Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design

Having a Bible that can travel anywhere—in a briefcase, purse, backpack, glove compartment, or computer case—is especially helpful in these busy times, which is why the ESV Personal Size Reference Bible is ideal. Larger and more readable than the ESV Compact Bible but not quite as big as the ESV Thinline Bible, this version is designed for on-the-go. You'll appreciate its variety of cover options too. The scriptural text is conveniently offered in a user-friendly, single-column paragraph format.

Features
  • Single column layout
  • Durable sewn binding—lays flat when open
  • Lifetime guarantee from publisher
  • Cross-references
  • Concordance
  • Book introductions
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 7.75" x 5.50" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 1688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Review 1 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!!!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the single-column format, and the references are there if I need them. I like how Crossway puts the references on the inside margin and prints them smaller, so as to not take away from the Scripture. For a lightweight, easy to carry size bible, the print is very readable. The lambskin is the softest cover that I've ever owned. This bible should last for many years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cynniehoneymama
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our new pastor favors the ESV and I went looking for a bargain as I have several of my own favorite translations of God's Word already. This was very inexpensive and still high quality. The quilted cover is understatedly elegant and the "berry red" not so loud as to feel glaring.
I'm pleased with my purchase, but the print is very tiny and if it were to be my study Bible, I would have issues.
Count me a happy customer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Personal Size Reference Bible Lambskin brown

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this locally, and I guess the current price is so right because it is the 2007 edition. As for me, either update is fine with me. The new personal size reference Bibles have a better font...it seems to be larger, but who wouldn't want a luxury item? This was definitely a splurge for me, and I knew I would be using the CBD magnifier book marker with it, and I am! But what a joy to have a small Bible one can hold in one's hand and hold the magnifier with the other. I noticed sometimes I can read it without the magnifier as well. I am always surprised at how micro the ESV fonts are for the cross references and the footnotes, but they are still readable with mag. I do wish that ESV would put their valuable footnotes in parenthesis in the text as it would be so nice in my opinion, so convenient. I like that they put the cross references in the gutter of the Bible; it seems to bring the Bible text in a nice place on the page. The lambskin is beautiful and the lining is also leather. It is edge lined leather which is something I love. I appreciate the black letter text, because I seem to have a different opinion on what should be red in Revelation One with various translations, so it calms me a lot to see it all black, and even more I would definitely appreciate that the entire Bible be red letter wherever God says something then. So, essentially, I believe this Bible to be a great small Bible, luxury item, and I am so very glad to have it! Blessings to you all in Jesus' Name.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent, except the font is too small!

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This would be to me the "perfect" Bible format. I love the one column text. It's small enough to be easily carried. The cover is attractive.
But the font (7.5 point) is too small for my eyes. I tried it out for a a few days but it often gave me a headache trying to read it. And forget about the cross references! They're even smaller! I found I could not read it in my lap. If I held it up about chest level it wasn't too bad to read, but any lower than that caused my eyes to hurt.
My understanding is that Crossway is producing another version of the Personal Bibles that will use 8 point type, to be released in June 2013. The different in font size will add about 100 pages to the book. I have a Thinline version that uses 8 point type, and that one gives my eyes no problems. I guess I will just wait for June.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent, but I did not have a clear picture.

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry Hodges
Location:Irtmo, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The study notes were more than I expected. They are very good but they greatly increase the thickness of the Bible. I was looking for a smaller replacement for an older Bible. I will use this Bible but will probably buy a smaller one to carry to church and informal study.
Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruby
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bible. I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to carry and well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
prime2364
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The quality of this ESV PERSONAL BIBLE is very good, but the font of the letters are too small,and the price too high for a personal bible.Over all its not too bad if you have good eye sight.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would recommend this to anyone

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
lukeg
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has brought Scripture back to life to me. The references are so frequent that it's impossible to read a verse the same as you have before. The size is ideal (take a dvd and imagine it an inch thicker). The leather is very soft. Overall, this is a sweet Bible and I'm really looking forward to putting this to some serious use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is working out well!

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:Warminster, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my friend and Bible teacher, who is quite conservative and had been using the King James and NIV translations. He has REALLY been using this ESV and is very pleased with it. The pages of the section we have been studying (1st John) are rapidly being worn down. The only minor criticisms are that the print is a bit small and the pages a bit thin.
Tom Sanderson
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor Quality

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike H
Location:Washington State
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The main problem with this bible is the size of the print- it is much smaller than indicated on the website. In fact, it is smaller than the print shown on the box that the bible comes in. I was not very impressed by the TrueTone cover as it was pretty flimsy and I did not feel that it was a good alternative to either hardback or leather.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Genuine Leather Bible

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Albert
Location:Unalaska Ak
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is wonderful. First, the cover is great, the lambskin is so soft, it exceeds all leather I have felt and even is better than the duo-tone in my opinion. The cover is made of two pieces of leather stitched together, this allows the cover to fall flat even if you have been rolling it over to hold.
The binding is also high quality, I have no doubt that it will last for a long time.
The text layout is great. I have been looking for a single collum bible because they are much nicer to read, especially in the Psalms and other poetic books. The verses in the poems don't get chopped up as much and it is easier to see how the thoughts flow together.
They have also taken the cross references (which are quite thorough I might add) and put them in towards the binding which means that none of the actual text runs down into the area in the binding where it can be hard to read.
The only complaint I can see is that the text is a bit small but I have no problems with it and I know that it was necessary because the single collum text takes up alot of room an the bible would be too thick with a larger text.
Overall this is a great Bible that will last for a long time, I would highly recommend it to anyone!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased but light font coloring makes reading hard

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank Woolley
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is the perfect size that I wanted, (small enough to fit in a back pack, but not too small). I like the cover, even tho imitation leather, nicer than alot of my genuine leather bible covers. My only complaint is not the font size, I knew it would be small and it is, but its the font coloring. Its a light greyish tan. The smaller font really needs to be darker. I wear reading glasses as is but the room has to have really good lighting or its a struggle to read. I would still recommend it but I'll probably be looking for a replacement due to the light font coloring limiting me to where I carry it. Thanks.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality, excellent product

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Ramirez
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about this Bible is superior and I think it will hold its own for years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
dboylandcavs
Location:Lebanon, In
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this bible. After using the King James version he has found this much easier to read. The referencing is just what he was looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chac
Location:Montana
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light and compact. Good for traveling. Font size of cross reference system too small, so very difficult to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reasonable price and a handy size

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cleveland Dawsey
Location:Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ESV and use it as my primary translation now. I have purchased several copies of this bible to use personally and to give away. The type is readable and the size makes it easy to use if you are standing up teaching or preaching. I wish this particular "model" had the words of Christ in red, but for the price this is not worth bothering about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ariel Roldan
Really enjoy the feel, but did not realize how thick it would be - it really bulks up in my book bag (it's about an inch and 1/2 thick!) Maybe they should put that dimension in their measurements' listing. Did not have a website for the download or CD for the software advertised. I like the single column format, which is why I bought it.Also the references are tucked deep in the inner part of the page, so you really have to open the Bible it to be able to read them; and because it is so thick it makes even more difficult - especially with the books close to the center of the Bible.Love the translation, this edition unfortunately is poorly designed and poorly described. Remember, this Bible is almost 1 1/2 inch thick, and that measurement is not given in the product description.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
I am enjoying this Bible. Its smaller size makes it easy to use, & I find myself reading the Bible more. The paper is thick enough so the print from one side doesn't show through on the other as in some other Bibles. The 7.4 type is small but still readable. The cross references on the side margin provide a wealth of information in a very condensed format. Free software can be downloaded, but since it takes 3 hours (even with a broadband connection), I chose to pay $5 & have a CD mailed to me. So far I am liking the ESV version. Though a literal translation, it is very readable. I would recommmend this Bible to anyone looking for a newer word for word translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt
Nice size. Comfortable feel. Great cover. My first ESV translation. All around good buy. Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Graphite, Stitch Design
This review is fromESV Personal Size Reference Bible, TruTone, Forest/Tan, Trail Design.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle Hernandez
This product was absolutely amazing. This bible is light, compact and the references in the back are great too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>