new verse is next. I appreciate having these numbers in a slightly different color than the black text. It is much easier to follow.
The pictures throughout this Bible are natural and realistic. I appreciate the fact that Crossway chose not to make them hip, cool, or any other "modern" presentation. However, they still appeal to young children...and to me!
"Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How" boxes relate God's Word and salvation to the reader. Nice!
4U boxes help relate specific passages personally to the student reader. Application, application, application!
In many places in this Bible, verses that remind us of Christ's death on the cross and resurrection are pointed out using "Cross Connections."
Section and Book Introductions give the big picture on the themes in books and sections of the Bible.
A glossary is provided for those unfamiliar words.
Timelines and maps are also found at the back of the Bible. Nothing like adding some geography learning at the same time as understanding the Bible better!
This is hardbound, so it's more durable than a lot of the softbound Bibles out on the market for children these days.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children love their new ESV Grow bible. They want to read it every night! Really like the who,what,when feature.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Turlock
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I bought this for our grandson. It is his first Bible. Both he and his mother love it! I liked what I saw of it on the site but it is even better than I thought!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uniquely Christ-Centered

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Eastern USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Grow! Bible has been specifically developed for children ages 8-12. It contains a number of features common to children's Bibles including: "Introductions to each Bible book, charts, and maps [which] help young readers understand the themes, characters, and context of Scripture" (Crossway). Additionally, the ESV Grow! Bible includes helpful timelines at the beginning of each book of the Bible.
However, the ESV Grow! Bible also contains features that are relatively unique to many children's Bibles such as:
- 45 "Cross Connections" explaining how certain Bible passages point to Christ
- 90 "4U" sections explaining and applying texts to the child's life
- Articles about Jesus and the teachings of the Christian faith which help children understand important theological concepts
I appreciate how the ESV Grow! Bible includes boxes featuring a "W Question" on nearly every other page. I think this HELPS PREPARE YOUNG PEOPLE FOR BIBLE STUDY by teaching them to ask who, what, where, when, or why of a text. Including these questions throughout the text also encourages children to pause and think about difficult/new concepts over which they may be tempted to read quickly or skim.
Perhaps my favorite "feature" of the ESV Grow! Bible is the way in which it accurately portrays the Bible as one unified story about Christ and all that God has done through Him to bring salvation to those who would believe. This Bible is UNIQUELY CENTERED ON CHRIST AND THE GOSPEL in a way that many children's Bibles are not.
When asked why she uses her ESV Grow! Bible more than her other Bibles, my nine-year-old daughter said, "It helps me understand what I am reading better." While we are not to add or take away from God's Word, there are an increasing number of tools available to us which enable us to understand the Holy Scriptures more clearly while being faithful to the text. I am happy to commend the ESV Grow! Bible to those whose children (grandchildren, etc.) are not yet ready for an ESV Student Study Bible.
*Many thanks to Crossway for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mostly good Bible for kids

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BarbM
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This review is for the hardback version. I was looking for a full-text ESV Bible for our 5 yr old who is learning to read and has been asking for a "real" Bible so she can follow along during worship. I thought this might be it. The price is great but I am a little concerned that the paper is a bit thin to handle the abuse a child dishes out on regularly used books. I will probably hold onto this for a little while. The timelines and maps are always good to have in a Bible. The Bible is listed for ages 8 and up.
My major concerns are mostly with the helps.
First, there are depictions of Jesus in this Bible. Some traditions, including my own, interpret the 2nd commandment to exclude depictions of any person of the trinity.
Second, a 4U section in Acts promotes a believers baptism so if you practice infant baptism this may also be a problem.
Lastly, notes on the 10 commandments only appear in Exodus with no note or cross reference in Deuteronomy. Perhaps a minor point.
I did note that I would recommend this bible to a friend but only those I know who do not share the first 2 convictions I mentioned above.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible for Pre-Teens

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
RollTideGirl
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have to admit, children's Bibles are not usually my favorite thing because too often you find children's Bibles have been watered down too much or they have simply left out important facts in the Bible stories presentation. While our children don't enjoy reading the King James Version at ages 6, 8 & 12, we still want them to be able to read a Bible that is correct and not misinterpreted. With the ESV Grow! Bible we can feel confident that our children will be able to do just that. Written in ESV (English Standard Version), this Bible is not only on a level they can understand but the Biblical text is presented in thorough, accurate wording.
This hardback, 215 page full-color Bible is one your child will certainly enjoy for not only daily Bible reading but for reference and study as well. Interwoven throughout the text are boxes with additional information.
There are boxes that answer the "5W" questions of who, what, when, where, why and how so they can find out about the real people and places in the Bible.
"4U" is where they are able to see how certain passages of Scripture apply directly to their lives.
Cross Connections teach them how Jesus death on the cross and resurrection from the grave connect them back to God - which gives them forgiveness, life and salvation.
Not to mention, there are book introductions on the first page of each book of the Bible to give them an overview of the "big picture" of each book of the Bible. There is a kid-friendly glossary in the back of the Bible as well as timelines and maps....and they are all in FULL color! This is the perfect Bible for your "tween" age child to enjoy and to help them begin to develop a more personal quiet time with the Lord through daily Bible reading and study of His Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now, here's a great Bible for kids! Some Bibles which are made for kids are not real Bibles, but collections of Bible stories. It annoys me when those are labelled Bibles. BUT--this one!! This one is a wonderful Bible for kids!!
The Grow! Bible is an ESV translation of the Bible with added bits for kids. There are little blurbs at the beginning of each book which give information about the book--author, dates, people, places, themes of the book, etc. Also scattered throughout each book are little explanatory paragraphs (set apart by color/box so they don't get mis-identified as Scripture) which give helpful information and explanations about things such as, "What methods were used to feed the poor?", "Who was Nathan?", "What is a parable?" and many many many more!
There are lots of maps (my kids love maps!), timelines (interesting!), articles on different topics, and a great glossary for explanations of some words in the Bible.
It's a large book, but has a nice hard cover. It has a dust jacket, which I think is unnecessary. What child who actually uses this Bible will keep a dust jacket nice?! :) The print is a nice size for easy reading; there are colors used throughout the pages (the extra sections as well as blue highlighting of summaries, green chapter numbers, orange book titles. It's an eye-pleasing layout, but not overly bright or distracting. I really like this Bible setup. It is just perfect for my 9 year old. There are pictures in different places, not baby-ish, but not photos either. Just nice understated illustrations.
I'm sure you can already tell that I really like this Grow!Bible. I would certainly recommend it! It'd make a nice gift as well.
I received a free copy of this book from the publishers for the purposes of their blogger review program . I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

appealing Bible for kids!

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently received the Grow! Bible, published by Crossway Books, to review. This ESV Bible is great for older elementary or middle school aged children. It includes the complete ESV Bible translation in a font size that is easy to read. (Emily has a student Bible by another publisher that has much smaller print. She immediately noticed the difference and likes this one better.)
The Grow! Bible is packed with useful “helps” for children. Most pages have one or more “what,” “where,” “why,” or “who” questions that explain the text or culture. Here is an example:
"Where was Eden? No one knows for certain, but it may have been in the area of the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers. After the flood, the geographical landmarks were no longer as they had been. (Gen. 2:10)"
The Grow! Bible also includes “4U” and “Cross Connection” readings that help the reader relate the Bible to his or her personal life, articles and charts, timelines, and maps. I think that all of these helps are engaging and useful for children, helping them to better understand scripture at their level.
I think that children will enjoy and be motivated to read this colorful Bible. I wish I’d had something like this when I was was a child!
Thank you to Crossway Books for providing me with a free copy of this Bible to review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Grow! Bible--soft leather-look, blue
This review is fromESV Grow! Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Children's ESV for ages 8-12!

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two years ago, my husband and I decided to purchase an NIrV for our 6 year old daughter. It was a little above her reading level, but we knew she'd grow into it. She did the next year. We wished at the time that we could get her a copy of the ESV, but the only one available for children didn't have notes that would be helpful to her at her age. My husband struggled though because he really wanted her to read from the ESV.
Last month, Crossway published a new edition of the ESV for ages 8-12. It is called the Grow! Bible. I saw an ad for it and my curiosity was piqued. For the past month, I've been looking through this Bible and have been very pleased. The first day it arrived, my daughter was so excited. She has wanted to read the same Bible that we do at church. Though she had never expressed this to me, I learned that she wanted to be able to follow along when the Word is read at church on Sunday morning. Our church reads from the ESV and it was difficult for her to follow in the NIrV.
So here's what I love about the Grow! Bible:
Formatting: The font, though 9.5, is big enough for my daughter who in 3rd grade is a strong reader. The columns are spaced well. The notes highlighted in a way that makes them easier to read. Each book in the Bible begins with a helpful timeline and introduction which my daughter found interesting and easy to understand.
Features: There are interesting notes throughout the Bible. There are Cross Connections that address how different passages remind us of the cross and salvation. There are notes about what God's Word means for you (the reader). My favorites are the Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How notes. I was surprised at the interesting information children will learn when they read them. Some examples are a note explaining "woe", another explains "the stump of Jesse", and another explains what "the end of the heavens" means. Many of them I had no idea about! There is also a glossary and maps located at the back of the Bible. All of them would be perfect for an 8-12 year old and very easy for them to use.
Theological content of the notes: Concordia Publishing collaborated with Crossway on this Bible. The notes were written by Concordia, which is a Lutheran publishing house. I wondered how this would affect the notes--particularly the "Cross Connections". I read several of the notes very carefully--particularly the note on how we are saved. It was very well written. There was one note about baptism and salvation, which many denominations see differently. I read it to my husband and although it doesn't align exactly with what we believe since the PCA practices infant baptism (but doesn't believe it's a saving baptism), he did feel that what was written didn't contradict what we believe and that it was written well. He did note, though, that the note was written from a general reformed perspective. I felt as I read the note that whether someone was a free will baptist or believed in predestination that the theological ideas in the note would be okay. The wording on this specific cross connection was such that it did say we are saved by grace through a decision we make. It didn't go into detail of how those work together--but simply that they do. I think this is wise of the publisher and authors of the note, because it allows parents to more fully explain what their child may read in the study note.
So, what Bible might I compare this to for other translations? Probably the NIV Adventure Bible. The NLT Hands-On Bible is also aimed at the same age group. My husband and I much prefer the Grow! Bible for a couple of reasons. 1) We're glad that it's the ESV translation so our children can follow what is being read in church (and they're glad too). 2) The notes are primarily purposed for instruction, not entertainment. They are meant to be interesting and helpful, but not solely for the purpose of entertainment. 3) The study notes are much more in line with what we believe than the other two. I reviewed the Hands-On Bible a long time ago. I liked it and saw it as a great fit for many families--but not for ours, primarily because we don't read the NLT.
If you're looking for a new Bible for your child, I'd definitely recommend taking a look at this one! It might be what you're looking for if you want an ESV Children's Bible!
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this Bible from Crossway Publishing.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.