Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Logic The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition

Christian Logic The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition

Get more fallacies and more cartoons in this 2nd Edition of The Fallacy Detective! For ages 12 through adult, learn to recognize the fallacies you see every day, including Red Herring, Ad Hominem, Tu Quoque, Straw Man, loaded question, equivocation, circular reasoning, either-or, generalization, analogy, propaganda, and others, including two new for this 2009 edition: special pleading and slippery slope fallacies. Original cartoons, as well as Dilbert, Calvin & Hobbes, and Peanuts, illustrate many of the fallacies perfectly, while the text provides additional examples. Exercises and "The Fallacy Detective Game" provide fun ways to really remember what you've learned! 212 pages, softcover. Answer key included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Review 1 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jstx972
Location:Texas
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking forward to applying these areas to my daily life and begin to speak and think truthfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa H
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun to do as a family. Nice for busy Moms-no prep work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family is enjoying this book. It's great for helping kids to recognize flaws in arguments and increases their ability to listen to what the other person is really saying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product really makes you think.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TammyC
Location:Sierra Vista, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This book is easy to use with multiple children and a variety of ages. They have fun and practicing their deductive reasoning. The stories are entertaining and not too long for them to loose interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Reasoning Abilities

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gratefulmother
Location:Greenback, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great critical thinking resource. Very good for helping you pick out fallacies in reasoning.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for logic and critical thinking

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MollyC
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 13 1/2-year old son and I read this book together. It presented thinking fallacies in such a way that made them fun to learn and easy to recognize, useful for long-term retention of the material. The targeted age (13+) was accurate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Logic Book for All Ages

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Plaidness
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My soon to be 9 year old is soaking this up, even though it was purchased for my 11 year old. We are ALL learning in a fun way about logic fallacies. I recommend this book for every person who wants to have honest communication and wants to spot those tricky fallacies.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi T.
Location:NC
Absolutely wonderful book for versing high school (or upper middle school) students in logic. Very enjoyable examples, easy to use, my kids love it and so do I!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Star
The Fallacy Detective is a well written book that teaches logic. I really have enjoyed reading it and will be using it this upcoming schoolyear with my 7th grader. I think it is very interesting and will keep students attention as they learn!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Padrelanan
The Fallacy Detective Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, by Nathaniel Bluedorn and Hans Bluedorn, is a book worth having. This is a book with over 200 pages. Its not so big, but after you finish with it, you have already earned one high school credit on logic or critical thinking. It helps the student to spot ways that reasoning are bad. After learning every lesson, there is an exercise to test the students understanding with the answer key found at the last section of the book. It can be used by everyone between the ages of twelve to adult. The teacher does not necessarily have to have experience in teaching logic.I have been teaching this to my daughter for about eight weeks. At first, I thought we can do two lessons a week because it seemed so easy. But at about the third or fourth week, I realized that we cant just go through the lessons so fast. The past lessons must be well understood first before you can move to the next lessons. Guitar Babe is really interested in it. Its easy to see why. Aside from the interesting reading, the book is peppered with comic strips of Dilbert and Calvin and Hobbes. The illustrations are humorous enough for a child to understand and just as funny for an adult. As a way to motivate her, we do the exercises together after every lesson. I find that she has more correct answers than I do. At her age, 14 years, this is not a subject that she can do alone. We have to discuss every lesson. It is joy learning with her because it is also mostly new to me. Doing the exercises with her is very interesting because I am able to spot my own mistakes in reasoning. Personally, I do not find this an easy subject to teach. However, the book makes it easy enough to understand. I highly recommend The Fallacy Detective Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning not just for homeschoolers but for everyone who wishes to understand more about logic.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Hernandez
Really enjoying using the Fallacy Detective. My daughter and I are having great talks and I'm even learning how to reason out stuff. I wish I had this when I was a child.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
If you're wondering what a fallacy is, the very first sentence of the book defines it as "an error in logic -- a place where someone has made a mistake in his thinking." Sometimes we do this unintentionally, but sometimes these fallacies are used intentionally to mislead consumers and the general public. The ability to recognize fallacies is important.My first reaction to the book when it arrived was that the cover design is very catchy and pleasing, and the softcover book was well-made. The 9" x 6.5" size is nice to hold, larger than a standard paperback, but not as bulky as a full-size text book. Its design, with the cartoons and short lessons, is appealing to myself and my students.The book is divided into 38 logic lessons. Each lesson begins with a concise and enjoyable description of that fallacy, complete with cartoons to help illustrate the point. Then there are a variety of exercises to help you understand the fallacy and identify it in the world around you. The lessons rely heavily on discussion to help students assimilate the information.My plans were to use this book with my 12 and 14 year old daughters, doing one lesson together at a time. That backfired when my 14 year old (9th grader) ran off with the book and began to devour it. She was fascinated with learning to identify the fallacies, and quickly read through the book. The Fallacy Detective is an excellent logic book for junior and senior high students. It will give students a foundation in logic that will help them think critically about the information surrounding them in life. It will also give them an advantage in school subjects like essay writing, speech, and debate. Its format is easy to use, enjoyable, and most importantly ... effective in teaching the fallacies.** This item was provided free, in exchange for my honest review. **
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning, 2009 Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather L
In todays world of sound bites and mini interviews the skills in The Fallacy Detective is vital. Another wonderful side to this book is that it is written from a christian perspective. This book is listed as ages 12 and older. If you have a gifted child this book can be used earlier, when they are ready for more independent thinking. If you have a child with social understanding issues such as Aspergers this is a must! It gives an unique but quantifiable insight for a child on the spectrum into understanding social and logic issues. I am thrilled to be able to work through this book with my family! Thank you for the clear look into the murky waters of logic!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.