Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Perfecting Kate

Random House, Inc Perfecting Kate

Just when mural artist Kate Meadows resolves to embrace singledom and be unbelievably, inconceivably happy, it seems to be raining men. Hallelujah! Or not. First, there's Michael. He's the famous makeup artist determined to bring Kate's looks up to his standard. It's amazing what a few cosmetic procedures can do, but Kate's starting to feel like she's on Extreme Makeover, just without the TV cameras and someone else paying the bill. Then there's the enigmatic Dr. Clive Alexander. Despite his insistence that Kate is perfect just the way she is, he wants to change her in his own way. So, what's a single, thirty-something woman to do? It's a tough call. For as much effort goes into improving her appearance, even more is needed to jumpstart her "on hold" relationship with God.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Perfecting Kate
Review 1 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
plot: At first, I really didn't like this book. I read the first few chapters and then took a hiatus. A long hiatus. A four month hiatus. Only after resuming and realizing that the plot actually hits a lot closer to home than I would like to admit (than most women in general would like to admit) can I say that I actually really did like this book. The plot was real and relatable. Between the need to be physically perfect and the realization that no one is as spiritual as they like to think they are, this book really makes you examine yourself and your motives in life.
characters: Kate is highly relatable, as I mentioned above. There could be something to learn from the supporting characters, I suppose, but Kate really is the one who seemingly figures it out. While she is not perfect, the journey that she takes in this story, really is one to take heart to.
themes: There are so many themes in this book. True beauty is on the inside, trusting God and those you love, faith in God and not in yourself, and many others. Each theme, too was executed and carried out while helping the story to move along.
emotion: On one hand, I can say that there wasn't really an emotional connection with the characters in this book. On the other hand though, the self evaluating provocations made the story highly emotional. While I didn't necessarily connect with the characters on their level, I connected in a way that made me look at my life and where I'm headed verses where I want to be.
overall: As I mentioned, at first, I didn't like this book. Be it that I didn't think I would be able to connect or I didn't want to admit that I could connect, I'm not entirely sure. In the end, however, I did really like it.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting story, easy read

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
lisa
Location:Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Tamara Leigh's books. She isn't afraid to let her characters be imperfect, so they are relatable. I like easy, light reading before bed, and her books fit the bill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfecting Kate {Review}

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
keash1
Location:Lynden, Wa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book, it was a super easy and funny read. I read it in just 2 days. I loved the way that Tamara Leigh writes. I felt a part of the story which is what I look for in a book.
Kate is a girl who is sure she is destined for singled-om forever,then one day Michael walks into her life, a man who is not shy about sharing his ideas of how Kate should change her appearance. I liked how Leigh portrayed Kate and the way that Michael affected her thinking. Not only is their Michael but soon along comes Clive who is completely different than Michael but their are issues to work through with him as well. This leaves Kate with a decision to make. Which one is the man she wants to be with and which man gives her the confidence to be herself?
Great Book, that I would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has it all

Date:July 2, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has it all. I literally laughed out loud as I read Kate's story. I don't think any book has made me do that, but there is some funny stuff in here. My heart also ached for Kate to find "The One" and there is so much Biblical truth in this book as well.
I could so relate to Kate as she struggled with appearance. She isn't perfect, although she does start to do things to change her appearance. She isn't a size two (really, who is??) and I love that she hates exercise as much as me.
I know I have been obsessed with my appearance in the past and that really took away from my relationship with God. Kate asks the question, who is she really trying to please in looking different? Something we can all reflect on as we choose our cloths for the day.
Overall, a great read. I would say it's light but it also has a lot of depth to it. I highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more by Tamera Leigh.
A copy of this book was given to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exhange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

quirky and fun, but perfect it's not

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tamera Leigh’s Perfecting Kate is a quirky, romance novel about a vain, imperfect artist who has given up on men – again, when not one but two come into her life.
Enter Michael, a makeup artist who professes to be Christian. While he compliments her often, he regularly points out he flaws and refers her to professionals who can “fix” her. But he isn’t interested in the one thing she can never give him.
Then there’s Clive, a widowed doctor who likes her just the way she is, but who has abandoned his faith and does want the one thing she can never give him.
While she struggles with her faith, her appearance, and her relationships, she keeps a prayer journal. Her honest commentary on her struggles and shortcomings is refreshing and chronicles her journey towards God’s best for her. This prayer journal shows that Kate is anything but perfect, and in my opinion, gives this book an edge over other Christian chick-lit.
Witty and cleverly written, Perfecting Kate is an easy and enjoyable read. It includes some subtle references to things not often seen in Christian books, due to their controversial nature. However, it is done in a way that shows both the flawed nature of human beings and the redemptive power of God.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not my favorite :(

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Libby
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book did not grab my attention at all, there was nothing exciting in it. I felt like there was no real point to it until the last part. As I started to read it I found myself looking at my own flaws and feeling bad about myself.
The fact that she dated Michael for so long when he wanted to change every piece of her appearance REALLY irked me and made me want to knock Kate upside her head. This set the mood for the book to be bad in my opinion. I had a really hard time getting into it and seeing it a positive light when it was such a downer.
The cover is a mix for me. I really like the colors. They stand out and catch my eye but the rest of the cover is boring. If I had seen this in a bookstore, I would have pulled it off the shelf because of the colors but I would have put it back when I saw the front. Should I judge a book by its cover? No? Do we all do it? Yes. So Alas, it is what it is..
BUT, I do like to find positives in a book as well so here is what I found. The last hundred pages were good. They were more captivating and interesting. At that point I did not want to put the book down. I wish the whole book had been written like that! There was more content and more action. I was on the edge of the seat waiting to see what happened next.
Kate can never have kids. Wait, that is not the positive part! How she DEALT with it is the positive part. It was nice to read about how she struggles through it as a human, you know? Most books make it seem to easy but here she thinks about it daily and is haunted by it. I found that to be realistic and refreshing.
Now, with all of that being said, I am sure alot of you will really enjoy this book! It has great ratings from alot of people so please go out and read it anyway. I would LOVE to know what you thought about it! Please do not let me sway you. If you have read this book, please tell me what you thought. Did you hate it or love it? Why?
***This book was given to me by the publisher, Waterbrook Press in exchange for an open and honest review***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfecting Kate by Tamara Leigh

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfecting Kate by Tamara Leigh is a Christian woman in her 30’s who has just sworn off men—again. She is a successful San Francisco artist who is becoming more and more famous for her art work but can she find a good Christian man? No not one. Christopher Stapleton had just asked for his engagement ring back after finding out that she cannot have children. It is hard enough knowing that she can never have her own children without the love of her life dump her for that very reason. Good looking Michael Palmier has entered her world just recently and seems more interested in her that her gorgeous roommate, Maia. He is a makeup artist for Changes magazine. He says he wants to feature her in his next makeover of mismatched girlfriends. Funny though every time he takes her out he has a new doctor he wants her to see—a dentist to fix the gap in her front teeth, a plastic surgeon to remove the mole on her cheek and her nose. He says that she is perfect on the inside but he keeps wanting things fixed on her outside. Enter in Clive—excuse me Dr Alexander. Now that man is good looking and whenever he looks at her she turns to mush. He says that if it is working for her don’t change it. Suddenly 2 men are interested in her at the same time instead of her roommate both Michael and Clive. But are either of them marriage material?
I liked this book. It is an interesting book on the problems that Christian woman find when seeking to find an equally yoked man to marry. This story tells of Kate’s dilemma of balancing not nixing her Christian standards while trying to be fair to the fact that nobody is perfect. Ms Leigh does an excellent job of thinking inside the young woman’s head. I would recommend this book for any ages of young girls and also light reading for women of any age.
I was provided this book from Multnomah for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, clean fun!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfecting Kate introduced us to Kate who is a very talented artist but not as confident in pretty much every other area of her life. She’s dealing with health issues that contributed to a painful broken engagement in her past. This still haunts her as she isn’t willing to trust men completely because she feels that she will be rejected in the end, again. She feels lacking physically, especially recently, because of some unsolicited comments, advice and even a makeover. Kate then begins to “perfect” herself. However, will she lose sight of the love of Christ and her trust in Him. Will she accept the truth that her true beauty shines from within?
This chick lit book is well written and very enjoyable to read. I connected with the characters, especially Kate. I felt that I could relate to her, maybe not in her specific issues, but as a woman dealing with the ups and downs of life. The story was cute and funny, but not unrealistic or silly. I would recommend it to women of all ages!
On a side note... I love chick flicks, so I’m not sure why I haven’t really gotten into chick lit. However, I am so glad that Tamara Leigh introduced me! Now I definitely plan to check more out of her’s and other Christian chick lit authors.
“What is ‘chick lit’?” you ask. I searched the all knowing ;) Wikipedia: “Chick lit is genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and lightheartedly. The genre became popular in the late 1990s, with chick lit titles topping bestseller lists and the creation of imprints devoted entirely to chick lit. Although it sometimes includes romantic elements, chick lit is generally not considered a direct subcategory of the romance novel genre, because the heroine's relationship with her family or friends is often just as important as her romantic relationships....Chick lit typically features a female protagonist whose womanhood is heavily thematized in the plot.”
And what a bonus to have chick lit and Christian together in titles such as Perfecting Kate!!! Then fans get to enjoy the story without having to wade through sex scenes and such, which always seem to get thrown in. (Thank you, Mrs. Leigh, for choosing to listen to God and start honoring Him with your gift of writing in 2003!)
Disclosure: I received this ebook free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s book review bloggers program, BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Kate’s Creed: Thou shalt embrace singledom and be unbelievably, inconceivably happy.
YEAH, RIGHT.
Kate Meadows is a successful San Francisco artist looking for a nice, solid Christian man. So when not one, but two handsome bachelors enter her orbit in rapid succession, her head is spinning just a bit. Michael Palmier is a hunky and famous makeup artist who actually seems to be flirting with her–rather than her physically flawless housemate, Maia. Trouble is, he keeps handing her business cards from various beauty professionals and plastic surgeons. Is he trying to stamp out every last bit of self-esteem she has?
Then there’s Dr. Clive Alexander, good-looking enough to be mistaken for Brad Pitt, who sends Kate’s pulse skittering every time he comes near. Too bad he’s only interested in her work–and doesn’t think she’s much to look at. It’s enough to send a girl running for her paint-splattered, relaxed-fit jeans and swearing off men altogether! But after undergoing a makeover from Michael’s staff, Kate can’t be oblivious to the admiring glances men throw her way. Maybe she should try contacts…consider some fancy dental work…and you know, that mole really could stand to go. The question now is, what kind of work will Kate do on herself…and who exactly is she trying to please?
This was a very easy read for me. I was so caught up in the story that I read the book in one night. I can't relate to Kate, but imagine so many others can in wanting to make themselves perfect for that one special someone. Tamara Leigh is an excellent author. I felt as if I was right there besides Kate for the entire story...it was as if I was watching it on the big screen. If you haven't read this ladies, do it. You'll be engrossed from page one and won't want to give up until you've finished!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Appearance-focused

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kate Meadows may not be living the "perfect" life, but she has always been fairly confident with who she is. Even though she struggles with her frequently renewed vow of "Thou shalt embrace singledom and be unbelievably, inconceivably happy," she continues to search for "the One." When she and her fashionable housemate, Maia, are approached to be part of a roommate makeover article, she gives in, and finds herself enjoying not only the attention from the makeup artist, Michael Palmier, but also the attention she gets from the makeover. However, as Michael continues to suggest additional things she should fix, and her client Dr. Clive Alexander continues to express doubt over her "improvements," she starts to wonder whether there's something deeper she needs to work on perfecting.
This book started out rough for me. The character's description of herself as "twenty-nine years young (and holding, five foot seven (on tiptoe), 110 pounds (wrung out)...." felt so unrealistic that it immediately turned me off to the story. (Seriously, 5'7" and 110 pounds would put her BMI at 17.2 - Underweight). She later admits that those measurements were a stretch, and she's more like 5'3" and 125 pounds, much more realistic, and still healthy. But the damage of her initial self-assessment was already done for me. I couldn't get past her, and by extension the author's view of what constitutes beauty. Kate does eventually realize that no matter what she does to change her appearance, that it can't change her heart, and she takes on a different project "Perfect Faith," which helps elevate the book to where I at least managed to finish it.
I give this book 2 stars. I liked Kate, and wanted her to like herself - without all the crazy surgeries and cosmetic changes. There's nothing wrong with wanting to be healthy, and pushing herself to exercise was a noble goal, but I couldn't get on board with the overall focus of the book on unrealistic outward appearances.
I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Perfecting Kate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Meadows is pretty sure she has her life in order. She believes in embracing singledom and being unbelievable and inconceivably happy. As a successful San Francisco artist, she doesn't need a man in the picture. But then, not just one, but two men enter her life unexpectedly. Michael Palmier is a makeup artist who actually seems to be flirting with her, not her perfect roommate, Maia. The only thing she can't take about him is that he keeps handing her business cards to people who zap away physical imperfections - for a price.
Then there is Dr. Clive Alexander. Once a cosmetic surgeon for the rich and famous, he has changed specialties and now works for a hospital as a reconstructive burn specialist and surgeon. Too bad her hearts skips a beat every time she sees him, as he sees to be only interested in her work. As she fights herself and God on some big decisions in her life, how far will she go to perfect herself? And is lying by silence really lying or just shielding others from the awful truth?
Kate has got to be, hands down, the funniest girl in chick lit. Maybe I just haven't read enough of the genre, but Leigh brings Kate to life that is in a word - perfect. She's flawed, her relationship with God is teetering on disaster at times, and the predicaments she gets herself into are all too true to life. But more than all that, it brings us to the sobering question on where our walk with God actually is. Are we like Kate and "skip out" on our time with God because we have "so much" going on? Kate learned the hard way that God's ways are higher than our ways, and that being the case, the most we can do is listen, and obey.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.