Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.

Multnomah Books To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.

Discover the joy that comes from being honest! Follow author and speaker Callaway through a year of telling the truth no matter what it costs---his reputation, his relationships, or his bank account! His inspiring and entertaining "experiment" with authentic faith just might challenge you to be nothing but truthful---with no exceptions. 208 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
30 out of 3488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Review 1 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshingly Funny

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I found this book quite refreshing and funny. Imagine challenging yourself to not tell a lie for an entire year. Talk about your hard things to do! We tell so many lies, and isn't that how comedians make their living? I was impressed with Phil Callaway and his writing style, not to mention the fact that he actually took the assignment seriously. I found myself sympathizing and seeing myself many times throughout the book. I found myself thinking about all the lies I tell without thinking about it. I think you will find this a delightful book, and it is a moment to just take a deep breath and truly think about your spiritual life. But don't worry. You'll do it with a smile on your face!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isabella Sacchetti
Location:Montreal, QC Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phil Callaway never disappoints - he's the perfect author: light, funny but yet always gets the message of Christ across. Really easy read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Humor Lite!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tallyrich
Location:Belton Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a big fan of humor and have a broad taste, but "To Be Perfectly Honest" kind of drones on. The concept of the book is very good and potentially very funny. However it is written in a journal format and there is a lot of filler and mundane unnecessary facts.
I'm sure that this book will strike a cord with some people, but I suspect they will be mostly people that are very familiar with the author and his stand up. I enjoy his sense and type of humor - its just a shame that there wasn't more of the funny and less of the mundane.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Attention grabbing

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor les
Location:Williamston,MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As usual Phil grabs your attention immediately.He is funny and makes the point boldly of how important it is to be honest.His expose' of his own lack of honesty at times helps make the point.
He made it plain that we do not think at times when we speak and that we are not always up-front with our commitments.
I did feel that there were times that he was too flipant with some serious material. Over all it was a good read and I would recommend the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man’s Year Of Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie, written by Phil Callaway is a book that demonstrates to its readers just how difficult it is to purposefully, continually speak nothing but the truth.
What brings power into the book is the fact that Phil never claims to have been the one person who was capable of traveling through a year speaking nothing but the truth. He shares with his readers the truth of his successful moments and those moments that most of us try to sweep under the rug or remove by hitting the imaginary delete button.
As one reads through this book, laughter will emerge, tears will begin to well up, and some might even begin to wish they could have expressed their words in the same manner, as they have gone through a similar circumstance.
Some might not like the book simply because it is in journal format, but I don’t think the book could have been expressed in a better manner. In expressing his challenge in a journal format, Phil is able to show us that telling the exact truth is a daily struggle we all must go through.
All in all, this book is a recommended read, as it brings truth and sincerity to the daily struggles we all experience as we try to be completely honest.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This may possibly be the funniest book I've ever read. But, it was also one of the most convicting. Christian funny-man Phil Callaway takes a one-year vow to tell the truth and nothing but the truth. Sound easy?
The book is set up almost like a diary or journal. Paragraphs are group under headings numbering off how far into the truth-vow the writing took place. So, he starts with Day 1 and goes from there. It was a brutally, BRUTALLY honest book - especially the way Phil Callaway wrote about himself. We see him losing money on an internet investment, fighting bitterness against a former friend who is out to slander his reputation, confronting bad habits (both his own and those of others), and many other scenarios that are all-too realistic.
I found it startling and sad that my first reaction to learning of Phil's truth vow was: "I would never do that...." I want to smile and cry at the same time. "Boy, you couldn't get me to tell the whole truth for a year. What would people think?" But, through reading about this hilarious journey, I found that the truth is a precious gift that is often ignored and under-appreciated. It is also a very powerful thing. After all, God is a God of truth - He is not capable of telling a lie. So when we tell the truth (in love) we have the power of God Himself in our speech.
I loved this book - and I plan on reading it again. It was a great encouragement to me. I also appreciated that Phil Callaway shared the pain of his mother's death (which happened during the truth vow). His mother had dementia, and his writing about his visits with her brought tears to my eyes more than once.
Phil says in the epilogue that he prays more honestly now. He claims it has changed his life. I might just take the vow after all...
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my "honest" review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To Be Perfectly Honest, by Phil Callaway is about a gentleman who is asked to go one year without lying. He describes himself as a humorist by trade who tells stories that are 99 ¾% true. “Sometimes I add just enough salt to keep a tale savory, just enough falsehood to keep people interested”, which he claims he learned to do at a church his family was part of where they, “seemed to reward falsehood”. He finally agrees to take on the task. The book outlines the year, day by day, somewhat like a diary. Parts are funny and parts are sad; most of the time it is rather tough to tell when he actually is telling the truth because he kids around so much. Sometimes he tells a lie under the guise of kidding – which is still a lie, especially when the person you are kidding with takes you seriously.
There was one section in particular where he talks about a temptation he had which involved the thought of having an affair. He and a friend were discussing the situation and came up with “warning signs that you are sliding toward an affair”. One day he made a list of, “things I’d forfeit if ever I had an affair”. Although he doesn’t actually have an affair, I didn’t really think it was funny or tasteful to even joke around about something like that; to make light of something that shouldn’t be made light of.
On a good note, he is great at witnessing. He’ll talk about the Lord to just about anyone – he does a fine job of that. The sad part of the book involves his mother who is suffering from dementia and what he and his family go through involving her. I’m not sure what I expected when I chose to read this book. I guess by the looks of the cover, I thought it would be very humorous, but interesting in its endeavor. Humor-wise it was just o.k., but everyone has a different sense of humor. What I did like the most about it was Phil’s boldness as it related to witnessing – he witnessed to a variety of people he encountered and at bare minimum, planted seeds – those were my favorite parts. I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Be Perfectly Honest book review

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
boylescs02
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Be Perfectly Honest by Phil Callaway
What would you do if asked to tell the truth for a whole entire year? Phil Callaway has answered that with his book To Be Perfectly Honest. This book is written as a diary with thoughts from each day on how honesty impacted Phil’s day. Would you be willing to risk relationships to be completely open and honest with friends, family and strangers?
The book is fun to read. Being completely honest with people face-to-face and through email makes for unique challenges and chances to realize that we are liars by nature. Phil reveals times when he cheated at golf, confrontations with people, and just being willing to let God work through honesty.
When I first started reading this, I was concerned that I would get bored with it, but I soon discovered I really enjoyed the stories told. Phil has a way of opening his life to us and seeing how the truth can impact lives. I would recommend this book to anyone Christian or not.
The Truth Dare
Some phone calls change your Saturday; some your entire year. When my editor called, he couldn’t have known he would accomplish both.
“I’ve had an idea for a while,” said Ron. “It will make for a great book, and you’re just the guy to write it.”
I’m human. I was flattered.
“Is it about understanding women?” I asked. “About being sensitive to my wife’s needs?”
“Why?”
“I’m good at those things, Ron. I am most excellent.”
“Are you telling the truth?”
“Uh…why do you ask?”
“Well, that’s what this book is about: complete and total honesty. I want you to see if you can tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth for an entire year.” (excerpt from To Be Perfectly Honest by Phil Callaway)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxkA-no4CeY&feature=player_embedded
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781590529171
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group < waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilarious and profound!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this book. It had a cover that was eye-grabbing but not really my style (I tend to go for more BOOM! in your face covers, not... black, white, and yellow. ;), but this book is not what it seems.
So this guy, Phil Callaway, decides to take a truth vow for a year. If you're like me, you may not tell out in out lies every day, but the "little white lies" tend to be something you do on a regular basis, so just the thought of going one whole year without lying was very intriguing. I decided to read the book and can I just say that it has been really hard to put it down!
Phil is so honest. I love people who are honest... and real! He is both. He tells you exactly what he thinks, what his struggles were during the process, and how his life had subtle changes throughout. He shares at the end of each chapter something he learned and every single one of them was very profound and left me thinking.
I laughed pretty much throughout the whole book and was still left with some food for thought. This book is perfect for anybody who has a sense of humor, likes to laugh, and enjoys a challenge. I was left with a smile on my face and a desire to be more honest each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cool, humorous

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:El Mirage, Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY REVIEW
I will start off by saying that I am familiar with the works of Phil Calloway, having read a few of his previous books – Honey I Dunked the Kids, Who Put the Skunk in the Trunk and Who Put My Life on Fast Forward, as well as others. Phil Calloway brings his unique sense of humor to the subject of honesty as well as he did to the family subjects.
I do not think I have ever in my life critized the title of a book, but this one - To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie has to be Phil's own humorous one – did he really only Almost live this year, or should it have been One Man's Year of Living Almost Truthfully? Because, though he took up the challenge to be truthful, he failed. But he failed and having failed, tried again.
Hilarious, insghtful, fabulous. All of this and more is what you get when you read the journal entries for each of the 365 days.
I am eager to introduce my friends and acquantances to Phil's latest book. In it he challenges us all to think about what we say before we say it, and teaches us to temper to the occasion.
I received this free book from Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review, which I have done. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laughter's good for the soul: read!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Inman, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone needs a good laugh every now and then, right? A couple days ago, I received “To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man’s Year of (Almost) Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.” by humorist Phil Callaway (free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group!) and laugh I did. The book is a short paperback that is set up as a diary with one entry for every day of the year; there also is a section for discussion, with rather introspective questions, that would make this book an interesting reading group choice.
Someone once said, “Honest is not a good policy: it’s the only policy” and Callaway abides by such a philosophy in sharing with his readers exactly what he’s thinking, not sparing his personal struggles with lust, fixation on wealth, real responses to his ‘un-fan’ mail, and addiction to PacMan. I laughed as I saw so much of myself in his stories of failure and his corresponding revelation of the great grace we’ve been afforded by Jesus Christ. He says, concerning the project of this book, “All in all, this honesty thing has been good of me. I’ve been dumping on God a little more, and I think He likes it. I think He’d rather hear my sincere- though venomous- outburst than my polite, sanitized denial.” How very true!
I disagree with a few things: the baptism on the beach as the Bible states baptism is to be done in the name of Jesus (Acts 2:38; Ephesians 4:12) and the fact of ‘accepting Jesus’ as it would seem that He is the one that accepts us when we are ‘perfectly honest’ with Him concerning our sins. But I enjoyed Callaway’s pranks and jokes and I rather appreciated the stark candor of the entire book. I recommend it if you need a laugh or are a struggling Christian (that covers most everyone, doesn’t it?) so you can read the first chapter by clicking this link : http://www.scribd.com/doc/52599454/To-Be-Perfectly-Honest-by-Phil-Callaway-Chapter-1-Excerpt. Let me know what you think!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Honesty, the Best Policy

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Openness, honesty, and transparency are three traits I value highly. But just what does honesty really mean?
Is it always telling the truth - as the author sought to do for an entire year?
And then again, what does "telling the truth" really mean? Does it mean opening up oneself to others and answering their questions - whatever they may ask?
Does it mean going into great detail when a simple answer would suffice?
Does it mean not kidding around - difficult when humour is one's line of work.
In "To Be Perfectly Honest," the author journals about his day-to-day experiences - and the things he discovered about truth-telling and about himself.
At the risk of sounding cliche...I laughed. I cried. Really, I did.
I would recommend this book to Christians and non-Christians alike. The openness and honesty is sure to be appealing - and challenging.
A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The comic relief of truth-telling

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honesty is the best policy. Tell the truth and shame the devil. You know where liars go. These pithy clichés form the proscription that humans often give each other about how much truthfulness is valued. But is it really? Phil Callaway spent a year attempting to be fully honest, always. What he discovered, and what most of us generally don’t realize, is just how often we dissemble. For a variety of reasons, truthfulness is often illusive. You can’t really tell your housewife sister that her haircut makes her look like a tired truck driver after an all night run. You can’t really tell your husband that he does have a turkey neck. And by all means, you can never ever tell your church family that you struggle with gambling, alcohol, lying – or any non-Christian behavior.
Phil’s description of his year long quest for honesty is told in diary form. He catalogues his daily struggles with figuring out how to be honest AND keep his friends and family. From cheating while golfing, to doing his job as a humorist, from telling his wife what he thinks, to an honest exchange with an atheist, Phil’s book is humorous and enlightening. Can we, in this broken world, really be honest 100% of the time? Read the story of one man’s try, and see if you recognize yourself in his attempt.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Laugh Out Loud

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angielost
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To Be Perfectly Honest by Phil Callaway is a journal of (in his words) ‘One man’s year of (almost) living truthfully’
The Basic Premise of this book is that the Phil (the author) has agreed to spend one year telling nothing but the truth. The problem is that Phil is a humorist and humorists get by because they tell 99.9% of the truth and distort the last .1% in order to create humor. So it’s going to be an interesting year ahead for him.
I honestly found this book exceptionally humorous. There were many occasions where i found myself laughing out loud (and i don’t laugh very often so that’s something.) The book is so dry and has a great hint of subtle sarcastic humor that kept me amused the entire way. Between his chronicled day to day interactions, the confessions of his thoughts regarding church services, coupled with the emails he sends to internet scam artists and other such varied people will leave you laughing throughout.
The only two things i have to complain about regarding this book. First after the first 100 days the day by day journal entry style of this book starts to feel a little bit tedious. I do wish that in an effort to make it more readable that he had picked out parts of the year as opposed to recounting every day for us.
The second thing i have to complain about regarding this book is that i’m not completely sure he was actually honest or upfront about ANYTHING in the writing of the book. Either that or he just covers his honesty with humor to detract us from the truth.
Either way if you are up for a lighthearted read that will keep you laughing and make you question “what if everyone did that” then this is definitely the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked this book very much!

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book, "To Be Perfectly Honest" was perfectly, honestly a very good book. The idea of the book was for the author, Phil Callaway, to be perfectly honest for 1 year & write about it. He wasn't always totally honest but he really did change for the better and this book is a nice blend of funny and serious. He has human interest stories, honest evaluations of himself and a really nice way to showing love to his wife. In fact, they both support each other in a great way in this book. Read it ! You will like it. Given to me free to review for a honest opinion by Waterbrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laughing into My Own Truth Vow

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
seekingmyLord
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some people have imaginary friends. When I cut the grass, I have imaginary enemies. ~Phil Callaway, from Day 2 of To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Few books make me laugh out loud as many times as To
Be Perfectly Honest--a book I received for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. Imagine a Christian man taking an oath to be truthful for 365 days with the intention to write a book about his experiences! I enjoyed quips of the author's life immersed in his unique twists of humor very much. I will never forget Day 182 when I could not stop laughing for twenty minutes, but it would not be funny unless you had read the days before about the ordeal of a watch bought at the Mongkok Market in Hong Kong. That is all I am going to say on the matter; you just have to read it for yourself.
Now, to be honest, since we are on the subject of truthfulness, I thought, at first, that Christians are truthful or at least try to be, but I learned through these journal entries written nearly every day that I could relate with this man's shortcomings, perhaps way more than I would like to admit. Who knew that a piece of me was inside Phil Callaway's mind!
This book really made me evaluate my truthfulness, not with profound wisdom and deep meaning, but with humor and even those embarrassing circumstances when we tend to avoid the truth the most. I will say that even though I could relate well, I do believe this is a book that men might enjoy even better. However, it was definitely worth the read and the only thing that would have made somewhat more to my liking would have been that it had a bit more depth at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honestly Funny

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like to laugh and appreciate a light-hearted approach to a deep subject, read "To Be Perfectly Honest" by Phil Callaway. I really enjoyed this book!
At his publisher’s insistence, Callaway made a vow to tell the truth for a whole year. He kept a journal of his experiences—challenges, insights, and failures—and used it to write this book.
Callaway wasn’t very good at telling the truth.
But he was completely honest about this throughout the book. At least, I think he was. It looks that way.
And Callaway learned a lot from this experiment. I was thankful he shared his insights with his readers. I especially liked his Honest Confessions at the end of each chapter.
Callaway’s e-mail conversations with people who challenge him to confess things, Ruth Madoff, and the post-Rapture pet care atheist are hysterical. His on-going ministry to Mormon missionaries and frustrations with humanity’s quirks are entertaining, too.
Mostly, though, I liked the way Callaway related to the people around him, patiently bearing with their imperfections, honestly confessing his, learning not to judge too quickly or too harshly, and ultimately wanting God’s best for everyone.
The book is subtly thought-provoking, and I had fun reading it. I thank Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers for sending a complimentary copy for my truly honest review. To quote the cover, “One man’s year of almost living truthfully could change your life. No lie.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The truth can be hilarious!

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jeff
Location:Dunellen, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TO BE PERFECTLY HONEST…
Of course, you have to believe that Phil Callaway is telling the truth to really enjoy this memoir about the year he accepted a challenge to go twelve months without telling any lies. Really. None. Not even little white ones! Imagine how it would affect your job if you were brutally honest – all the time. How about your marriage? Your friendships? Your church?
You’ll have to read the book to find out how successful Callaway was in his quest. Let me assure you, you’ll be glad you did. Callaway is a gifted humorist, and almost every page will bring a grin, a chuckle, or even an outright guffaw. But he’s also a very human man who is trying to figure out how to be a husband, writer, entertainer, and even a golfer, while living out his Christian faith.
At times the book is brutally honest, most remarkably when he shares his deeply personal struggle to avoid having an extramarital affair. His isn’t a simple statement that “I was tempted, but I triumphed because…” No, Callaway shines the light of honesty into some of the darkest parts of his soul as he shares his very real struggle to remain faithful to his wife. His candor, publishing all of this in a book that his wife and friends will read, is humbling. It’s also a good model of how Christians should deal with temptation – sharing the struggle with trusted friends, rather than trying to overcome it by our own strength of will.
And are there times when it’s better to stretch the truth? Callaway writes, “How honest should a person be when in church? Do I tell the pastor that the sermon was great, but it was like a pie it needed some shortening? Do I shake his hand and say, ‘Pastor, that sermon was… uh… timely’? Certainly I should stop telling Jerry Root, ‘I love your tie!’”
Phil Callaway is not a perfect guy. What’s cool is that he doesn’t pretend to be. He lays it all out there for us to see, but always with a wink and a nudge so that we don’t pity him, admire him, or despise him. We just like him, because he’s a regular guy, doing the best he can. Just like us – but a lot funnier!
"To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man’s Year of (almost) Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.” by Phil Callaway. The title says it all.
The publisher, Multnomah Books, provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny

Date:July 26, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I was looking for my next book to read, "To Be Perfectly Honest" by Phil Callaway caught my eye. The description sounded very interesting to me - a guy decides to tell the honest truth for an entire year. As one of Callaway's friends says in the opening chapter, for a Christian "Isn't that a bit like giving up arson for Lent?"
His friend makes a point, since we should all work to live honestly anyway - but as Callaway began his "truth vow", it's apparent that there are many small ways where we may not be acting in an honest way without really realizing it.
The book is written in a journal format, with Callaway telling relevant stories from each day of his truth vow (sometimes he succeeds in being honest, and sometimes he doesn't). Callaway is a "humorist" and the stories are told in a funny (and honest) way. He pokes fun at different people he encounters in day-to-day life throughout the year - not in a mean way, but you should be aware that no one is safe.
There were a couple points where I wasn't sure I agreed with something Callaway said, but I could appreciate the humor in his observations. It takes alot for me to laugh out loud at something I read, and I found myself chuckling many times while reading this book.
The value in the book lies mostly in entertainment, but there were many lessons woven into his stories as well. I was especially struck by some of the creative ways he found to witness to others.
I also really appreciated how honest he was in writing about his thought life - those secret sins that aren't really put on display, such as pride, envy, critical thoughts, being judgemental, etc. I saw my own struggles in alot of the situations he described. He sums up the lessons he learned personally in the epilogue, and extends the truth vow deadline for another fifty years.
Overall, I enjoyed this book. It was humorous and light-hearted, even while dealing with some heavy subjects. I came away from the book feeling cheerful, and that's always a bonus to me!
Note: I was given a copy of this book for free by Waterbrook Multonomah Publishing Group for this review. This is my honest opinion of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for To Be Perfectly Honest: One Man's Year of Almost Living Truthfully Could Change Your Life. No Lie.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book disappoints, but is worth reading.

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bergamot
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In a Christian world of false pretenses and performances, Phil Callaway attempts to live out a full year of absolute truth-telling. Or, at least, that's what the cover of "To Be Perfectly Honest" says. Instead, his book is a humorous collection of journal entries of Callaway's year trying to live more disciplined in his walk with Christ. Which can most definitely be categorized as "living more honestly" but, come on, who isn't compelled by the fact that you think this guy is going to live a year-full of uncomfortable, radical truth? The cover alone depicts this very message. It's unfortunate and deceiving to have been marketed this way. Before a solid formation of the book is created, however, allow me to also be clear on this: the book is certainly worth reading. It's just that the publisher wrongly advertised it as something it is not.
Callaway can convey a great message with the much-needed, more-serious, wonderful parts he creates. However, it seems that once he realizes he has communicated something beautiful, he gets overexcited and quickly runs to grab a joke to smear over it. He is hilarious, don't get me wrong; however, he needs to learn when to use it properly. It seems to me that he hasn't quite mastered the skill of discerning where to make clear Phil's silliness and God's serious message. It's certainly okay to be funny, as he states himself in the book, because God didn't make us stoic rods of steel. However, God is also very serious in speaking love and truth to his kids, which it seems Callaway has trouble with in the latter. It also seems that not much work went into writing or editing the book. It's as though he seriously wrote down accounts of each day for a year, handed it to his publisher, and BAM, another book went on the Christian market. I'd feel cheated if I had bought this book, considering it's not even what it claims to be about.
He is very concerned, it seems, that the reader understand that he is an undisciplined everyman. Which is very endearing and comforting, since God does use him for great things. He is also afraid of being Pharisee-like, which is very likable and convicting at the same time. And, as I mentioned earlier, he is also very funny. I wouldn't read this as a book to inspire me to greatness; instead, I think it's better as an amusing read with God-stuff in it. It aligns well with the Christian faith, even stands back to examine and criticize it occasionally. It certainly isn't a boring read, either.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>