Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2

Multnomah Books Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2

Forgiveness is one thing, but who really forgets?Ivy Griffith has been released from jail after serving time for covering up the strangulation death of a high school classmate ten years earlier. She's paid her debt to society. Kicked her drug habit. She's making a fresh start.Problem is, everyone in her hometown of Jacob's Ear, Colorado, knows what she did. And her seven-year-old son, Montana, won't stop probing about the father he has never met-the man Ivy was too stoned to even remember. Plagued by her own shame and her little boy's cries for male affirmation, Ivy is thrilled when Rue Kessler takes an interest in Montana and her. Maybe, just maybe, he's the answer to prayer she's been waiting for.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Review 1 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness and Second Chances

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ivy Griffith has been in prison because she covered up the death of a high school classlmate ten years ago. Having gained control over her drug habit and having paid her debt to society for her crime, she wants to begin afresh.
In her heart beats that of a loving mother of her seven-year-old son, Montana, and Ivy wants to keep him safe from her past and give him a safe future. but Montana needs and wants a male influence in his life and that influence present himself in the form of Rue Kessler.
Is Rue just what Ivy and Montana need and what she's been praying for or is he going to bring further trouble into their lives? After all, Rue's history is not all that stellar.
Authur, Kathy Herman, brings to the pages characters with real troubles and real life situations and reveals their very real struggles. The characters discover the depth of God's forgiveness for themselves and others. They discover the beauty of second chances.
A good read and a good array of characters and plot. I really like Montana. A little boy with a big heart - one to cherish as his mother, Ivy, does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Never Look Back is a gripping attention getter from start to finish! Well written. Good suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Breezeel
Excellent book. Well defined characters. Very suspenseful. And there is a romance. However, it is book 2 in a series. I would recommend reading book 1, "Ever Present Danger" first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Kathy Herman knows how to keep a reader involved and she did it well in Never Look Back! The characters are so real it is hard to guess what will happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi Scozzafava
I have found a new favorite author in Kathy Herman. This book was a delight to read and a great grounding in the Christian faith. Strongly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
I really enjoyed following Ivy's life. There was lots of suspence and intrigue with these wonderful characters. I really enjoyed the messages of forgiveness and letting go of past mistakes. Wonderful read! I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Cantrell
Great book! The Phantom Hollow Series is very exciting and I could hardly put it down. I have loved every Kathy Herman book I have read so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel Whitten
I loved this book as well as all of Kathy Herman's books. If you like mystery, she keeps you spell bound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
This book was as good as the first one!It's a wonderful story of forgiveness & second chances, of trusting.Ivy is determined to win her family & friends' trust back after a life of bad choices.She then trusts Rue, who's overcoming his own battles.What a great lesson on being non-judgemental, based on appearances!I thought I knew who the culprit was, but then Kathy threw me off!I hope there's a book #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Once again Kathy Herman has managed to make us a part of the suspense and intrigue. The characters become so real you feel like you are involved in their lives. This book is a must read! A definite page turner. I have read all of Kathy Hermans books and I can honestly say that once I started this book I couldn't put it down. ENJOY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Never Look Back, Phantom Hollow Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Never Look Back is the second book in Kathy Hermans Phantom Hollow Series. We rejoin Ivy Griffith as she is released from prison and ready to begin the drug-free life she has spent her prison term thinking about. She accepts a job working at her fathers Christian camp, moves into a cabin with her son Montana, and sets out to be the mother she had never been when using drugs. Her father, impressed with Ivys rehab invites two recovering addicts in a sponsored work program to repair cabins at Three Peaks. Not only does Ivy bond with one of the men, Rue Kessler, but a romance soon takes off and leads to a very surprising outcome that you HAVE TO READ to believe. While Ivy and Rue only want to get on with their lives, get to know each other and see if a relationship is in Gods plans for them, local residents are terrorized by a serial maniac who brutally beats the elderly. Of course, Rue due to his past becomes a major suspect in the crimes, especially since he cannot prove his whereabouts on the nights of the crimes. Starting with the first beating, Herman sends us on a mystery that keeps us reading until the very end. In my opinion, Kathy Herman always does a fantastic job of bringing forth a strong spiritual message though her characters struggles and growth, and Never Look Back is no exception. Throughout the book, Ivy Griffith struggles with letting go of her past actionsactions and sins shes repented of, received forgiveness for, and yet continues to drag with her like a worn old security blanket. Through those who care for Ivy and help her to work toward unloading this baggage, we see how we can let go of these very things in our own lives. For full reading pleasure, I would recommend reading book one first. Either way, you are sure to enjoy another find Kathy Herman suspense novel that will satisfy you from page one to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.