Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation

Oxford University Press The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation

The Jewish Study Bible is a one-volume resource tailored especially for the needs of students of the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament). Nearly forty scholars worldwide contributed to the translation and interpretation of the Jewish Study Bible, representing the best of Jewish biblical scholarship available today. A committee of highly-respected biblical scholars and rabbis from the Orthodox, Conservative, and Reform Judaism movements produced this modern translation.

No knowledge of Hebrew is required for one to make use of this unique volume. The JSB uses The Jewish Publication Society TANAKH Translation, whose name is an acronym formed from the Hebrew initials of the three sections into which the Hebrew Bible is traditionally divided (Torah, Instruction; Nevi'im, Prophets; and Kethubim, Writings).

Since its publication, the Jewish Study Bible has become one of the most popular volumes in Oxford's celebrated line of bibles. The quality of scholarship, easy-to-navigate format, and vibrant supplementary features bring the ancient text to life. The Jewish Study Bible is a perfect, uniquely affordable resource for both students and general readers.

Features
  • Informative essays that address a wide variety of topics relating to Judaism's use and interpretation of the Bible through the ages
  • In-text tables, maps, and charts
  • Tables of weights and measures
  • Verse and chapter differences
  • Table of Scriptural Readings
  • Glossary of technical terms
  • An index to all the study materials
  • Full color New Oxford Bible Maps, with index.
  • Old Testament only
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Review 1 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent version

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Ear
Location:Elkton, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
My only regret is that it does not include the New Testament. Of course, it is not intended to do that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting & informative?

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lime
Location:LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am finding this an interesting learning experience. In some cases the notes exceed my expectations, and in others, it is clear to me through this reasoning, why Israel chose not to see Yeshua as HaMashiach. It seems to me that G-d's grandeur is somewhat diminished, and they try to explain away things that they can't explain or don't like.
Read with open eyes and and a trusted translation close at hand. Glean what you can, but be discerning and you will find it to be informative and interesting.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carole Cupp
am really enjoying using this alongside my regular Bible. would recommend it for anyone that is serious about studying the Old Testament.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronald Franklin
Well written and pleasant to read. This is an excellent addition to any Bible collection of any religious background. Study notes give a different point of view to Christians. Recommend to anyone studying Theology.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Clayton Peak
The study notes in this Bible have been written by Jews. They do not take the view that the Hebrew Scriptures (or "Old Testament") are a precursor to the Christian New Testament. This is an excellent resource for anyone who wants to read and study the Hebrew Scriptures from a Jewish perspective.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gorden
This is a must for every serious student of the Bible. The translation is extremely accurate and the commentary is enlightening. It is one of my most treasured books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Danielson
When reading this version, we get certain parts "filled in" by the old Rabbi Sages in it's explanation. Written in English, yet with certain clarities, it INSPIRED all 7 of us, four were teenagers, to study the bible in more detail. FABULOUS resource worth the money...to read the Old Testament with the comments of the Sages!!!!! INSPIRING. It is not the entire bible, however, it is missing the New Testament.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
MrsTinCT
I just picked this up & for a person who is just doing some personal study this is very good once you get used to the fact that the bible as we know it is in a different order than what the original order that the Jewish use - I'm glad I opted for the hardcover because I can tell that this is going to get a lot of use & paperbacks tend to not have strong enough glue for holding the books together & I don't want to lose a single page of this gem
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronald Libby
I found that this is a very valuable tool as a by-vocations lay pastor. I enjoy reviewing many commentaries and this is the only one with the OT view from Jewish scholars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tamsen Warren
The Tanakh English translation is clear, beautifully written, and also easy to read and understand. The opposite is true for the much of the commentary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gayle Webert
I learn something new from it daily!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jewish Study Bible: Featuring The Jewish Publications Society Tanakh Translation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
John
I would highly recommend this edition of the Hebrew Scriptures to any serious student of the Bible. It has helped me understand the Scriptures more than any single volume I've ever read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.