Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1

Multnomah Books Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1

Ivy Griffith is a murderer. At least, she might as well be since she made a pact with Pete Barton and the others to cover it all up. Now, after ten years of numbing her guilt with drugs, she's finally coming clean, and home, to the little town of Jacob's Ear, Colorado. Hoping to find the courage to reveal the truth, practical matters must be dealt with first. Since she'll certainly be thrown in jail, she must secure a guardian for her seven-year-old son, Montana, whom her parents didn't even know existed. But at her ten-year high school reunion, an ugly twist of events pays homage to the past, and further entangles Ivy in a sick web of deceit. Can she ever shake the haunting darkness that plagues her and leave the horrors of the past buried, perhaps right alongside Joe Hadley's body, never to reemerge?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Review 1 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book was a good read

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
ronni d
Location:Brighton, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the suspense but most of all no matter what we do in life God is forgiving and gives us the strength to make it through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book was good from start to finish

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladycc
Location:Asheville NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so happy to find this book at such a great price. Ever Present Danger was good from start to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Elgin, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. I hope to read more of her series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book.

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
boskie
Location:Middletown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Excellent reading. I could not put the book down. Finished reading the series (3 books) in a week.
When I first started reading book 1, I felt like I was reading the life story of someone I knew. The characters were real to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Kathy Herman has done a marvelous job with Ever Present Danger. She has a way of creating characters that are real down to earth people doing an almost impossible task.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia Ferrell
WOW! I started this book and could not put it down. It was exciting from start to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Manning
Kathy Herman is a great writer. It's hard to put any book she has written down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This was a very enjoyable book! A good mystery. It's a story of forgiveness, doing what is right in spite of the negative consequences, and never giving up on those we love. I'm from a small town, so I could identify with the characters in Jacob's Ear, and enjoyed getting to know them. I couldn't wait to read the second book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri Clay
This awesome page turner was too good to put down! Not only is it a compelling story but youll learn about Gods unfailing forgiveness and grace. Between the pages is an awesome lesson of temptation and how sin leads to more sin. Author Kathy Herman has done an outstanding job of telling this story of suspense and intrigue. A perfect read for high schoolers and adults alike. Also included is a readers guide perfect for a readers group or even a Bible study as the teaching is that amazing. But what I really liked was the Afterword, a letter written by the author to the reader that will have you stopping and analyzing your own life long after youve finished this book. So sit back and enjoy this awesome spellbinding tale and be prepared the ending is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Sleeman
In the first of her Phantom Hollow series, Herman successfully weaves suspense with a strong family drama. The book begins with great character angst and pain, and some readers might question if it really is a suspense novel. But keep reading as the story takes a sharp turn toward suspense when a surprising sub-plot surfaces and speeds up the page turning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ever Present Danger, Phantom Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Ivy Griffith left her hometown of Jacobs Ear, Colorado following the death of Joe Hadley. Over the years she used drugs and alcohol to bury her conscience as the pact she made with Pete Barton, Reg and Denny haunts her because she knows she should have spoke up. She sold her body to pay for drugs. Now after a decade away she calls her mom to ask if she, her seven years old son Montana, and a close friend seventy years old Lucia Ramirez can come home. Her mom is elated and wary, but welcomes her while her dad refuses to offer encouragement as he fears she will hurt them again; Ivy has doubts too that you cant come home.Lu is dying from leukemia so she needs someone to watch over her son while she works. Her mom jumps at the job of spending time with her grandson that she did not know existed until recently; her dad remains cold and aloof expecting Ivy to run. Not only does she stay she obtains work as a waitress at a restaurant and avoids Pete, owner of a deli as much as possible. However, a construction team has uncovered the buried skull of Joe while digging on the Collier Ranch just prior to Ivy becoming embroiled in something as lethal.The key to this fascinating character study is Ivy whose subsequent actions following the pivotal moment of her life seem genuine as she struggles to bury the guilt that has overwhelmed her. When she comes home with her son and her dying friend, the reactions of her parents especially her father, also seem realistic as a decade of dysfunctional and distrust does not suddenly end over night. Though a late suspense subplot takes away from an incredibly deep family drama, Kathy Herman provides a well written inspirational character study.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.