Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 3:16 A Study for Small Groups

Thomas Nelson 3:16 A Study for Small Groups

If 9/11 are the numbers of terror and despair, then 3:16 are the numbers of hope. Best-selling author Max Lucado leads you through a word-by-word study of John 3:16, the passage that he calls the "Hope Diamond" of scripture. The study includes 12 lessons that are designed to work with both the book and the DVD for a multi-media experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Review 1 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very informative and inspirational study

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louise Hindes
Location:Port Huron, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've just bbegub, but so far we are delighted. It will help the unsaved meet Christ and it will reinforce truth to the saved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great conversation starter

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Al
Location:Cumberland, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well in group settings, stimulates interactions and discussions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Adams
We have done a study by Max Lucado already and really liked it. We just started this one and it has already generated great discussions and insights. We look forward to more of the same in the final chapters. The only negative I find as the leader is that the CD segments are so short. The leaders guide I downloaded from the CD-ROM is very helpfull and complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melisa Raffaelli
Our small group is in the middle of the third chapter. It gives you a lot of food for thought. It is a great study. We have the cd that goes along with the book. It is a great book for a new small group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kevin Obermiller
After reading Max Lucado's book, I knew in my spirit that God was calling out to His children through this. Our small group is on a journey to know our Father's love in a new & fresh way. Parallel reading includes "The Shack", by William P. Young.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lizabeth Bucy
I think this book is a good one for teen classes and new Christians as it reminds us of what we have committed our lives to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Rasinski
Even people who don't read the Bible are familiar with John 3:16. Yet we have a tendency to overlook the most hopeful verse in all of scripture. The most basic fundamental of the Christian faith comes alive with this study. It is written in typical Max Lucado style - easy to read and understand. The study can be done with or without the book. Leading a small group through this book has brought salvation to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Moore
Excellent for seekers, new believers and mature Christians. We're using it for our Women's Ministries groups at our church, in the fall. One of Max Lucado's best yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Fancy Miller
First of all the book is great...and the study guide is very good and will be easy for a group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marcie Tompkins
Great study! Our small group is doing the 3:16 and like the fact it is light and does not require a lot of home prep time but we still take away a message each time and always lead to good discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Cuckler
The study is good and I am using it as an adult study, but I had hope for better from the DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shannon Camp
Our group has just started this study and are on the 3rd lesson. So far it is getting us to really think about what God is doing and has done for us with John 3:16. We are using the package with the dvd and study materials. One suggestion would have been to include the main 3:16 book in the study package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donald Bradley
It is an excellent tool for our church book club as we study the book, I use the study guide to enhance the reading and appreciation of 3:16.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Orville
The text book 3:16 is a 5 star for me!! It focus us to how much God really loves us and the sacrific that he paid by sending his one and only son to take our sins and die for us. But thank God He arose from the grave a victor over sin!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Garth
I do like the idea of this product. However, the study itself is very frustrating. It does not have a very clear outline of how to use the study guide. I would not at all consider this a DVD study. Questions in front and in back of guide for me did not connect very well. Layout is poor. Needs to be revisited in the thinking of being user friendly. Had people say what was there does not go deep enough for them. I don't want to sound completely negative, it does have potential, but, it certainly needs to be rethought for any type of group using it, either believers, new believers, non believers. Thanks for letting me give my opinion. Looking forward to hopefully seeing the revision of this study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 3:16 A Study for Small Groups
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Fletcher
This is an awesome study! It just puts the most important verse into perspective and brings out what it really means!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.