Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne Screwtape Letters Gift Edition

HarperOne Screwtape Letters Gift Edition

Wormwood, a demon apprentice, has been given his first earthly assignment---secure the damnation of a young man who's just become a Christian. He seeks the advice of an experienced devil---his uncle Screwtape. Their correspondence discloses the psychology of temptation from the other side. Invaluable insights on temptation, pride, the power of prayer, and the ultimate victory of faith over the forces evil. Gift Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
Review 1 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
matt633
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just as advertised. Quick ship. Buy here with confidence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

dangerously captivating

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jack
Location:hamilton, ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This insightful exploration of how demons work will make you think and re-think what you do and how you react to others who call themselves "Christian."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Mass.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demon to demon
“The Screwtape Letters” by C.S. Lewis is an interesting book that’s 209 pages long. It’s a fictitious account of a senior demon writing to a junior demon about one man, the junior demon’s “patient”.
While I have been a fan of C.S. Lewis and his books for a sometime, believe it or not I have never read “The Screwtape Letters” until now. I have to admit that it took a little bit for me to get into the book but once I was about a quarter of the way through the book it defiantly kept my attention. Each letter is about three pages long which makes it easy to grab and read a letter if you only have a few minutes.
There were many insights I found and some things that made me pause and think long and hard about, things that hit a little too close to home.
The book is not too hard to read but remember it was written by Lewis and he was not an American living in 2012 so some of the words and sayings might not connect but the overall flavor of the book should have its impact on you.
Well worth reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JChristD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Good book. Used it in a men's bible study and it was helpful in seeing what demons might think and discussing how to combat the "demon's" in our lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arkatox
Location:Illinois
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis was a school assignment that I was to read over a couple months. Considering school is now over (yahoo!), I finished this book a while ago.
The entire book is a set of letters from Screwtape, a demon, to his nephew Wormwood, a fallen angel who's job it is to tempt a young man referred to only as the "patient." It takes place during World War II, and that plays a part in the events.
It's interesting to read a book from the point of view of a fallen angel. The points made are undeniably good, and it feels like every other page is a slap in the face to the lifestyles of average "Christians." It's hard not to see many fragments of your own life in the life of Wormwood's "patient."
Overall, The Screwtape Letters is a true showing of Lewis's genius and his knowledge in Biblical facts. I believe that the author put a lot of himself into the novel; into the life of the "patient." It's a great philosophical read, and I highly recommend it to anyone with a decent vocabulary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book and one of the classics that has a lot to say to us even today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paraclete
A must read for all Christians! Great insight as to temptation, practical tips for effective Christian living. Timeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patsy
Location:Pulaski Co, Ky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knew this book to be around for years, but never read it. What a fresh outlook on Christian values versus evil! The book from CBD is good quality and I expect to share it with other readers for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very insightful.

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor joe
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an entertaining and quick read. Doctrinal differences between Lewis and myself are the reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5, but can be overlooked. Looking at temptation from the objective viewpoint of the tempter is enlightening to say the least. I recommend it to any christian new or "old".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm enjoying the read

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
barbiesue
Location:Alexandria IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is not what I expected, but worthwhile the time to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all products are great

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy
Location:columbiana ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad i was told about this web site. Your products are great and the prices also. Thank you very much. God bless you. cindy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Introduce friends to writing of C. S. Lewis

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Falmouth, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered several copies to use for a class at church. In today's world "sin" is a term often avoided and the existence of demons is scoffed at. By treating the subject in a humorous manner, Lewis allows the reader to become aware of his own shortcomings without "beating (the reader ) over the head" or "Bible thumping". At the same time, the work may be used to lead a group into looking at the Bible for related reading.
Many of my friends do not know who C. S. Lewis is (even with the movies based on the Chronicles of Narnia on the market). In my opinion, Lewis is one of the the great Christian writers of the last century. Having read this book, I hope that my friends will want to read a biography or other books authored by him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent perspective

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
pvalley
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read on how the devil tries to steal souls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read, I'd read it again!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Horselady
Location:Commerce, Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book was going to be a difficult read as there are some unfamiliar words used along with rhetorical phrases from early English writings. Although some wouldn't, I love learning both the meanings of the new words and phrases. Once you get past that, I found it a quick, easy and entertaining read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique perspective-tactics of the devil unmasked!

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Little K
Location:Racine, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick, but not easy reading. Often thought-provoking, excellent for group discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
xprezbiblestudy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Books were in great shape & arrived in a timely manner. Our study group is enjoying the challenge Lewis has put before us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual warfare is still very active

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location:MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad to be able to replace this old treasure of a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great C.S. Lewis book

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bane
Gender:male
Wow! The Screwtape Letters is my favorite book by C.S. Lewis besides Mere Christianity. Just like the majority of his books, you have to read this one a few times to get everything out of it. I love the way he mixed theology and an appealing story to express the danger of humans being deceived by evil spirits. You have to read this one; you'll be glad you did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

difficult to get into

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steven Woodward
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe it is just the way it is written in olde english. I just didn't hold my interest so I put it down and started crazy love
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Screwtape Letters Gift Edition
This review is fromThe Screwtape Letters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pastor Recommended

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a thought provoking book. Made me think in a new way. My Pastor Recommended. Great Choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.