Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design

The ESV Study Bible, Personal Size compresses nearly all the features of the award-winning ESV Study Bible into a smaller size for easier carrying. This Personal Size edition retaina all of the original's 25,000 study notes, 240 full-color maps and illustrations, charts, timelines, and introductions—more than 2 million words of Bible text, insightful explanation, teaching, and reference material. To conserve space, some of the extensive articles have been removed from this more compact edition and moved online for free access. Enjoy the comprehensive resources of the internationally best-selling ESV Study Bible, now in a convenient and portable smaller size!

Free—includes free access to the ESV Online Study Bible

Features

  • Smaller, more portable size
  • Single-column Bible text (7.7-point type) double-column notes (6.3-point type)
  • Black letter text
  • 25,000 study notes
  • 240 full-color maps and illustrations througout
  • 80,000 cross-references
  • Complete introductions to every Bible book
  • Extensive concordance
  • Printed on finest European Bible paper
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • Gold page edges
  • Lifetime guarantee from the publisher
  • Free access to the ESV Online Study Bible
  • 8.50" x 5.75" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
68 out of 7196%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Review 1 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Study Bible

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Diego
Location:Oxnard, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my MacArthur Study Bible and my HCSB Study Bible but the ESV study bible is my favorite. The notes are out of this world. I cant read more then a couple of sentences before I find my self looking at the commentaries so it is going to take me a long time to finish reading the entire bible. But that is ok because I love it! The size is perfect to carry around and the font is just right for me to read. Thanks ESV!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Bible

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
joecool1
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent Bible with good study notes that will help in increasing one's knowledge of the Word. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuckyDragon9
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is great. It's small enough to carry around easily, with all of the extrapolated features on a disc. I love the blue and brown leather cover and design because it's very attractive. My only personal complaint would be that Christ's words aren't in red---I think that would be more helpful for study if they were. But that shouldn't be a deterrent for considering this Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome affordable study tool

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jason
Location:Middletown, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best study bibles that I have encountered! I have personally used many of them, including the NIV study bible, MacArthur study bible, NLT Life App study bible, HCSB study bible... and the list goes on and on. But the ESV study bible is by far the greatest resource contained in such a small package. The commentary is spot on and very informative and in-depth. The outlines, charts and articles are extremely helpful for one's understanding of biblical concepts... and the colored pictures help the reader form mental imagery to draw you into the setting. The ONLY gripe that I have with the personal sized version is the lack of the additional articles in the back of the bible... they are not needed for ones grasp of the Scriptures but are so immensely valuable for deeper study of it. And the translation itself (ESV) is a great read! I have compared it to the KJV, NIV, NASB and NLT and it is perfect for any reader. Close to the word order of the KJV and NASB for easy transition and grammar study. And helpful like the NIV in obscure texts to promote understanding. The level of scholarship that went into this bible cannot be summed up in this review. This is an incredible tool and I have personally seen 7+ people overwhelmingly satisfied with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very happy with the bible.

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MommaK
Location:Bloomington, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave this bible as a college graduation gift. Very happy with it:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Study Bible

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Wilmington, Delaware
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Study Bible - Personal Size is perfect. The binding is superb and the color is exactly as it was pictured. The font is readable, although it is small. The color maps are beautiful. The only thing I wish it had was Jesus' words in RED. I am very pleased with the presentation of this Bible. I would have liked to have had the pages in front having lines for births, deaths etc., however, the blank pages are also nice ... all in all, a great Bible. I look forward to many years of using this for my Bible Studies etc. Very nice size to carry with you back and forth to church or bible studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyJ
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is beautiful! The layout is nice with a book style format
that is easy to read I think. I do wish that Jesus' words were in red for the sake of those not as familiar with the gospels. It would make it easier for them to separate His words from the rest of the text. For me, I am fine with all black text. The study notes are very helpful for more clearly defining the fuller meaning of the passages. All in all, I feel that this will be my favorite "go to" bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Bible is verry good, but not for my OLD eyes.

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronny
Location:Bonifay FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible's print is much too small for my eyes, if I had not opened it up I would have sent it back. I gave a larger ESV study bible to a friend and bought a hard cover large print study bible for home use. I am well satisfied with the contents just can't read the small print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent cover

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
cliffster82
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the leather cover, of which I was skeptical. I was afraid it would be too stiff. It is not. Neither is it too flimsy. It's just right, and I consider it much better than the trutones. This is the "Personal Size." The font size is small, super small down in the Notes below the bible text. But I was expecting that because I wanted the smaller physical size for portability and ease of use. Overall this will be my go-everywhere Bible for some time to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great translation, great size, great quality

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Biker
Location:Seattle WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV study Bible is one of the best on the market. Get insights that help one understand the word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with purchase.

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This as an awesome study bible. The notes are insightful. The version (ESV) is understandable and a literal translation. The quality is unbeatable for such an affordable bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
solo
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The paper is kind of thin. The print is a bit small else great Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barry
Location:Palm Harbor, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I forget to check print size. For me it is a little small. The study comments are superb, and access to the on-line version, etc., is a great feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study notes.

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sylvia F Wilson
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this bible for a women's retreat. The women loved all the extra information, so helpful for our study. I have noticed the women using the bibles at church too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great study bible for someone who wants a smaller bible, yet with the good notes. However, because it's smaller the words in the notes are pretty small, so you have to have good lighting and good eyes to read them. Otherwise, it's great and meets my needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura W
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible! It's so pretty and the notes in it are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice Bible at a Good Price

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kramer
Location:Fishers, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my daughter for Christmas 2012 as her first study bible. It was shipped promptly and packed well. My only disappointment was the imprinting of her name on the cover was mediocre at best. The letter spacing and quality of the imprint were not particularly well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is my favourite bible ever!

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cailean M
Location:Glasgow/ Outer Hebrides, Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To sum up how good this bible is - I simply cannot put it down, but return to it again and again!
So far I have read Daniel, Romans, John, and Genisis to Leviticus through with the bible study notes in the lower half of the pages. So much is made clear that I am reading things and making sense of them like never before in my 20 years of being a Christian! (I know it is ultimately the Holy Spirit that enlightens, and I feel that through reading His word in this format that this is happening.)
Prophecy in Daniel becomes clear, law and grace in Romans are explained vividly, John is magestic in ways I've never seen before, and I am throughly enjoying Leviticus at the moment having been lead through the tabernacle with pictures and charts in the later part of Exodus.
I cannot recommend this study bible enough! As an object, it is well bound but opens flat at any page. Its cover is flexible but hard wearing - the stitching effect I find pleasing.
I own a regular size hardback ESV study bible which I keep at my parents house, in which the study notes are bigger and cleaer. But the personal size is managable for my eyes.
Because I knew that this would be a book I would treasure, I also got my name engraved on it for a few pounds extra - well worth it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Cover is a Work of Art...Simply Beautiful!!

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible, the quality is excellent. I've compared most translations, and while I like something about all of them, I just keep going back to the ESV. The cover is beautiful, but the inside is as well. The colored in-text maps are much more helpful than the b&w which all my other bibles have. It has a wealth of good in-depth notes and helps, and will probably take the place of all my other books in my bookcase. It's basically a whole bookcase in one easy to carry lightweight bible. I love the fact that the print size of the bible text is larger than the study notes, because they feel that the Word of God is much more important than the notes of man, and I agree. The print of course is a little small, but that's to be expected in a bible with this much info., but yet in a very handy carry size. If you can read those little pocket new testaments you shouldn't have any trouble reading this. I have previously owned the regular size esv study bible...key word being "previously"...I no longer have it because it was just so big and heavy...I just simply never used it or took it anywhere. This one is so much better, as far as size, and I think it will be my companion for many years to come...and where I go it will go.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Personal-Size Study Bible, TruTone, Brown/Cordovan Portfolio Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just got my favorite Bible!

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reilly
Location:BC, Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If anyone's looking for a Bible they can use for years, this is the one for them. There's probably more notes and maps in here than I could ever go over in my lifetime. The ESV is, of course, an amazing translation, invaluable for any student of God's Word.
And if you like a good, formal-looking Bible, this is also the one for you. The coloured pages make the Bible come alive even more so. The cover is hardy and protective, although I'm sure it will soften up as it gets use (which it will)! A good size for carrying, I would recommend this product to anyone.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.