Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black

The ESV Single Column Legacy Bible is a new text-only edition with a fresh design. Based on the Renaissance ideal of a perfect page, it features a simple, clear layout that includes wider margins. With a concordance, full-color maps in the back, and the readable ESV text, this is a quality edition that can be read and enjoyed for a lifetime.

Features
  • Single-column format
  • Full-color maps in the back
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • Lifetime guarantee on all leather and TruTone editions
  • 9-point type
  • Presentation pages
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Review 1 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressive

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Guarddog
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received the Bible and it is very impressive. The leather cover and binding seem top of the line. The paper quality is very good with little ghosting. The paper is not as thick as some of the reviewers suggest but it is high quality. The single column format and 9 point font make for relaxed reading. Overall it seems like a good investment and should bring years of joy in reading God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for any believer!

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sean Golden
Location:Newark, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought me this for my birthday over a year ago. I wanted to get the Bible for sometime and was thankful when she had bought it. The single column of the verses makes it easy to read because the sentences are longer than your normal Bible and the font is very easy to read. I use the Bible as my pulpit Bible as it allows me to read directly from the Scripture without stumbling into another column.
I recommend it to any believer! Pastors included, of course! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
madrew55
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the Bible its made very well and uses very high quality paper. I would like it to be a bit larger and be able to get it with large print because I am using it for Bible study and marking it up is part of the deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an accurate translation devotional bible

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
tomonz3
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the wide margins for writing notes, font size, and front page to back page line alignment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great readability, poor handleability

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
theo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PROS:
-The thicker, high quality paper & line matcing technology make this Bible's pages very clean with virtually no "ghosting" from one page to the next.
-Wide margins allow for study notes.
CONS:
-This genuine leather is the stiffest leather I have ever handled; much worse than all previous Crossway Bibles I have come across. (I recommend a "trutone" version for a supple feel and open flat capability).
-Heavy to hold for extended periods of time (due to heavier paper and wide margins).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top Quality Bible

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick Lorfing
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an all around high quality bible.This bible is of great value for the money.It is well laid out and of exceptional quality throughout at an affordable price.Highly recommended.Service was also a consideration in the purchase of this product and as many times before Christianbook is a very professional and courteous company to do business with,they carry an outstanding selection of quality products at very affordable prices .Highly recommend buying from Christanbooks an enjoyable and satisfying experience due to a very professional and courteous business personality.Looking forward to future purchases.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent bible from crossway.

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Matthew Nelson
Location:Planet Earth :)
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent "take to church" bible. The legacy layout, text size, and font make following along and reading aloud so much more enjoyable. I'm pretty sure this bible will last me the rest of my life. Glad to see it was printed in Italy not China.
Shipping was super fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josiah
Location:Canada and Nicaragua and beyond!
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The leather has an excellent feel, the binding is terrific. The paper is nothing special and as I use Micron Pens fairly regularly I am disappointed that there is some ink that is visible through the thin page. The wide margins are perfect, though space it wasted with the division headings. The thing I like the most however is how it reads. The Legacy style is terrific, as it reads like a book but still is conducive to study. The size and weight are excellent as well. A great bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome layout

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crossway’s ESV Single Column Legacy Bible has a beautiful layout with the design philosophy of the perfect page. It has wide margins, thick paper, and a large font. Made with readers in mind, Crossway has set a new standard in page layout.
Cover and Binding
The cover a two-tone brown TruTone (a soft imitation leather) with paper liner. I was able to curl it around in any shape I wanted and it went back to lying flat. To me it feels like calfskin. I love the look and feel of the grain. The cover is sewn around the edges, adding strength. The cover is very flexible. The binding is Smyth sewn, so it lays flat. It does take some breaking in before it will lay flat in Genesis.
Paper
The paper is 36 gsm (grams per square meter) Thincoat Plus. It feels very thick. I kept trying to separate the pages, thinking I had two pages, when I actually just had one. It is smooth and not at all shiny. Although it is opaque it does have more show-through than I expected for the page thickness. The paper is very white.
Text and Layout
The font is 9-point Lexicon with a 10.75 leading, giving lots of space between the lines. It is a black-letter text and is sharp and readable. The text is printed with line-matching, so the lines of text line up with the text on the backside of the page. This improves contrast which greatly helps readability because there is no text showing through between the lines of text. The print is consistently dark.
The layout is the real star of the show. It follows the renaissance concept of the perfect page, with roughly a 2:3 ratio page geometry, and looks great. It is unique for a Bible with section headings. This is a wide-margin edition, but instead of the section headings placed within the text, they are placed in the margins. This helps in readability. I was able to read without any distractions or disruptions between paragraphs. Since they are in the margin, they do take up some of the writing space. Moving the headings to the margins in order to improve readability was the purpose of the wider margin. The margins are great for writing, but they’re also great for leaving clean.
This is my favorite layout for wide-margin editions. I like the writing space on the outside margin because inner margins are too difficult to use. I badly want Crossway to make a KJV edition of this Bible.
The top outer corner of each page shows the page number, book name, chapter number, and verse number of the first verse that starts on that page.
Notes
This edition doesn’t have cross-references, but it does have translation notes. The notes are located at the bottom of the page and are keyed to the text with numbers. This works, but I could also see a benefit of the notes being in the margin next to the verse. I think that would make the headings blend-in too much though. The text for the notes is small. I’m guessing it’s a 5-point font.
Concordance
The concordance is 72 pages and in double column. The text is small but readable, so there are lots of entries. The primary word is in bold and the verses are offset with each verse on its own line. I found it easy to use.
Maps
There are 8 color maps. These are the same maps that are standard in other Crossway editions. My only complaint or suggestion is there needs to be an index to the maps. This would make the maps much easier and faster to use. The maps are labeled well, so they’re not hard to use. I just think an index would be nice.
Ribbon
This edition has one ribbon. It’s brown and very long. I think it’s too thin, but making it wider would increase the cost. For its price it’s fine.
Conclusion
This is one of the most readable layouts I’ve seen in any Bible. Moving the headings to the margin and the overall page design make this a Bible I want to read for long periods of time. The size feels right too- not too big or too small. The wide margins are great for taking notes and adding references, or just leaving blank. The paper is nice and the print is amazing. Crossway seeks to set new standards with the Legacy. They’ve done a great job. I highly recommend Crossway’s ESV Single Column Legacy Bible.
See this review on Bible Buying Guide for photos and comparisons to the Clarion.
Crossway Publishers provided this Bible free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Bible

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
dean
Location:milan mi
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This Bible is the most beautiful Bible I've ever seen! The print is crisp and clear, and the single-column format makes it so easy to read. Do not hesitate to buy this Bible, you will not be disappointed.
If there was an edition of the NASB that was similar to this, I would buy it too! All Bibles should be printed this way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Chippewa Lake, Oh
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is absolutely beautiful. The pages are fantastic in their simplicity making study much easier. The binding and feel of this Bible are superb, the leather is soft and binding is tight. This is how God's Word should be presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barefoot
Location:Roanoke, Virginia
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall I believe this is a great Bible for the price!
Pros:
- Single column format makes this both the perfect reader's Bible and a clutter-free study Bible. I am a Religion major and enjoy having the freedom to tailor everything for my purposes (i.e. making my own notes/cross-references).
-Flexible binding. When I first pulled it out of the box, I'll admit it was a bit rigid. It wouldn't lay flat at all. But within 10 or so minutes of reading I noticed it had really settled in. This is much smoother to handle than the number of cheap bonded leather one's I've owned. It looks like it will hold up with use too.
Con:
-Scratches on the trim. Despite this Bible being beautifully packaged, I noticed there were three long scratches in the gold paint around the edges of the paper. This was only on one side (the bottom) though. I was a bit turned off, but only because I wasn't expecting it. If this is the worst that happens to it, I'm happy.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very nice bible. very good price

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark Holloway
Location:Savannah, Ga.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the ESV translation and the single column paragraph format is nice. The format is nice and neat, the lines are on line from one page to another making for little bleed through, little distraction. Very readable. Nice cowhide cover, dark brown with red ribbons. Good price with CBD, fast shipping, great service. Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple and Classy

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbie Oh
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be the nicest Bible that I have ever received.
It's type face is really really readable.
The clean pages with a lot of extra space pulls the eyes towards the text.
The back to back text line up on each page is really great, however in some of the more prophetic books the text does line up but everything is aligned to the right.... so you still see some text through the page. But when the page is a full of text on both sides, it looks awesome. nothing shows through then.
The trutone cover feels like an improvement over the cover on my previous Bible purchase.
For general everyday readying, this is perfect.
The type doesn't creep that close to the center to bother me at all... and I'm picky.
The physical construction of the Bible itself feels really solid and really well made.
Lastly It's a lot lighter then I thought it was going to be.
One problem I have is this.... I bought this Bible with the intention of writing and underlining in it.... but I can't bring myself to write or underline in it. It's just too nice. It's like putting a spoiler on a really nice luxury sedan. It just doesn't seem right ha. Someday I probably will break down and finally write in it, but at the moment I cant do it.
I bought this Bible to teach from and I believe it's clean presentation and easy readable layout is going to make that really easy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great layout / horrible binding

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LWright
Location:SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Crossway missed a golden opportunity here. The layout is great - print size perfect, paragraph layout perfect, very few notes and cross references so there is no clutter to distract from just sitting and reading. We have reference Bibles and Study Bibles for when we need them - and I bought this one for the fact it is mainly a text Bible.
For note taking, the margin is plenty wide and the paper is thick enough that the ink will not bleed through. The binding and cover appear to be very durable so should last a LONG time.
The binding, however - very stiff and the Bible will not lay open. It's a wrestling match to hold it and keep it open to the portion I am trying to read. So for the distraction that is NOT there due to reference and note clutter, they made up for it by making the Bible sooooooo annoying to hold open to the portion I am reading.
I will not tolerate this. I'll probably cut my name off the cover and donate it to the rescue mission.
Crossway - are you listening?
CBD is great - prices and selection and delivery are the best.
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michaels
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my new bible! The lay out and quality is just what I wanted, and it was delivered promptly. Would definitely recommend you buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The single-column format is a delight to read

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Erick
Location:San Ramon, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the genuine leather cover edition and did not encounter the binding stiffness complaint as experienced by another reviewer.
The single-column, paragraph format and 9 pt. font makes this Bible a delight to read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Legacy

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent Bible! The cover is gorgeous, the
white pages are opaque and the single column is a delight to read. Another review complained that it was difficult to
keep open, but the one I bought lays flat open almost as
nice as a pitt minion or an Allan Bible. For the modest price,
I am astounded at the beauty and quality! My personal preference would be a red letter edition, but otherwise I
am very happy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best esv layout so far

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
edwardo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the leather is excellent. The print is perfect. The wide margins are truly wide! The bible is a perfect size, and is not heavy to carry around. I truly believe crossway is the best producer of bibles out there. With smyth sewn bindings and a true translation, I know I will continue to purchase esv bibles. I guarantee that purchasing this bible will not be regretted.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Single Column Legacy Bible, Genuine Leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing!

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jaky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even for Trutone (imitation leather) version of this bible, Crossway has really outdone themselves. The page quality is the best I have ever seen or felt -- nice, thick, opaque pages. Also, the leather covering is nice and seems it will hold up despite it not being a high-end leather. Maps are beautiful. Concordance is nice.
The Legacy Bible is the first of it's kind. Definitely worth owning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>